We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girlfriends getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Girlfriends getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

My girlfriends and I who live in Los Angeles wanted to get away for one night but we wanted it to be as stress free as possible so we decided to book a nights stay at this hotel as well as purchase a weekend pass with Metrolink & Coaster to take us back and forth. In a nutshell, it was awesome!

We bought at $10/weekend pass with Metrolink and were in Oceanside (which is their last stop heading south) within about 3 hours. To our surprise, the Metrolink had great seating (tables, electrical plugs) and awesome ocean views. We arrived in Oceanside and purchase a round trip ticket on the Coaster for $11 and hopped on. We were in San Diego by noon. The Coaster station is less than a mile from the hotel so we just walked through Gaslamp to get to our hotel. We stopped and had lunch on the way.

The hotel greatest feature is that it's in a great location, right in the heart of Gaslamp so you're minutes away from Petco Park Stadium, great restaurants, bars, lounges, clubs, shops, the harbor, etc.

The hotel is clean and the staff was very nice which made our stay even more enjoyable.

Our room had a tiny kitchenette area with a full-size fridge, stove, dishwasher, coffee maker too.

We enjoyed our Sunday complimentary breakfast =)

Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely do this again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaq4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    339
    82
    17
    17
See reviews for
220
282
58
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
403 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Marriott Team have taken to the swank Gaslight District big time; they have a full-service Marriott, a Residence Inn and a Courtyard, all within walking distance. To my mind, the best choice is the Residence Inn. It's a new hotel, nicely designed with all the modern features -- pool, gym, a nice and busy bar, lobby fireplace, lobby meeting table with power drops for your laptops; etc. The rooms are tight but certainly adequate. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff is extremely cordial, greeting you with a cheery hello every time you walk into the lobby. The breakfast bar on the mezzanine is as good as any, and it felt clean and not stale, as so many breakfast areas do. Plus, and this is a big plus, there are about a thousand fun and exciting restaurants right in the area. It's a ten-minute walk to Petco Stadium and ten minutes the other way to the Convention Center. Parking is convenient (use the valets, they do a great job). Just don't double-park -- the San Diego police prowl up and down the stret, writing tickets left and right.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a big conference at San Diego Convention Center. Residence Inn was no doubt the best choice for us, $179 per night as weekend rate (plus $22.48 for taxes, etc.). Comparing with other hotels in the neighborhood with a room rate of $250 and above and only equal in quality or luxury we don’t need, it’s a true bargain. Convention Center is three blocks away. We walked to enjoy many nice restaurants (but expensive, including Oceanaire Seafood, Morton’s, Fleming’s, etc) at and around Gaslamp Quarter. Hotel has free Wi-Fi, full kitchen, refrigerator, microwave (very convenient to keep left-over from eat-out) and a small “fitness center”. As always, breakfast is free! Valet parking is $35 per day. (A little secret: you can use public parking in the neighborhood which is almost half the rate!). Hotel is nice and clean and better than other Residence Inns, service is good and cordial. We have stayed there twice now.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I love staying at Residence Inn because having a kitchen is always nice when you are staying someplace for a week. I found this location to be not my favorite, as the rooms are much smaller than what I have always had at Residence Inn. There is another Residence Inn about 5 minutes from down town on Hotel circle that is the "normal" type of rooms I am used to with this chain. I think the real estate in down town much have caused them to configure that location differently. Other than that the place was fabulous, clean, new, great location. Friendly staff. I take my 12 pound mini dog with me and San Diego is a great spot for that.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your kids, I suggest you get a rental car and stay at a different location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnygirl_Sharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Spent one night here. First time in San Diego. Easy to find, good location. Nice room even if king size beds are not guaranteed. That is what happened to us. Check in was not particularly hearty. Strange to have rooms with just one queen; there is space enough for a king. We booked the AAA- rate that includes valet parking. Good deal.
Later in the evening we had to deal with a little problem: our neighbours were making a lot of noise.
Deskmanager gave us another room: smaller but quiet. Thank you.
Breakfast is very busy but good choice for a complimentary service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosvoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for the second time on a business trip. The hotel staff is wonderful to work with. The rooms are more than I need. A mini kitchen with a full size fridge. The room even comes with a dish washer. Hotel is only two blocks from the convention center and close to most anything you would want to eat. The baseball park is only about five blocks away. Airport is ten minutes away. This will be my hotel of choice when I return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Hotel fill up on Friday and Saturday nights. A lot of people from Arizona come and spend the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the convention center and every restaurant and bar in the gaslamp district.

Every single staff member we ran into or helped us was very friendly and helpful (bellboy, receptionist, cleaning lady, handman, bartender, etc). Trully exceptional.

The layout of the room was a bit odd. It appears to me that they placed the door to the bathroom (frosted glass door) right next to the bed to make room for the kitchennette and sitting room area of the suite. A little inconvenient late at night, but no big deal.

Highly recommend and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delaceiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and TravelUp so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing