We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #172 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at Pacific View Inn in August 2013. On our 3rd day our room was robbed and trashed and everything was taken, laptops clothes,driving licences,passport. There is no cctv and after 9 pm. the receptionist leaves so there is very little security. When we rang the receptionist to tell her that all our things had been robbed she didn't seem to care. Two days after we were robbed there a homeless guy sleeping outside our room in the middle of the day! DO NOT STAY HERE. We had all our stuff taken, the hotel didn't offer any compensation or seem to care and secuirty is a joke. Will never stay here again and it ruined our holdiay. Please do not stay here, it ruined our expensive holiday to the states and was a huge regret choosing pacific view inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SamMoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was the location that got our attention and we just parked our car and walked everywhere. We enjoyed an incredible sunset from our window and had a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from for later.
Simple room, comfortable bed and friendly staff. We stayed a couple of nights and could easily stayed longer if we had time. Pacific Beach is a wonderful little pocket on the Pacific, lots of great shops, bars and restaurants. We road the hotel bikes around the boardwalk and enjoyed the area. We would return to the Pacific View Inn and look forward to it!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and sit and enjoy the sunset!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeholbrooktrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location is just outstanding! Staff was reasonably friendly and helpful when I had questions. Be aware that this isn't a "full service" hotel with night staff & lots of amenities. Excellent value for the money too. On the down side, as an older property, the noise comes through the walls & doors pretty easily. So if it gets noisy outside, or upstairs, you'll hear it. I found it tolerable overall still.

Room Tip: We were on north side, less street noise, but due to fairly narrow space between condo building next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here after reading reviews about the fantastic location.

The rooms themselves are somewhat basic. They actually feel more like an apartment than a hotel room, which we liked. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite with a living room, two bathrooms, a refrigerator, microwave and the most comfortable bed ever!

We could hear the ocean from our room. The inn rents bikes, surfboards and offers complimentary coffee and drinking water all day as well as a free breakfast.

The PVI is two blocks from Garnet St, the main drag in PB.


Great location and comfortable rooms for a low price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is simple, functional and comfortable. It's probably the most basic of the hotels we stayed at during our holiday, and despite a clean reception area, the public areas are in need of some TLC (stained carpets, cheaply decorated). Also to the horror of my partner there is no AC which ended up not being a major problem (Sept/26-30 C degrees) as a fan was provided, but would have been more challenging in mid summer. The location is great for the beach with a real surfer vibe and a young crowd so there is some life after dark. Ideal for exploring the beach/surf/some nice shops, bars and restaurants, but less so the city itself. I liked it for the relaxed vibe, but partner wished we'd stayed downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exiled_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Pros: perfect location, helpful front desk staff, excellent (and free) wifi, good parking option that I paid for. Unlike one of the other reviewers who wasn't told about the parking ahead of time I was, and it was well worth paying for.

The rooms differ from one another as this isn't a cookie cutter hotel. Mine (room 11) had an incredible view from the second floor small deck right outside the door. Not all rooms are as good.

Cons: this isn't a high end super fancy hotel. The bathroom was perfectly functional but basic. The room was quite large with a sink, fridge, and microwave, but again fairly basic.

Those aren't really "cons" as long as you aren't expecting more.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 have great views from the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

So, as many others have said, the location of this place is just brilliant; a stones throw from the beach, walking distance from all the bars and restaurants you could want, short walk from Mission Beach and only just down the road from La Jolla (I walked up to La Jolla,only took around an hour and it was a real nice walk).
So I was tired and jet lagged when I got to my room but it put a smile right on my face when I walked in. Huge bed, nice size bathroom and a little kitchen; it felt like more of an apartment than a hotel room and that's what I really wanted. A very comfortable place to stay for 2 weeks. Yes the trimmings aren't all perfect, chips in paint etc but honestly who cares?

It was a bit noisy from my neighbors upstairs but that wasn't something I couldn't get used to. The parking spaces out front are few and far between but when I stayed here, there was always a free spot available.

So if I come back to San Diego I'm guna be staying here. I won't be looking for another room to get, this is it for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#217 of 279 in San Diego
179 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#137 of 279 in San Diego
220 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 279 in San Diego
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#194 of 279 in San Diego
470 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
348 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#145 of 279 in San Diego
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Address: 610 Emerald Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £78 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing