We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #202 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After you give them your credit card to book the room they charge you $100 security fee when you check in,and when you check out to get your fee back they go check to make sure you didn't break anything or take anything.The place is under construction.The room next to us had a child that was hitting our wall with something until maybe.12:00. The breakfast is a joke.The place is under construction.The staff is rude and there is never enough ice in the ice machine. This place is a dive. If you want a good night sleep,go somewhere else. The Howard Johnson name is here,but the service is not.It is not in the best part of town either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello,
Sorry & apologize for the inconvenience. It's our standard practice to collect a security deposit on check in from all guest. We have posted our policy on website too. Since our hotel is 100% smoke free / all rooms are non smoking hence to control the same and on check out we make sure of the same. We want to maintain our hotel and that's one of the reason we are constantly in the process of upgrading and for the satisfaction if our guests.

Once again accept our apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jimmie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The management is soo rude. The charged me double to my credit card and cash payment. They explained it would refund back I understand how a refund works rooms are not that clean need work they smell... in most places you can check in early or late as long as you call...not here if your late you sleep in your car and if your early you need to wait until 3pm...this place sucks!!!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello JC,

We had checked your account and have found nothing of that of double charge to your credit card or cash. Your credit card was authorized early morning of your arrival date and was charged on your arrival. These means that when we authorize the credit card the fund is on hold but does not mean that we receive that fund, but on your arrival when we run we receive the authorize fund. Regarding the cash, as per our check in policy we charge $ 100/- as deposit either by cash or credit card. Hence the cash was collected.

Once again please accept my apology for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#233 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#211 of 279 in San Diego
78 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing