We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in San Diego”
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #173 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our first visit to California. The staff made us feel welcome and were VERY helpful. It's not a fancy hotel, but it fit our needs and was on the beach. The walls are a bit thin and the last evening we had some loud talkers, but there was a fan in the room and we turned it on high to block the noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

First off, staff is amazing! The staff went above and beyond for anything every time. Minutes from the ocean, just have to walk to the staircase to get down to beach. We fought for parking everyday, but it was kinda fun cause the staff helped us out. Minutes from beer, burgers, pasta, sushi, Starbucks, the list goes on and on. For the money we paid, this place is a gem. The question my family asks is, do we pay 80-100$ more a night for a hotel with full maid service and air conditioning and an iron and a blow dryer. These things are minor. But when you don't have them, they get appreciated. Our only complaint would be when I posted maid service via my door, to happen while we were gone. Got back to the room to see our room was vacuumed and filled with towels. Theo two full beds had not been touched and no sheets got changed. Being, we are vacationing on a beach, clean sandfree sheets would have been awesome. All in all I give 5 stars for environment and location. You can not get any closer with no traffic, just awesome SD peps around. We have a 3 year old And this was perfect for her and us. We will be back. The staff is really the pain reason.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here the week of Christmas and fell in love with this boutique spot. Being from Wisconsin and having a record snow and cold winter, I returned 6 weeks later for another 7 days. The staff are wonderful, most rooms remodeled and all very clean. Nearby eats include Oscars for the fishermans torta, PB Brewhouse for lobster macaroni and cheese and the laundry mat and liquor store on the corner are clean and safe. The sound of waves crashing put me to sleep and awoke me daily. Wonderful people watching, surfers and a view of famous LaJolla cliffs. I plan another week over the Fourth of July and hoping to move to sunny PB in the next year. Thanks to everyone and you are my new home away from home !! Kelly

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly Marsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you're looking for a great location but don't mind a motel style room, this is the place to stay! The rooms could use a little updating, but with such a great location, you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. You are within walking distance to some great restaurants and steps from the beach. Very reasonably priced. I would stay again in a heartbeat, just hoping for availability when traveling to the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Captainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location is perfect. Imagine waking up in the morning, taking a few steps and being right on the beach. Many restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Seaworld and downtown an easy drive. Depending on the stay, there can be a younger crowd, but overall, great area. The rooms can be tight for a family (we had 2 adults and 2 children 13/11). Rooms a bit dated and slightly musty, but considering the abuse (sand and moisture) that can be tracked in, they keep them clean. Walls a bit thin; we had someone pounding on our wall 9:00pm and were simply talking in normal voices. Luckily he left the next morning. Coffee and bagels avail in the morning. Friendly staff, but they're not there all night. No issues with some of the homeless. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a parking space. If your room is close to the ocean front, you'll be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Not much to add - I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014. The service was excellent and friendly. The room was nice and large (studio apartment sized, not hotel room sized) with a kitchen. I had a patio-ish area with views directly onto the beach. Very quiet. Location next to bike rentals, restaurants and the Garnet bar area.

I have stayed at several of the motel-ish hotels down at the beach in PB, and this is as nice as any of them, with particularly great service.

Room Tip: There are rooms with inside hallways, but ask for one with an outside hallway/ie. patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odziggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location was amazing! Staff was helpful and resourceful. The Pacific View Inn is so well kept, maintained and aesthetically pleasing. Such a comfortable place! I cannot wait to go back again for a longer time. The surrounding area is fun and diverse as well

Room Tip: Nice outside areas, small but cozy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayNay_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#217 of 278 in San Diego
179 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#136 of 278 in San Diego
221 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#187 of 278 in San Diego
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#99 of 278 in San Diego
707 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,072 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#166 of 278 in San Diego
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Address: 610 Emerald Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £72 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing