We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for people with pets or people that can tolerate pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for people with pets or people that can tolerate pets”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night but had intended to stay longer. We had to check out the next day because my husband is alergic from pets. There were way too many pets at this hotel and all of their rooms are pet friendly. I wish they had designated a few floors for pets :(...that was our fault because we did not do enough research when making reservations.

Other than that the hotel was very nice but some areas of service were below average. The hotel rooms were nice but the sheets were stained. One of the pillow cases had three large stains, the sheets had black grease stains from the washer or dryer, and there were food stains on the comforter. We wouldn't have used the comforter anyways so we did not care about that. We requested them to change our sheets and they took care of that very quickly. However, even the replacement sheets had black grease stains so they should definitely get their laundry equipment checked. White sheets with black stains just don't look good. Other than that the room was very clean and spotless.

The front desk and bell staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was very good but the server could have used some extra training.

I thought this was a very nice property but can definitely work on a few things but I would probably choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    511
    127
    36
    34
See reviews for
213
669
113
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wash, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Room was spacious, nicely appointed and a fabulous city view. We stayed in room 622 but if you stay in rooms x20-x24 on probably floors 4 and above and you should have a million dollar city view. Only minor issue is that the mounting hook for the artwork in the bathroom was not secure so the art was hanging crooked, again a very very minor issue but it's the details (all details) that make a place standout from good to excellent.

Super convenient location, night life 1 block away, tram stop 2 blocks and public (MUCH cheaper) car park 1 block. Tip- Sundays park on street free and on one side of the street no paying untill 8am Monday so that give you time to move the car. Also great affordable bagel breakfast at Brooklyn Bagels 1 block away.

Did not interact much with staff or eat at hotel so can't say anything about that.

Other reminder is that the hotel accepts pets and there were several dogs staying in the hotel and occasionally the elevators smelled like doggie.

And, while we like dogs, seems like nearly everyone who lives in a 3-4 block radius of Hotel Indigo has a dog, so EVERY (I do mean EVERY) street sign, fire hydrant, building corner, curb, etc. has dog pee (like multiple dogs) on it, so its pretty darn smelly at times walking the streets.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 622, fabulous city lights view, but if you stay in rooms x20-x24 on probably floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The decor is very contemporary. Nice rooms. Staff is friendly, helpful, flexible yet casual. It is very ideally located. If they were to reduce their parking rate this would be a perfect hotel. they charge 40 dollars for valet only.
The staff was the most helpful in all the San diego area Hotels I ave stayed in-5 in the last year.

Room Tip: There are nearby parking spots that are way more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aalam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a pet friendly hotel, however; if you don't have a dog be prepared for a sleepless night. The first night a dog barked it stopped within the hour. The second night the two dogs next door barked until 1:00am in the morning. They were barking for at least 5 hours and maybe longer before someone came and got them. How sad for the dogs and a sleepless night for my family. The hotel should have a few kennels to place the dogs in when the owners can't be reached or they chose not to be reached so the other guest who paid good money can get a good nights sleep. The managers seemed to make excuses. Not very good customer service. Will not be back!!!! One good thing is the valet attendants were awesome!!! Kudos for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine4U2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Sunshine4U2777,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced due to the noise. We take our guest comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights. As a guy I don't use the word "sweet." But that is the only word which describes the staff. Nicolette you're the best. Perfect location. I never ate there so no comment on the food

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very nice large rooms close to downtown. Staff was very friendly at all times and helpful. Clean and well maintained! Dog friendly withiout extra fee. Valet parking. Walking distance to Prtco Park and convention center. Very reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Nice service friendly front desk - very helpful. Hotel is well located to gaslamp and about 10 -15 min walk to top of the Hyatt / uss Midway. Only downside was pricey valet parking which I guess is to be expected in a city. Clean rooms. Didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. Rooftop bar is nice for a quick livener before you go out although a little pricey for a beer! Enjoyed our stay and a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing