We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Enjoyable”

St. Tropez Bakery & Bistro
Ranked #57 of 79 Bakeries in San Diego
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Homer, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun and Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed a very good breakfast here on our first morning in San Diego. They offered a variety of morning options including special omelets. We ate outside under the umbrellas and received excellent service. It is located straight across from the Westin Gaslamp Hotel. Their menu also indicated they offered a variety of lunch options including several types of soups.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iadmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I went for breakfast and this place is a little rough. You can tell at one time it was a cute French Bistro, but not so much anymore. In their defense, I haven't been for lunch or dinner.

If you are looking for a quick cheap breakfast, this will suffice but nothing more than that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelFanBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was in downtown waiting for the orange line trolley to the Gaslamp and found a great surprise at the stop. I was waiting not for long for a great tasting pastry and their coffee was a perfect pairing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Del A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Had breakfast there with family. No real service - had to order at the counter. Staff was curteous though. Food was very ordinary. There are many other options in the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douces_wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Busy and understaffed”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

When we walked in, we were immediately greeted by an unmanned "Please Wait to be Seated" sign. So we waited, then the cashier all the way across the restaurant told us to sit anywhere we wanted. The same scenario played out with everyone else that came in after us. Why is that sign even there???

My girlfriend & I both had the acai & granola fruit bowl. it was pretty good, and VERY cold (which I liked). But service was VERY slow to nonexistant.

Several hot breakfasts were served to people who came in after us before our cold food was delivered. I asked for napkins (none were provided) when the waitress finally brought our food, and we never got them. At this point, a family of four next to us had been waiting for acknowlegement for about 10 minutes and just decided to leave by graciously telling the waitress "maybe we'll come back another time when you're not so busy".

Too bad, I think the chef (who spoke with a thick French accent) can cook, but clearly there are serious issues with service & organization.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InquiringMind99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Tropez Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to St. Tropez Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing