We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #203 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 6 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We came from chico california & were here 4 a long stay,(9 days) Beds were VERY comfortable, the location was minutes from EVERYTHING we wanted 2 see & do (sea world, mission ocean & pacific beaces, downtown,Belmont park, padres stadium) and Romie and staff were amazingly nice & helpful! We would stay here again in a second! You cannot beat the price 4 clean comfortable rooms and great location. They have a nice pool, laundry facility & all rooms are renovated with flat screens, wi-fi, new beds, carpet, mini fridge & microwaves. If you are a hotel snob looking 4 a spa & gym this may not be 4 you, but we spend little time in our room & more time on excursions so it was GREAT! We will DEFINATELY be staying here on our next trip 2 San Diego :) THANKS ROMIE & STAFF!

Room Tip: If you are a hotel snob, this is prob not 4 you, but we spend little time at our hotel & more ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology if anything was not beyond your expectation.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The outside doesnt look like much But the room was nice, clean and the tv still had the plastic on it. The breakfast consisted of cereal, sweet rolls, milk and juice. It's nice they understand the need for renovating a motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turbogaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for appreciating and apologize for not serving you then your expectation.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank nik_mchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Amandeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The rooms were being renovated but that didn't matter because the staff (especially Romie) was awesome and the beds were comfortable. we are from Mesa Arizona and noticed we left our office and motorcycle keys in room. Romie went out of his way to mail them to us. great service and highly recommend this hotel. we will visit again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geckome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Please except our apology for the inconvenience

Thanking you
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
16 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#213 of 286 in San Diego
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#240 of 286 in San Diego
1,339 reviews
8.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
8.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#234 of 286 in San Diego
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing