We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and a nice place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clean and a nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. The room is nice and clean. It has a small cook top, micro wave, refrigerator, dishwasher and tv. A king size bed with a pull out sofa. You can enjoy the free breakfast with variety of foods and good service. The lady continuously replenished the foods and walking around take away the used plates. There is a small swimming pool on the third floor. There is a small lounge of the ground floor serving drinks and a limited food menu.
The valet parking is quite expensive; 40 dollars per night but you get free wifi at this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d2s1c2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend the Residence Inn Gaslamp to other travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since space is so limited in the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotels here all charge $40 or more for overnight parking. Thank you again for staying with, we hope you stay with us again the next time you find yourself in sunny San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    339
    82
    17
    17
See reviews for
220
282
58
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family and I stayed in a 1-bedroom suite (the sliding door separates the room from the living room area) for 5 nights. Some of the reviews said the room was small, but we found it to be spacious enough for 5 of us (3 adults, two small children), even with the pack n play in the room for the baby. The pull-out bed was as comfortable as you would expect a pull-out to be, but it served its purpose.

Check in was quick and easy. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Because of a large conference in town, we had two different bookings and were supposed to move to a smaller room after the second night, but when we went down to get our different room assignment, they told us they upgraded us and we could stay in the room our entire stay without moving. Thank you, Residence Inn!

The full breakfast was included in the stay and the kids enjoyed the wide variety of foods. The pool was about the size of a postcard, but it was heated so it was still nice (we were there over some unseasonably cold weather in April!).

Our room was on the 6th floor, street side, and yes, as most of the reviews mentioned, you could still hear a lot of the street noise, especially on the weekends. Try to ask for a pool-side room.

The only downside is the parking prices. Because of the location, you're going to have to pay big bucks no matter where you stay for parking, but it still hurt. $40 for overnight parking in the hotel lot. About $20-$30 in public lots across the street. We tried to park on the street a couple nights, but it's not always easy finding parking, especially at night, in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and loved all the shops and restaurants in the area. The valet staff was awesome at recommending places to visit and then giving great directions on how to get there. If in San Diego again, we'd make it a point to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a pool-side room for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our beautiful hotel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our one-bedroom suites. We hope you stay with us again, the next time you visit San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights while I was attending a convention in San Diego. The room was very nice...king-sized bed, full-size refrigerator, cook top, microwave, dishwasher, dishes, table for two, chair, wall-mounted flat-screen tv. Full hot breakfast buffet was included and was good. Fantastic staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great location in the gaslamp district...only a few blocks from the convention center and the Metro Trolley (public transit train). Outdoor pool on the 3rd floor was small and only 3 feet deep. Gas grill available in the pool area. While I was attending the convention, my wife spent her days visiting San Diego using the Metro Trolley train. Great value at only $5 for unlimited stops for the day. She was a little uncomfortable with the thought of doing it by herself, but found it to be very convenient, fun and safe. The gaslamp stop is only 3 blocks down 6th avenue from the hotel. I had one free day that we spent together. We took the San Diego Trolley Tour, which took us on a narrated tour to 11 different locations. Unlimited on/off for the day. Hotel del Coronado was a great place to stop to take pictures and walk on the beach. Filippi's Pizza in Little Italy had great pizza.

Room Tip: Limited availability of king-sized beds. Most of the availability was single queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plars4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review about our hotel! We are so pleased that you had such a fun time with us in the Gaslamp. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

On a quick 2 day trip to San Diego, we chose the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to stay at. What a great decision! Upon arriving, we were met at the curb by the valet guys who were friendly and so accommodating. The front desk folks were just as amazing and made sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay a memorable experience. Our room was THE BEST - Spotless clean, full of amenities and quiet!! Then came breakfast (included in your stay)...not just some muffins and cereals but a full breakfast bar!! Amazing waiters/waitresses, especially ANAIL who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She obviously loves her job because the smile on her face never left! Thank you to all the wonderful folks at this First Class hotel....we will definitely be back and will tell all our friends about it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBeth_Woodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for our hotel! We are so happy that we gave you "Service So Memorable!" We hope to see you again, the next time you are in the Gaslamp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

First I tried booking the hotel & their rate was $159 online. I saw that hotels.com had it $139. So, I booked the hotel straight from Marriot @ $159 a night & filled out the Marriot form to get the $139 & the 25% off due to finding cheaper else where. I provided all the information & Marriot in turn told me that the rate @ $139 was not still available on hotels.com so I was basically SOL. I provided them everything even a screenshot of the price the same day booked with Marriot. So, I had to pay now the higher price when I could have booked at $139. The valet employees greeted us & we pretty much unpacked our own car. But, I still tipped them. I requested a king size bed or two doubles since there were 3 of us traveling. Was told only a queen size bed was only available. 3 people on a queen bed?
Free breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, coffee, waffles, etc. Room smelled odd. Should use some sort of spray after each cleaning. Overall the hotel was ok. Could use more smiling employees at the front desk. Your first impression is the front desk employee.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to report this issue to us. We sincerely apologize that this happened during your booking. This is alarming because we do value Marriott's Look No Further Guarantee. We really appreciate your business and your loyalty to Marriott. Please feel free to me directly at 619-487-1210 so I can research this for you on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I forgot my phone charger so I thought to ask the front desk if they knew where I could find one. Cathy went out of her way to find and lend us a charger! Her attitude was so helpful and friendly! Really appreciated ...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 71happyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to commend our customer service! Here at the Residence Inn Gaslamp, we pride ourselves on giving all of our guest Service So Memorable. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in the Gaslamp Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here the first night of my 8 day Western Adventurn around San Diego, Las Vegas, Flagstaff, and Pheonix. We were looking for a place in the gaslamp district, close to Petco Park, which is what we got. The location was GREAT! We actually booked out rental car a day later because we were able to walk everywhere we needed to from this hotel. Petco Park was a few blocks away, as were a ton of restaurants and bars.
We were able to check in with ease, they only had a handicapped room available when we checked in, which I didn't really mind. We were only spending one night, and I didn't even use the shower. The non-handicapped room may have had a nicer shower/bathroom.
The contentintal breakfast was top notch! Eggs, green onions, salsa, cheese, sour cream, potatoes. Waffles. Oatmeal and all the fixings. Coffee. Juices (most likely from concentrate). Fruits.
Upon checking out we were able to check our bags so we could explore and move on to the next location.
The lady at the front was accommodating, but I felt a little weird when she asked me if I meant to book a room with a queen bed. I was a female checking in with my girlfriend. I didn't think in San Diego I'd get a question like that. I feel like if I didn't want the queen, I wouldn't have booked it.

Room Tip: Even though the rooms were right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, I never heard any traffic or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community! We appreciate your business. It is our goal at the Residence Inn Gaslamp to respect and value all of our guests. We sincerely apologize for the verbiage that was used during your check-in. It was not our intention to make you or your girlfriend feel uncomfortable! Upon check-in, the front desk agents are required to confirm the room type with the guests before check-in is completed. We do get a lot of travelers that accidentally book the wrong room type for their needs. The Front Office Manager has been notified of this incident and actions are in place to switch the wording used at check-in to ensure that we are communicating clearly and respectfully.
Thank you again! We hope to see you again the next time you find yourself on the west coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing