We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Hill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was wonderful. We stayed here for about a week. Loved the location and the service. It was within walking distance to tons of restaurants and shopping in the Gas Lamp Quarter. There were trolley stops, a train, the convention center and Petco Park within walking distance as well. The hotel was clean and comfortable. There's a cheap parking garage right across the street which was much cheaper than the hotel parking. Plus there's free hot breakfast every morning and it was delicious. Prices were extremely reasonable for the excellent location, the clean updated rooms with a small kitchen, and free breakfast. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Park at the garage across the street. It's much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank buzzbabe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    350
    83
    21
    18
See reviews for
221
289
59
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Residence Inn in downtown San Diego is located steps away from restaurants, bars, a number of other hotels and the convention center. It's also in close proximity to seaport village, trolley stops, the USS Maritime and PETCO Park.

In addition to the great location, the hotel is clean, with well-appointed mini suites complete with a kitchenette, pull-out sofa bed and separate area for the sink across from the bed outside of the bathroom where the toilet and tub are located.

The complimentary breakfast was delicious! They had such a variety of hot and cold foods such as eggs Benedict, Canadian bacon, sausage biscuits, potatoes and potato pancakes, eggs, make your own waffles with a toppings station - chocolate chips and fruit and whipped cream, fresh fruit, yogurt and parfaits, pastries, bagels, cereals, juices, sodas and coffee. The hot items changed daily. The seating area was just upstairs from the lobby and it was spacious and clean.

The lobby had a couple of fireplaces, comfy chairs and a large working station complete with outlets for computers. The hotel staff was very welcoming and so courteous during our stay, wishing us a great day when we left in the morning and a good evening when we returned.

Valet is $40 per night with unlimited ins and outs. There is a cheaper garage next door that makes sense to use if you're planning to park your car for a few days as they charge each time you leave and return.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
MaishaR,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear an exceptional experience such as yours. Thank you for sharing with tripadvisor all the beneficial amenities when staying at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter. We appreciate you and your feedback, which encourages our hotel to continue the delivery of exceptional service. Thank you again for taking the time we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent our anniversary at this property and really enjoyed it. Cathy, at check in was very gracious and met all our check-in requests. The room was perfect for two with a great city and a partial water view. Furnishings were updated and very comfortable. Full kitchen was a real bonus. TV remote was missing and Cathy had a tech up to the room within 5 minutes with a new one. She even sent up a complimentary cheese and cracker plate as an anniversary gift.

The pool is rather small, 3' deep max and is really more like a really large hot tub. Fitness center is fine. The full breakfast (included) was great. Much better than a cheap continental breakfast this included eggs, self made belgian waffles, cereal, yogurt, hash browns, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfCityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
SurfCityBill,
I would first like to first say Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you for sharing your experience with the San Diego Residence inn Gaslamp Quarter. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback at our hotel on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear an exceptional experience such as yours. We are happy to hear Cathy was able to provide you with a memorable experience. Cathy is an all-star who continuously sets the bar and example for our staff. She is an asset to our hotel and we are thankful she chooses to be on our team. We appreciate your feedback, which encourages our hotel to continue the delivery of exceptional service. Thank you again for taking the time we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

On check-in, the first room was very loud due to live music being played in a club near the hotel. We were tired from a long flight and just wanted to sleep. The hotel staff was able to move us to a different room that was still on the "noisy" side but better than the first room. They went above and beyond to move us to a better room the next day. The rest of our stay we had an excellent room. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending local restaurants. It was a great hotel location for going to the convention center.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (high floor) and away from the live music from the clubs in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 868zwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
868zwill,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate any feedback and are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. We want to first apologize for any inconvenience the noise level around Downtown San Diego may have caused upon your arrival. Our hotel wants to ensure all of our guests with a comfortable stay, and we are pleased to hear or front desk staff was able to accommodate you to a more comfortable room.
Our hotel is in the heart of San Diego’s downtown, only blocks away from the convention center, restaurants and attractions. You will never run out of activities to choose from throughout your stay. We take pride in our hotel and staff and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and invite you to revisit our property on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I were in San Diego for our daughters bridal shower. All of the planning, ordering and purchases for the shower were made long distance. That meant we had to store everything for the shower set-up in our room, including the additional purchases we made upon our arrival.

When we arrived we were greeted promptly and curtiously by the valet staff (Todd & Jamal were exceptional). First impressions are everything in a service business and the valet staff truely set the tone for the exceptional service we received by all staff members at the hotel.

Upon our return to the hotel each day we were greeted with a smile and a "welcome back" by each and every department staff member.

The cleanliness of the hotel is exceptional. It felt like we were staying in a brand new room as the first guests. This is truely a gem of a hotel and we only hope Marriott recognizes how outstanding this hotel of theirs really is. We would recommend it to anyone staying in San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
JudyH,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel on tripadvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp quarter was enjoyable. Each of our staff, including Valet sets the example and image of our hotel. It is always gratifying to hear a positive experience like yourselves. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with tripadvisor so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. It is in the perfect location. But this last trip the front desk associate was not the Marriott standard. She was somewhat rude. I saw her a few times during my stay and preferred to avoid her. The rest of the staff was great. Shame how one person's negativity sticks out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAwnMArieB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
DAwnMArieB55,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate any feedback and are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are glad to hear you fell in love with our hotel and location. With our location in the heart of the Downtown/Gaslamp quarter you will never run out of options and activities. We understand your expectations were not met with the service provided from a front desk associate and want to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay. We would love the opportunity to discuss this rare situation in detail. Please call the hotel directly at 619-487-1200 and ask to speak to Sara P. Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience with tripadvisor. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having been a member of Marriott rewards for 15+ years, I only stay at Marriott brands. This hotel is a great combination of comfort and convenience with a touch of 'upscale' thrown in. While I don't completely understand the need for an extended stay hotel in the downtown tourist area, I did appreciate their bar with sidewalk seating for a post-drive wind down. And the complementary appetizer (loyalty reward) of homemade chips and onion dip was a nice touch. The free breakfast was standard Marriott, but the staff during breakfast was exceptional. They continually re-stocked food items and paid close attention to keeping tables clean and available.
The only reasons for the 4 stars were the somewhat uncomfortable bed and the $40/day parking charge. Residence Inns should replace all beds with those used at Fairfield Inns. And I'd suggest that hotel guests receive a discounted parking rate vs. the public rate.
That said, it was nice to be able walk to nearby sites and restaurants.

Room Tip: Upper floor with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherif03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Cherif03, We would like to start by saying thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Family. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience on trip advisor. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We understand your expectations were not met with the comfort of the bed and parking rates. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay.
We do our best to price ourselves competitively with hotels in the gaslamp area and $40 for overnight valet parking is the average rate. We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and hope you revisit our property on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing