We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at hotel indigo whilst attending a conference. The room was comfortable,clean and very nicely decorated. Bed was super comfortable. Staff were very warm (apart from one girl at front desk who was rude) and welcoming when arriving back to the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty. Had some issues with key card but it got resolved. Overall I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
2014travelgirl,
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo! It is a joy to hear that the room suited your needs and them my staff was accommodating and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    497
    126
    36
    34
See reviews for
205
659
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked our trip through booking.com. We were advised that this is a temporary authorization and that the hotel will charge us at the front desk for this trip. To our surprise we were charged twice, once by the front desk of the hotel and a second time by booking.com. When we contacted the hotel, we were advised not to worry that the charge in booking.com is only an authorization and that it will disappear. IT DID NOT!!!!! we called the hotel again- and asked to be refunded, "no problem"... yeh right - our trip was in January 2014 - until today we are fighting with our credit card over this charge. My husbands credit score was hurt - this is ridiculous - DO NOT GO THERE - HORRIBLE - nothing is worth thiis double charge and being ignored by this hotel!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank sarit n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear sarit n,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Checked into Hotel Indigo last week for a one night stay as part of San Diego trip. Nice hotel but not geared towards family. After booking through 3rd party it turns out Hotel has no pool and not really within walking distance of any family oriented attractions short of a walk up and down 5th Avenue.

The one other issue was the $41/day valet parking. When I asked about self parking, none is available. It's valet or nothing. We were lucky and found a meter outside the hotel that just happened to be on a non-street cleaning night so was able to plug the meter and then leave it overnight until 8am.

As for the room...it was very large, seemingly recently renovated, and a huge bathroom with beautiful shower.. There were hardwood floors (no carpet) so that gave it a bit of a hollow and less warm feeling.

There is a nice roof top bar / lounge with gas heaters/fire places and couches.

For a 4-star hotel and the price I paid....it left me wanting. Call it 3 1/2 and definitely a boutique hotel geared towards couples, business folk....but not families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hugh P,

We thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at the Indigo. I do apologize that you were inconvenienced in a few aspects of your stay, such as the parking and our limited options for families. I appreciate your feedback though – we at the Indigo try to cater to all sorts of guests, including families. We will ensure we brainstorm on various ways we can be more family-friendly. Again, thank you for your fantastic feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had four nights in this lovely hotel. It is located in the gaslamp district and is within a short walk to the popular restaurant district. The beach is an easy 15 to 20 minute drive.
The staff were incredibly friendly, and my request for a mini fridge to accommodate medication was granted without any problems.
We had a king room, which was very spacious and clean.
The only negative about this hotel is that there is no self parking, and the valet is $41 per night. Having said that, I did research a number of hotels in the area, and hotel Indigo was the best value, even with the expensive valet price.
I hear the rooftop bar is nice, however with so many cool restaurants and bars nearby, we never actually made it up there!
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Lee W,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo. I am ecstatic to hear our staff was friendly and our rooms were accommodating. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We took a one day family staycation and stayed here for one night. I called ahead and the management team was very nice and super helpful. I was told they would accommodate my request of two queen beds and a good view. The room was nice and had a view of Petco Park(where the San Diego Padres play). My son LOVED it! Everyone on the staff was really friendly and willing to help. The only issue I had was that we arrived at 2:30pm and we were told that our room would be ready in 25 minutes. We decided to go grab a bit to eat and come back. We got back about an hour later and the room still wasn't ready. Because we had a commitment we needed to get to, we weren't able to drop off our bags and check out the room until we got back that night. The bell staff was nice enough to bring our bags tot he room for us once it was ready. This hotel is in the heart of San Diego's downtown and in a safe neighborhood. it's a perfect place to stay if you are coming in for a Padres game or just to stay near all of things that go on in the area. I also heard the rooftop lounge is really good, however, we have two young kids and didn't feel it was appropriate for them after we got back tot he hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead! Friendly staff that will help you if they have the availibilty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haze933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Haze933,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Indigo to enjoy your family staycation! I am happy to hear you found the views from the room accommodating and that your son absolutely loved it. I do apologize for the inconvenience of not having your room ready but check in time and I hope you give us the opportunity to remedy and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is situated at the edge of the Gaslamp district, which makes the location great as you have all the nice bars and restaurants nearby. Its also near the convention center which is only a few minutes on foot.

Rooms are great, especially the superior rooms which are huge. Would be perfect if the airconditioning would make less noise and the windows would be more soundproof, now you do hear some noice from outsides.

I would skip breakfast at the hotel the next time and go out to find something healthier at one of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: If you like baseball and there is a game, ask for a room at one of the top floors on the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanNL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear StefanNL83,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel good and in great location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Clean crisp and staff was very nice. They allow pets and if you book a day out the prices are great. Check out roof top Lounge with their firepits. Rooms clean and Internet fast. Beds were very comfortable and showers are big enough for 2. Right by Petco Park so it's easy to catch a game.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Xharliefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Atwunder,
We appreciate you taking the opportunity to leave wonderful feedback about our Indigo! I am extremely happy to hear you found the rooms accommodating and was able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing