We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great art museum”

San Diego Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #83 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The San Diego Museum of Art, the region’s oldest, largest and most visited art museum, provides a rich and diverse cultural experience. Located in the heart of beautiful Balboa Park, the Museum’s nationally renowned permanent collection includes Spanish and Italian old masters, South Asian paintings, and 19th- and 20th-century American paintings and sculptures.In addition, the Museum regularly features major exhibitions from around the world, as well as an extensive year-round schedule of supporting cultural and educational programs for children and adults. Exhibition text is always in English and Spanish.
Rialto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great art museum”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Surprisingly my entire family enjoyed this museum. Even my eleven year old! My teenager is really into art so I think that it made the experience all that more enjoyable. We always travel with our service dog because my husband is disabled and the museum staff was kind and pleasant, not stuffy. We went during their summer salon series so it made it quite interesting.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Thesfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    81
    29
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not very impressed”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The admission fee is rather high considering the small size of this museum. Spent the day at Balboa Park, also visited Museum of Man and Museum of Natural History. Wish we had skipped this one and had gone to one of the many other museums in Balboa Park.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank ru2020bmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely musuem with great shows and interesting collections”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I have visited this museum twice. The first time I was there they had the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition which was great and the second time it was "Thomas Gainsborough and the Modern Woman".

Both were great, but I also enjoyed the permanent collections, although I haven't been all the way through. They have a Mattisse that I really love. They have an Asian art collection, European, Art of the Americas, and more... I haven't been able to see it all. I could easily spend the better part of a day browsing through this musuem.

The front desk was not particularly friendly or warm but they weren't horrible either. I had just come from MOPA so I was more used to the smaller museum's staff. I have also visited the Mingei at Balboa Park before and their staff was great, so the staff here does NOT compete for best staff at a Balboa Park museum award, but they are adequate.

They had a couple of other exhibits I really liked as well. Definitely a museum to which I would return and also one I would recommend to friends.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rororosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best of Balboa Park”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is a real nice local museum in the heart of Balboa Park in San Diego. You can park down the road then hop on the free trolley that circles the park. The price is about $10. They have some great exhibits and shows inside the museum. Toulouse-Lautrec was being shown when we were there. if you are there with kids, let them go in the Science museum 200 yards east of the museum while you enjoy the art museum.

Helpful?
Thank chuckwagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I love art museums and seek them out in every city, but this one was disappointing. The admission fee was very high for such a small museum. I was in and out in less than forty five minutes--and had seen every single painting. There are less than six paintings by masters, and although the rest of them were of good quality, they were largely forgettable. Balboa Park has so many amazing sights and museums your time would be better spent elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank annikalibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Diego Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing