We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place-nice staff-won't go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place-nice staff-won't go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

In 28 years of marriage my husband & I have never slept in anything but a king-sized bed. I requested one; the receptionist didn't tell us there were none available-we called down when we arrived in the room and were nicely told 'oh, sorry'. That was it. Otherwise nice place, fast elevators, smaller rooms & closet, no fridge, very little counter space for stuff. Nice rooftop bar w/dog friendly patio. $41/parking. Bums on the streets as everywhere downtown...sad but also irritating.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I'm sorry to hear we could not honor your bed request. The front office team does thier best to accomodate all guest requests, which can be difficult on our busy days. We hope this wont ruin your experience and that you will give us another try.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    497
    126
    36
    34
See reviews for
205
659
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

On a recent business trip, I had the pleasure of an extra night in San Diego; I booked this property online and had a GREAT experience. Staff was super-friendly, very competitive rate, and the property was STELLAR! Unlike many of the Indigo properties, this was newly built as a Hotel Indigo. That makes a difference in the fact that the cool/hip design elements are a part of the hotel versus an add-on during renovation. The lobby bar was inviting (great happy hour) and the roof-top bar is a place I could LIVE full time: tremendous views and super service from the bar! Wifi was great in the room - not so great on the roof.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PdubPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
So glad you found us! It sounds like you had a great time. Thank you for sharing your comments, and great photos!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

am so disappointed with your hotel. I stayed at this hotel along with my mother and father on August 1, 2014. We were going on a fishing trip out of San Diego and my father drove his truck ( Silverado 2500 extended cab) to accommodate all of our fishing gear. Upon arrival and seeing that the truck would need to be valet parked, my father expressed concerns to my mother and I in regards to him being concerned about "young kids" driving and parking his truck without having experience on driving large vehicles. My father did a walk around before handing off the keys to the Valet. The next morning after picking his vehicle up out of valet, we noticed a dent in the side of the truck that was not there before we had the valet park the truck. We notified the gentleman at the valet counter and he took a report. 6 days after we returned from our fishing trip, we still had no contact front he hotel as we were promised. My father called and left several messages for the last week and finally today he got a phone call back that they are denying the claim, stating the damage was already there. This is completely false. SHAME ON THIS COMPANY. I WILL BE LEAVING BAD REVIEWS TO WARN OTHER POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS OF THIS HOTELS SERVICE AND ETHICS!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissMDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
MissMDB,

Thank you. As you are aware your father is in direct contact with Ace Parking who is dealing directly with your father's insurance company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really liked this property, a nice surprise. Comfortable bed and very clean and nicely decorated room and 10 to 15 minute walk to 5th Ave and steps to the ballpark... Really helpful and pleasant staff... nice lobby bar, the rooftop bar doesn't open until 5 and there isn't much of a view but it is comfortable... noticed a lot of dogs at this property so if that is not for you then I wouldn't stay here. Parking is $40 which is high for San Diego! Park on the street using the meters until 6pm and then move the car in the morning if you are there for one night or there is a lot behind the hotel for 20$

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwistudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and comfort of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with very helpful and friendly service. The room had a great veiw of petco park. The hotel and room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the decor and had a modern feel to it. The roof top bar is a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMan305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. The views of Petco Park are one of kind. Please join us again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our three night stay at this hotel was perfect. We arrived several hours before check in time and a room was made available to us. Each time we came back to the hotel a staff member said "Welcome back". Very friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is sleek and modern. Love the hardwood floors as they are so much cleaner then carpeting. Rooms were quiet, nicely appointed, comfortable, and met every need. When we asked the front staff to extend our stay beyond the check out time as we had a late flight, they immediately met our request with a smile. This is a dog friendly hotel and while we saw several "checking in, we never heard a peep--er--bark--from any of them during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Petco Park have a good view
See more room tips
Green Features: A LEEDS certified hotel and they are trying to be as green as they can be.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahc620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked through Hot wire for a couple weekend. We arrived late and were sorry to learn that we had been booked with a room with double queen beds. Reception staff was amazing. Although they couldn't do anything that night, they offered to transfer us the next day to a king size bed. The next day, the other reception staff was well aware of the situation and organized the transfer of our belongings. In the end, this hotel was a great surprise. Rooms are very comfortable and modern looking. Bathrooms are very large. Superb location (great restaurants at walking distance). Staff was so kind. Parking is available nearby for a good price. Great quality for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our front desk staff. I'm happy to hear we were able to accommodate your bedding request and that our staff was able to make the transfer smoothly. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing