We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an enjoyable stay. Will come back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #36 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had an enjoyable stay. Will come back again.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Flew into San Diego for a Wedding in mid-April 2014 and stayed in Room 928 of this hotel. While the hotel wasn't cheap it offered a better value for the money than most comparable hotels in the area.

PLUSSES

-location, location, location!
-nice, relaxing lobby and accommodating staff
-clean room, comfortable beds
-good air conditioning
-decent wi-fi connection (free of charge for hotel guests)
-spacious bathroom with solid water pressure and an awesome shower
-good food and drink at Table 509 (lobby) and Level 9 Rooftop Bar, the latter of which also offers a nice view of the city

DRAWBACKS
-room could have used a mini fridge (would have given 5/5 if it had one)
-valet car service is a bit pricey. Decent and affordable public transportation options avail if traveling locally, including Coronado

Overall, I was more than satisfied and will strongly consider staying here again next time I'm in town. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ninth floor are on same floor as rooftop lounge. Very convenient if looking for a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hendrihill,

Thank you for writing such lovely feedback about our Hotel Indigo! I am so happy to hear our property suited your needs! I apologize that our team had not informed you we do offer fridges at a $10.00 fee daily. Should you stay with us again, please let us know so we can send up a fridge for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    517
    127
    36
    35
See reviews for
217
674
115
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best pet friendly hotels. The staff was fantastic. They where very sweet with our two dogs. We had to switch hotels because the $41 charge for valet was too much with two cars. $80 a day for parking during a ten night stay was not in

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapunzellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Rapunzellr,

Thank you for stopping by and providing us with your feedback about our Hotel Indigo. I am sorry to hear the parking rates caused you to switch properties but we understand when you are staying 10 nights in the area. If you are ever back in the area for a shorter stay, please stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Came here overnight with my family and we all love this place. Both times our room was large, and best of all the bathroom is large. Love the bedding and the dark panel floors. We went to the rooftop bar which has a view of Petco Park - Dodgers vs Padres were playing, so that was neat to see. No pool, but that's ok. The rooftop has nice lounge furniture with several fire and ice fires going. There is a full bar with high tables too and happy hour is from 5-7. The menu is extensive if you want to have a full meal. Dogs are welcomed at this hotel, and this visit there were a lot of them, big ones. We have no problem with that. The hotel is well located so no need to use your car once you park it (valet parking is $41 per night). Walking around gas lamp is great. Be sure to research where you want to eat because there are so many restaurants within walking distance. Yes, parking is pricey, there is a public parking structure across from the Omni Hotel which is less. All hotels in gas lamp district has high parking rates. Once again, love this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Tiffany J,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write such a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo. I am pleased to hear that our property was accommodating and you were able to experience Level 9 during a home game! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there. The room was nicely decorated with style. Amazing view of the city from our room. Most importantly the service we have received were exceptional. Everyone we met always carry a smile. We have left our camera in the room and thankfully the housekeepers have kept it for us. The front desk offered to post it back to us. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Xdorax,
Thank you for stopping by and leaving such kind words about our property. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel’s location and décor accommodating and the staff was able to provide you with exceptional service! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We really can't say anything negative about this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here after we happily left The Lafayette early. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating, especially with our early check in, and remained polite and pleasant throughout our stay. The rooms here are large, meticulously clean, and very welcoming. The whole hotel had a great vibe and feel. As well, it's worth mentioning the location. You're close everything, without being too close to have to deal with too much noise. You're less than a 5 minute walk to tons of great restaurants and bars, including the Petco Stadium. I will note that parking comes at a premium here though, so be cautious. We never used their valet parking (which is $41/day) we opted to park in a lot 1 block over (for less than half their price), and never had any issues. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the Gaslamp Quarter, it's well worth it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Be_bee208

Thank you for leaving such wonderful words about our Hotel Indigo! I am so happy to hear you found the location and rooms accommodating and that our staff was able to provide you with wonderful customer service throughout your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My wife & I started our 'California 2014' road trip with a return to San Diego. Our last visit was very fleeting & our accommodation was sub-standard, not this time. The Hotel Indigo Gaslamp Quarter is well positioned for both bars/restaurants & the harbour. Our room was spacious & had all the amenities you need, free Wi-fi, safe, coffee maker etc. the bathroom was a good size too. Despite some negative prior comments about the staff/service, we found the reception & bar staff to be helpful & super friendly. One tip, don't ask the guy out front for directions. He didn't have a clue & asked me to 'google map it' ??

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IAIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Jockstar,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback about our Hotel Indigo! I am happy to hear the location and staff was accommodating. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while asking for directions and I will ensure my valet staff is informed to read up on the area.

Again, thank you for staying and we will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were looking for a convenient location next to the Gas Lamp District and a modern hotel and were not disappointed. There were restaurants and bars within a block and the Gas Lamp area is a very short 5 block walk. Although there are vagrants throughout San Diego, we felt safe walking at night. Valet parking is pricey, but prompt. Starbucks is just around the corner. The only negative was minor - we asked the concierge if we could borrow towels to use at the beach. She never got back to us so we used our room towels which we returned at the end of the day. Probably should have done that in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed our convinient location here in the East Village. I do apologize the concierge did not follow up with you regarding the beach towels. Thank you for returning the room towels after your day of fun at the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 278 in San Diego
4,262 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing