We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #41 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a work conference. It's within short walking distance to the Convention Center, which is a plus. Service is excellent at the Residence Inn--everyone was pleasant, and our housekeeper even did cute little extras, like folding the dish towel into a little animal shape. She also left us a personal note! The kitchenette facility was a plus since we were able to save a little money by eating in a few times (there's a Grocery Outlet a few blocks away, and the hotel even offers a free service to pick up groceries for you!). Good free Wi-Fi. The evening snacks and the complimentary buffet breakfast was great! They even had soy milk as an alternative (we are vegan) to cow's milk! Parking was very expensive, but no different than any other downtown San Diego hotel. Definitely highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you're interested, ask for a King bed...not all rooms have kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Plumeria_princess_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

While attending a meeting at the convention center, this was an awesome location. Great breakfast included in the room price. Easy, beautiful walk to the convention center. Restaurants and shops along the way, lots of outdoor seating to enjoy the weather and people watching. Everything open, every day! Never made the gym because you can walk or jog all along the waterfront.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better. Not much of a view but it is so beautiful outside, who wants to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CranioNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I were on the lookout for hotels in the San Diego and Coronado Island area for our association meeting. We stayed at the Loews on Coronado - don't bother, and visited several others. Loved the service at the Marriott on Coronado - first class.

Our after-visitation excursion brought us to the Residence Inn in the Gas Lamp District. Very nice staff, much better than expected. The property is spotless, and the suite we stayed in was very comfortable. It's one street over from Fifth, where everything is happening, which is nice if you don't want to be hip 24/7. Broken Egg across the street was a wonderful alternative to the standard Marriott Residence Inn breakfast.

If you are a fan of Residence Inns, this one will not disappoint. The parking price, though high for me at $38 a day, was standard for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PartyOnIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

There is not one person working at this hotel who is not well-trained in customer service. From the Valet to the Front Desk to the Housekeeper, we were so impressed by their friendly service. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast could use a better traffic flow in design, but that has nothing to do with the staff. Our only disappointment was the "Manager's Social" in the evening. We attended once and it was chips, plunger cheese, cookies and pretzels. This could use some serious improvement while not taking away from the property bar and restaurant. This carbfest was not the best feature of this property. The location cannot be beat and the options for public transportation is excellent if you do not want to get a car. The Gaslamp Quarter is bustling on the weekends and well attended on weeknights, so if you really want to go to a specific restaurant and you have the opportunity to make a reservation, do so. The room's bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The towels are small and some are a bit worn, but they were happily replaced by housekeeping. We had a great visit and we would return in a heartbeat and recommend to friends also.

Room Tip: We chose a room on a high floor that faced the back of the property as a matter of preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyPickyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had visited the Gaslamp Quarter for dinner but this time we decided to actually stay downtown for a long weekend. We loved the Residence Inn property. The location was perfect and the staff very welcoming. We arrived Friday afternoon, had our car valet parked and didn't get back into the car until we left on Monday. From this hotel you can easily walk the Gaslamp Quarter, visit SeaPort Village, tour the Midway aircraft carrier, walk to Little Italy and you're only half a block from Petco Park! We would certainly stay here again and will recommend this hotel to friends visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Terrific combination of location, size, ambience, value and service. Hotel is located three blocks from both the San Diego Convention Center and light rail station. Rooms are spacious, clean and well stocked kitchenette allows for comfortable and affordable extended stays. Hot breakfast buffet offered multiple choices (varied daily) and was attended by courteous and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The management is so lucky to have the friendly helpful staff that works for them.
They answered all questions asked of them with a smile and nothing was to much to do for the clients staying there. The rooms are clean and up to date. It is close to everything, buses, trolleys, restaurants (one of the best in front of their hotel). The bellhops never missed a smile and opening the door for us as we came back each day. The girls at the front desk always had a smile and welcome back each time we re-entered the hotel. Breakfast is great with a large variety of foods, no one should go away hungry and the girls were friendly and smiling and went out of their way to please all. Please keep up the good work. We spent a wonderful 2 weeks there in Sept for our 55th wedding anniversary and our daughter and son-in-law will be spending sometime with you this Dec.
Don & Marge, Kitchener, ON Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £108 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing