We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the reviews are correct”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Morris Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the reviews are correct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I based a recent stay at the Residence inn on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. I cannot recall staying at another hotel with such friendly and helpful staff, without a single exception. The location is ideal for the Convention Center. My only comment is to suggest that you ask for a high room if you are sensitive to noise. We were on the 4th floor and could hear the "ka-ching" of music from the restaurant below, as well as street noise at night. The room was comfortable and so didn't feel the need to move. The breakfast is more than adequate. The room was well-maintained and spotless. The in-room wifi worked well. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: Higher rooms should have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you had a great stay with us and it makes myself and the team very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time wiht us. We are hoping to see you again in the near future, thank you for choosing Residence Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    345
    82
    19
    17
See reviews for
221
286
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location of this property is terrific. The valet staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is very spacious and nice. Check-in was quick, although the front desk failed to offer us points or an amenity for Marriott Rewards. We eventually did receive the amenity. The room was a standard studio room and was clean. The lighting in the room is not conducive to working. The table in the "kitchen" area is very small, and barely fits a computer. The setup of the room was very odd, as the couch was located under the window, and made it difficult to watch television from the couch. The bathroom vanity is also relatively small, and there is insufficient counter space. The property does have a bar, and serves food as well. We had been told that we could receive complimentary chips and dip in the bar; however, when we went for a drink prior to dinner and wanted to order the chips, we were told that there was only one chef in the kitchen and it would be at least an hour for the chips and dip. We are not sure why such a simple order would take so long, but we didn't have an hour to wait and a half hour to enjoy them, so we skipped them altogether. Apparently, they need more kitchen help, especially when it is the same kitchen that provides room service. The fitness center is located on the third floor, and requires the guest to go outside to access same. This is unacceptable! Although San Diego generally has good weather, it rained for the several days we were there. We basically got drenched running to and from the fitness center. In addition, we had to use our key once outside, which took additional time. The fitness center is tiny, and insufficient for a property of this size. There were 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and one bike. There were free weights, but no weight machines. We are not sure of the capacity, but with 5 people in there it was overcrowded. If your property is going to list a fitness center as an amenity, it should actually have something that constitutes a fitness center. During our stay, we had to wait for the cardio machines each and every day, for no less than an hour, regardless of the time we arrived. In fact, there were people ahead of us waiting for the machines. This is a huge problem, especially when activities are planned throughout the day, as it sets the schedule behind for the day. As an aside, the keys rarely work, and we had to get replacements twice during our stay. The breakfast was offered during the week from 6-9 and on the weekend from 7-10. The staff was very pleasant and the food presentation was substantial, and what you would expect from a Residence Inn. The overall quality of the property is what you would expect from a Residence Inn, but certainly nothing more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and your room was cleaned to your satisfation. I am disappointed that we were unable to provide you with an exceptional stay, which is our goal for all of our guests. I would like to discuss this further with you and if you are so inclined, please feel free to contact the property and ask for me as I would like to hear some more details about your stay and how we can improve for next time! Thank you for choosing Residence Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

No complaints about this newer, spiffy Marriott Residence Inn. Mini-kitchen, complete with everything you need to cook a meal or dine in. Compact, but adequate space for one or two. Within walking distance to many restaurants and the Convention Center. Great morning buffet breakfast included. I would stay here again, especially if you tire of restaurant food and want to cook a meal for yourself. It is difficult to find properties with a working kitchen in downtown luxury hotel settings. WIsh there were more of these in downtown areas of other cities.

Room Tip: higher floors have a somewhat better city view, although none can see the harbour from where the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4458preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you next time the convention comes to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
355 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Convenient Location close to the ball park and right in the Gas Lamp district. Close to the Convention Center, many restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and functional. The sleep quality is good. This is one of a few Residence Inn's that has a bar with an available Happy Hour and a bar food/snack menu. Valet Parking is $38, which seems excessive, but is in line with the other Hotels in the surrounding area. Avoid renting a car if you do not need a car every day. There are car rental companies in the area around the hotel and there also little electric smart cars from car2go parked everywhere. These can be picked up and parked anywhere and they are priced per minute of usage. Local rentals cars for a day or these car share cars may be a lot more cost effective than parking.

The pool is just an over sized bath tub, not suited to swimming and there is no spa/hot tub.

Room Tip: The corner rooms that end in 05 are larger and have plenty of windows/light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, we at the Residence Inn greatly value your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is nicely appointed with a modern décor, convenient, within walking distance to bay front, trendy restaurants, entertainment, etc. Staff was very friendly to my son and very helpful and professional. We loved morning breakfast and healthy snack prepared at its finest. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Convenient to the convention center, the train, airport, bayfront, Coronado Island and several restaurants and entertainment/vacation venues. The hotel is nicely appointed with a modern and comfortable décor. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The valets are there each day to greet you and open the door. The staff is this hotel's best asset. I can't say enough about them. Each and every staff member was polite, helpful, courteous and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The4thJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, I greatly appreciate your feedback. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you come to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked my guest room on-line and was not certain of the location or comfort of the hotel. However, I was certainly surprised how this property is one of the newer styles of the Resident Inn of Marriott. All of the guest rooms are suites and I was upgraded to a one-bedroom suite that exceeds in square footage and amenities of other brands that I have used. Comp internet, a full and satisfying breakfast was part of the room package that makes this hotel a smart booking for the business traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Rhea,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about your last stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing Residence Inn! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing