We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place on the Pacific!”
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #175 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect Place on the Pacific!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location was amazing! Staff was helpful and resourceful. The Pacific View Inn is so well kept, maintained and aesthetically pleasing. Such a comfortable place! I cannot wait to go back again for a longer time. The surrounding area is fun and diverse as well

Room Tip: Nice outside areas, small but cozy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NayNay_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    52
    18
    14
    14
See reviews for
29
54
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

On a recent visit to San Diego to visit our son during a school break (UCSD) we discovered the Pacific View Inn. the Inn is really a lovely little jewel located on the boardwalk just blocks away from the Crystal Cove Pier and within walking distance from many fine eating and imbibbing establishments. While the Inn is remenisent of a typical Southern California beach Motel from the 60's our room was anything but having been recently renovated with updated finishes, flat screen TV and a super comfortable bed. It was really easy to book online and the staff especially Jason were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side facing the ocean was cool and quiet with a spectactular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelmcguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was visiting family less than a mile up the beach from the Pacific View Inn so the location was perfect for me. It's also right on the boardwalk so you can't get closer to the beach. I was a little dismayed at how bare bones the place was, but I'm not super well versed in tiny beach front motels like this clearly is. My uncle said it had undergone a renovation recently and I could tell - the room was full of new furniture, decent bed and pillows and had a great set up for staying there only at night while out all day - surfing, hanging out with family, sight-seeing, etc. Not a place you'd want to relax at in the room all day. But totally functional with a good sized kitchenette. San Diego has great weather to be sure, but I was also dismayed to find that there was no air conditioning or heating unit. They did provide a very effective standing fan you could plug in, and a small space heater, plus extra blanket. So we were ok at night but it was blazing hot inside when we arrived midday - and that was late December.

We felt a little unsure about leaving valuables in the room. There's a doorknob lock and deadbolt, but the door is accessible from outside so it would not be hard to break in. We felt safe overall though. And there's a chain lock for a little extra comfort level at night.

The bathroom sink was tiny, but had storage underneath so that was helpful. And the shower is super compact. I bumped a few elbows while trying to shave my legs! But above all - everything worked well - good hot water, good water pressure, etc. On our last night we were blessed with some soap, which it seems they forgot to have in there when we first arrived and we didn't think to ask. So we walked down to the CVS to get some body wash and soap. Also no hair dryer, so that was a little challenging for me.

Above all the place was CLEAN and the bed was comfortable. We weren't looking for a luxury vacation rental, so this place did the job very well. We were only there at night.

The location is amazing too - tons of bars and restaurants and coffee nearby. I highly recommend Oscar's next door for their amazing Mexican breakfast at $6 per person - awesome deal and delicious.

I think as far as motels go, this one was probably pretty darn good. If you're looking for more of the usual hotel conveniences, look elsewhere. I found it to be a charming beach-front neighborhood place, and I felt good supporting it as part of the local PB community fabric. They had a few breakfast items in the AM and a few chairs outside from which to enjoy the view of the beach and Crystal Pier.

Room Tip: Room 10 seems to be the best - right on the ocean side. I was in Room 11 and it was still great - lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at Pacific View Inn in August 2013. On our 3rd day our room was robbed and trashed and everything was taken, laptops clothes,driving licences,passport. There is no cctv and after 9 pm. the receptionist leaves so there is very little security. When we rang the receptionist to tell her that all our things had been robbed she didn't seem to care. Two days after we were robbed there a homeless guy sleeping outside our room in the middle of the day! DO NOT STAY HERE. We had all our stuff taken, the hotel didn't offer any compensation or seem to care and secuirty is a joke. Will never stay here again and it ruined our holdiay. Please do not stay here, it ruined our expensive holiday to the states and was a huge regret choosing pacific view inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SamMoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

canda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was the location that got our attention and we just parked our car and walked everywhere. We enjoyed an incredible sunset from our window and had a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from for later.
Simple room, comfortable bed and friendly staff. We stayed a couple of nights and could easily stayed longer if we had time. Pacific Beach is a wonderful little pocket on the Pacific, lots of great shops, bars and restaurants. We road the hotel bikes around the boardwalk and enjoyed the area. We would return to the Pacific View Inn and look forward to it!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and sit and enjoy the sunset!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeholbrooktrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location is just outstanding! Staff was reasonably friendly and helpful when I had questions. Be aware that this isn't a "full service" hotel with night staff & lots of amenities. Excellent value for the money too. On the down side, as an older property, the noise comes through the walls & doors pretty easily. So if it gets noisy outside, or upstairs, you'll hear it. I found it tolerable overall still.

Room Tip: We were on north side, less street noise, but due to fairly narrow space between condo building next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here after reading reviews about the fantastic location.

The rooms themselves are somewhat basic. They actually feel more like an apartment than a hotel room, which we liked. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite with a living room, two bathrooms, a refrigerator, microwave and the most comfortable bed ever!

We could hear the ocean from our room. The inn rents bikes, surfboards and offers complimentary coffee and drinking water all day as well as a free breakfast.

The PVI is two blocks from Garnet St, the main drag in PB.


Great location and comfortable rooms for a low price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#221 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#216 of 278 in San Diego
437 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#158 of 278 in San Diego
330 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Property: Pacific View Inn
Address: 610 Emerald Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing