We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude management & bad policies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #201 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The management is soo rude. The charged me double to my credit card and cash payment. They explained it would refund back I understand how a refund works rooms are not that clean need work they smell... in most places you can check in early or late as long as you call...not here if your late you sleep in your car and if your early you need to wait until 3pm...this place sucks!!!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello JC,

We had checked your account and have found nothing of that of double charge to your credit card or cash. Your credit card was authorized early morning of your arrival date and was charged on your arrival. These means that when we authorize the credit card the fund is on hold but does not mean that we receive that fund, but on your arrival when we run we receive the authorize fund. Regarding the cash, as per our check in policy we charge $ 100/- as deposit either by cash or credit card. Hence the cash was collected.

Once again please accept my apology for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tabitha H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Room was very nice for the price. The bath tub needed to be refinished but other than that everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lili C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking part in the survey and posting a review for our hotel. It has taken a long way to reach a position where all our guest would love and be satisfied on their stay at our hotel. I would also like to inform you that we have remodelled our hotel completely. All rooms has a new Carpet, Air Conditioner, Refrigerator, Microwave, Hair Dryer, Coffeemaker, Bath rooms, Drapes, 39' LED TV, Electrifications, Walls & Paints, Furniture & Fixtures, Mattresses etc. And Exterior Remodelling and Paints too.

I Once again thank you for the complement.

Thanking you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Love this place and would come again. Room and bathroom are clean. Everything works in the room perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ting-yuan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

David,
I apologize for the bad experience you had our hotel. We are still on a final stage of remodelling. The Construction going on next door to our hotel is also on the final stage of completion and by May end shall be completed as per the advertisement and banner posted on site. We have been very concerned for our guest safety and satisfaction. We do double check the type of guest who checks in but is beyond our control and knowledge. No matter on finding we do take action and warn them too. We have been very strict in check in of guest and for your information our hotel is 100% smoke free from which one can take a judgement.

At present we have been doing repairing and remodelling of exterior and lastly painting the same and also Tall Palm tree trimmings & Landscaping too.

Please accept my apology

Thanking you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I got to room and toilet did not flush, told office came back at 5 and not fixed. Moved me to new room. It did have signs of remodeling. New TV, New Bath, Bed was comfy. Noisy location. Street noise, Neighbor noise. No Bed Bugs, BUT! I noticed a lot of what looked like rodent droppings on the property. I saw them on the stairs and looked for a berry tree of some sorts and no such thing. So although I did not see any the signs were there. And the Breakfast was LOUSY.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello David,

Please seriously accept my apology... We have taken your review seriously and have taken action for the same.

Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and the bad experience at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very basic. Was clean. Nice person at reception desk. Price was about right for what we got. Breakfast was not really a breakfast but wasn't expecting one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Jack,

Thank you for taking time and posting and revealing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We promise you to have a best and most comfortable stay at our hotel on your next stay. We are continuously in the stage of developing and taking care of our guest. Please accept my apology for anything beyond our reach or knowledge.

Once again thank you for staying at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
16.0 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#210 of 279 in San Diego
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#233 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
8.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
8.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#232 of 279 in San Diego
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £48 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing