We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff made the difference”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The front desk staff, specifically Anita, were extremely helpful in finding us a room that fit our needs, recommending activities, restaurants, and transportation options. She also put us on a higher floor (again at her recommendation) to give us a view.

The location of the actual hotel is right in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, the nightlife / restaurant part of San Diego. Everything is within walking distance.

Great breakfast buffet. Very accommodating for families with children.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give you a better view. Lower floors (4th and below) only look at neighboring bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    363
    87
    21
    19
See reviews for
233
298
60
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The main action of the Gaslamp district happens on 5th Avenue, so being only a block away, you're very close, yet far enough not to be affected by any noise. Very close to Petco Park. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jusbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
jusbern,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear an exceptional experience such as yours. Thank you for sharing with tripadvisor all the benefits when staying at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter. We appreciate you and your feedback, which encourages our hotel to continue the delivery of exceptional service. Thank you again for taking the time we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 3 nights with my family; had a overall good Experience but they need to work on the housekeeping and cleaning of the rooms and linen. Sadly hairs are all over, felt a little overwhelmed and didn't even want to walk around the room without shoes; I'm not a clean freak, but the rooms need to be clean better, as they have a beautiful property. Hospitality is nice, as is like most of marriott properties! Parking is pretty expensive, buts it's a norm in downtown.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Rita K,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate any feedback and are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. We want to first apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Hotel cleanliness is a top priority and a Marriott Standard, so it becomes a concern when a guest does not get the full, exceptional experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable and will review this matter with our management team.
We take pride in our hotel and staff and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and would love a second chance to revisit our property on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spend a great Saturday nite with my wife at this Hotel. Great Location about a block and a half from Petco Park and right in the middle of the gaslamp district. I am a Marriott Rewards member and this was a reward room, almost free. I benefited from all the tripadvisor reviews and acted apon those recommendations, but I also found out that hotel management is also reading and reacting to our reviews, not always in the way you would hope for.
So, I asked ahead of time for a high floor as was recommended and when I checked in, they had one for us, then I asked for a corner room and they had some available. However it is now considered an upgrade beacuse people are asking for it, the upgrade cost me $30. Now I think that upgrade was really worth it. I was worried about the reviews of the studios being cramped and small, with too much shoved in, but this was far different. It really was a full one bedroom suite, lots of space, living room, kitchen, separate bedroom. And the views were awesome being on the 10th floor. At first I was a bit miffed that I had to pay extra, the staff explained that the reviews drove the demand and they were taking advantage of tripAdvisor reviews to jack up the price, but now I see it is well worth it and justified. Additional details, if you want ice right away, you are going to have to wait to make it in the frig, not too long for that first drink. We had everything we needed to make our appetizers and have our drinks in the room before we went walked to a concert at the San Diego Civic Center. It was about a 9 block walk, but actually really enjoyable stroll through lots of gaslamp action. Then coming home we had the pick of where we stopped for a nightcap. The kitchen was well stocked, everything you need. The only quirky thing is the bathroom is by the kitchen, not right by the bedroom, no big deal, just different. The only compaint I really have is that there are no available outlets (we were in room 1005) in the bedroom, I had to unplug something and one of the plugs was actually not working (Right side of the bed, top plug is broken if you are reading this Marriott staff) Of course the valet parking at $40 is very high, other reviews said to use the public parking and the one next door was $30, no in and out, extra cost at 6:00AM, I almost went back to valet, but went into the lot on 6th and K and it was only $15 for our whole time there. My wife says I should not put that in the review because she is afraid they will raise their rates, but I think not since this serves Petco Park as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_bobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I really loved and enjoy this hotel. It was in a great location with access to many great restaurants and shopping not to mention Petco Park and Seaworld which my husband was really happy about since we had already planned to visit those places. I felt extremely comfortable because my hospitality was amazing since my housekeeper was constant to my every need without having to hassel to get my towels and other necessities....(i have had bad experience with housekeeper before in other hotels therefore i was pleased by the great service i had in Residence Inn / Gaslamp Quarter ....So if you ever around and want the great service ask for this wonderful nice lady Esthela she gave great service and helped me get through town easier. I highly recommend this hotel it is very clean, comfortable, and very attentive!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Luis V,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the San Diego Residence Inn Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve. It is great to hear you had an exceptional experience during your stay and you were overall satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to recognize Esthela, she is a true asset to our company and she sets the example of what Marriott strives for in our employees. Thank you again for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel was located in the great downtown, gas lamp area of San Diego. It was on 6 tth Ave within walking distance of restaurants, clubs, and shopping. we walked to the sea port as well. One objection was the wash basin was located in the bedroom?. Are you kidding?. My wife and I thought that this was a bit weird to say the least... How romantic to watch your partner brush their teeth
Yikes!!!!!
Other than that it was a neat place, a pretty nice breakfast included.. Certainly a good place with a full sort of kitchen!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
bblancha,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter was enjoyable and that your received great service from our staff. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We understand your expectations were not met with the room design and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We are an Urban-Style, custom built Residence Inn and because of our Downtown location, our room types adhere to a smaller design. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is great. Great location, nice lobby with lobby bar and the rooms are really comfortable. I had a king room with a flat screen tv, a table and a comfy chair - with a view (in the distance) of the water. The front desk is always pleasant and attentive and the pool and fitness center are great. The fitness center even has a view!

Room Tip: Ocean views available if you are high enough up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing