We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, great room, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, great room, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall it was excellent.
Our standard room was large enough with nice quiet a/c, huge bed, great shower and fresh decor.
There was an issue with noisy neighbours on our first night through the linked room which after two complaints to the front desk, was resolved without fuss by security.
The bar on the 9th floor was a highlight with big fire puta and heat lamps making sure it was always warm. Great view of Petco park for Padres games too.
We didn't bring our dog on this trip but I've never been anywhere with facilities like this, treats, water and #2 facilities on a nice lawned area on the roof terrace.
Valet parking is expensive at $40pn, I would recommend 'park it on market' for $15/24h around the corner.
I will definitely be visiting this great city again and this hotel will be at the top of my list.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdwardRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Edward R,

What wonderful words about our Hotel Indigo! Thank you for taking the time and leaving such positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and that you found our location and our rooms accommodating. We cannot wait to see you again in the future! Next time, be sure to bring your furry family members! As you can see, we are extremely welcoming to them to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    494
    125
    36
    33
See reviews for
202
658
111
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was not my first stay at the Hotel Indigo and it certainly will not be my last. The location is perfect, close enough to all of the activity without being in the thick of all the chaos. It is clean, the staff is excellent, and the rooms are comfortable and modern. The views of Petco park from both the rooms and the 7th floor bar are amazing; my dog loves to look out of the floor to ceiling windows and admire it too! This is the most pet friendly hotel I have ever stayed in and they even have a yappy hour at the bar. My only complaint is they no not provide bathrobes, but I can overlook it because of all it's other wonderful features. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Mockett,

Thank you for stopping by and providing us with those wonderful words about our Hotel Indigo! I am ecstatic to hear that both you and your dog enjoyed your stay and that you found the room and location accommodating. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed on 11th floor...room was neat...very modern...bathroom amenities were very good...opened the window to a view of petco park...staff excellent...needed coffee and they came in 2 minutes...bed was comfortable...highly recommend

Room Tip: High Floor on the perco field side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We only stayed one night here, but it was just perfect. It's hard to say why, I mean it's not the Four Seasons. But the vibe was just perfect. it's bright and cheerful and wonderful staff, and the lobby bar/restaurant had a great hip feel. It was oddly fun seeing the baseball stadium from our room, and there's a sandwich I had for lunch that i'm actually going to mention: grilled mozzarella with chicken on french bread. That's rare, that you rave about a lunch...

Room Tip: We paid just $199,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comedywriter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We booked one night at this hotel based upon our wonderful Hotel Indigo London-Kensington experience. The room, amenities, breakfast, and comfort were superior in London. Hotel Indigo San Diego is very average. The location is great. We had a city view and could see the baseball field. That's where it stops.

The room was very small, the mattress was low grade, as was the bedding. I expected the same bathroom extras to be there: q-tips, cotton, hair band, etc...nope, not available. AND NO FRIDGE!! For a $10 fee we could have had one. It was very noisy; I could hear every conversation walking down the hall. They did have a Keurig coffee maker in the roon with one kcup of reg coffee, one decaf, and two teas. I recommend you go to front desk and ask for extras with extra sugars and cream as they only give you two of those as well.

Breakfast was included but only up to a certain dollar amount. In London, we could order what we pleased, as much as we pleased. In London we had free soft drinks, snacks, and bottled water in our fridge: it was not an honor bar. Not in San Diego.

I would not stay here again. Next time we will return to the Marriott several blocks from the Gaslamp quarter. My mistake for assuming Hotel Indigo is consistent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mfox12,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the location of our hotel. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize we fell short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is located right next to the ball park which is nice for a baseball lover. The general area in the gas lamp is a bit more on the outskirts than other hotels in the area which lead to the feeling of being cut off. Parking is expenisve for the location $41.00 per night, with no self park option. The staff and valet were very kind.

The rooms are large (with a zillion pillows on the bed). Wireless internet access is included for IHG members (as it should be but it appears that hotels are still in a different century on this point). The bathroom is beautiful. The room colors and decorations are a bit loud for my taste, i.e. not particularly rest inducing but I think they cater to a younger crowd who may be into the loud colors. With this hotel, think comfortable and not luxury.

This is not a full service hotel, thus the restaurant is not open 24/7 and has limited offerings overall. The breakfast was terrible and people in my party complained immensely about the coffee. What was most amusing is that they have several options for scrambelled eggs but no omelet option. When we asked if an omelet could be made, our server said they could try, and try they did. Suffice to say it was not great.

This would not be my first choice hotel if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear meleetyme,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on the room condition and truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the breakfast choices. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only stayed one night here but was very impressed. Its a large hotel with a boutique hotel styling and vibe. Staff at check-in were very cool, hip, and helpful. Since I'm a Plat IHG club member I got bumped up to a suite on the top floor which made the experience top notch. The suites are huge and very artistically decorated; again, boutique hotel vibe. The views of downtown were amazing. All the bars, clubs, and restaurants of the Gaslamp district are a few blocks away.
The only reason I don't give it five stars is because of the parking situation. Its in a downtown urban environment so understandably parking sucks and its expensive. This hotel is valet only and its $41! There are parking structures close that go for about $20 a day and there is free street parking at night.

So in review its a great, stylish hotel. The only issue I had was parking a car.

Room Tip: This hotel is valet only and the price for valet is more expensive than other hotels in the same are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beerbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing