We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps away from the beach”
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #173 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Steps away from the beach”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here after reading reviews about the fantastic location.

The rooms themselves are somewhat basic. They actually feel more like an apartment than a hotel room, which we liked. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite with a living room, two bathrooms, a refrigerator, microwave and the most comfortable bed ever!

We could hear the ocean from our room. The inn rents bikes, surfboards and offers complimentary coffee and drinking water all day as well as a free breakfast.

The PVI is two blocks from Garnet St, the main drag in PB.


Great location and comfortable rooms for a low price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    52
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
29
53
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is simple, functional and comfortable. It's probably the most basic of the hotels we stayed at during our holiday, and despite a clean reception area, the public areas are in need of some TLC (stained carpets, cheaply decorated). Also to the horror of my partner there is no AC which ended up not being a major problem (Sept/26-30 C degrees) as a fan was provided, but would have been more challenging in mid summer. The location is great for the beach with a real surfer vibe and a young crowd so there is some life after dark. Ideal for exploring the beach/surf/some nice shops, bars and restaurants, but less so the city itself. I liked it for the relaxed vibe, but partner wished we'd stayed downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiled_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Pros: perfect location, helpful front desk staff, excellent (and free) wifi, good parking option that I paid for. Unlike one of the other reviewers who wasn't told about the parking ahead of time I was, and it was well worth paying for.

The rooms differ from one another as this isn't a cookie cutter hotel. Mine (room 11) had an incredible view from the second floor small deck right outside the door. Not all rooms are as good.

Cons: this isn't a high end super fancy hotel. The bathroom was perfectly functional but basic. The room was quite large with a sink, fridge, and microwave, but again fairly basic.

Those aren't really "cons" as long as you aren't expecting more.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 have great views from the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

So, as many others have said, the location of this place is just brilliant; a stones throw from the beach, walking distance from all the bars and restaurants you could want, short walk from Mission Beach and only just down the road from La Jolla (I walked up to La Jolla,only took around an hour and it was a real nice walk).
So I was tired and jet lagged when I got to my room but it put a smile right on my face when I walked in. Huge bed, nice size bathroom and a little kitchen; it felt like more of an apartment than a hotel room and that's what I really wanted. A very comfortable place to stay for 2 weeks. Yes the trimmings aren't all perfect, chips in paint etc but honestly who cares?

It was a bit noisy from my neighbors upstairs but that wasn't something I couldn't get used to. The parking spaces out front are few and far between but when I stayed here, there was always a free spot available.

So if I come back to San Diego I'm guna be staying here. I won't be looking for another room to get, this is it for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location right on the beach surrounded by fine restaurants and lots of activities. Staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. Great rooms with views all at a bargain price. It's my first option whenever I travel to San Diego!

Paul

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The good:

* Right on the beach
* A short walk to bars and restaurants in Pacific Beach

The bad:

* No parking (unless you reserve weeks in advance, which we didn't know)
* Spartan rooms (I've stayed in better hostels)
* Miserably hot and humid interior room (no A/C, no ventilation in the back)
* Cheap, springy mattress
* Preoccupied front desk employee

Summary: $230 a night for a miserably hot, hostel quality room. Spend the extra ~$50 a night and reserve something more worthwhile. Don't expect any amenities and little service. We did everything we could to stay out of the room as much as possible.

Room Tip: If you must stay here in the summer, get an exterior room on the first floor so at least the heat wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We decided this was the best accommodation we had in 1, 5 month (lower budget) travelling USA and Canada.The hotel is located right in front of the Pacific beach. Very cool, relaxing, holiday, surfing place in San Diego. It's very nice in neighbourhood of bigger and I guess more expensive hotels.It's very good location also for eating out, bars and shopping .You don't need to use car here. The rooms are very modern, clean.We had in 3 people 2 rooms with 2 bathrooms!!, 2 TVs and the most comfy king size bed.It's really like a small appartment on the beach.The value is great!!! 100% recommended from us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#151 of 279 in San Diego
327 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#218 of 279 in San Diego
436 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Property: Pacific View Inn
Address: 610 Emerald St., San Diego, CA
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing