We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place For Family and/or Large Group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
OC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Place For Family and/or Large Group”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I have stayed here 3 times with family and friends...and will continue to return. The location is walking distance to the heart of the Gaslamp restaurants, pubs, clubs and stores. The room is spacious and complete, like your own studio apartment. The price definitely is a bargain for all the amenities and accommodations that are offered to guests. Breakfast buffet had everything and was completely satisfying.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeyloveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    360
    84
    21
    19
See reviews for
225
294
60
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We have fully enjoyed this Residence Inn and the service has been outstanding. Upon arriving in our room, we could hear the jackhammering going on outside our window. We immediately call the front desk who offered to move us to another room. They then met us at our original room and walked us up to a higher floor and one on the opposite side of the jack hammering. We were told there was construction going on and they apologized. We have valeted our car (even at the high price of $32/night) and the valet staff has been outstanding. We hardly waited at all for the car to be pulled up. The room has been nice also. Only wish there was a desk and a speaker phone but otherwise, it has been very satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in Room 1402 from July 2nd through July 4th. We had just come from a hotel in Mission Bay (San Diego) for a work conference. We didn't know what to expect, but we knew not to park there because it costs $32 per night.

We found that the hotel was close to public parking ($17 per night). When we entered the hotel we were immediately assisted by staff. He was very efficient and professional. He also gave us a choice between a king bed and a lower floor and a queen bed and a higher floor. We chose the former. We were very glad because we had extensive views of the bay and ocean from our spacious room.

The room had a very comfortable bed, a superior television, and everything was clean and in order. The bathroom was ample and the toiletries were of a high quality.

Breakfast is on the second floor. Get there early so that you can find a seat; otherwise, you have to take your food back to your room. The food itself was hearty. They had scrambled eggs, potatoes, french toast and a waffle bar. Decent coffee too!

Overall, we intend to make this our hotel for summers in San Diego. We typically spend the cooler months in a place in the Little Italy area of San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My employer registered us here for a five-day business trip on which my wife and two teenage boys accompanied me to enjoy San Diego while I worked. While very nice, the two-room suite was too small for us, and we were able to move after two nights to the more spacious rooms at Embassy Suites. The problem was that all rooms in this hotel contain only one double bed and a small pullout sofa that's barely big enough for one person, let alone two people. This might work for a family with two small children, but not for two big teenagers. Also, they were aghast at the tiny pool, no bigger than a small room and only 3 feet deep everywhere. The two rooms were small, although the suite had a fully equipped kitchen. They serve a free breakfast every morning, and are in a great location. A very nice hotel, but best suited to no more than two adults and a child.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Stayed at the Residence Inn Gaslamp quarter for a conference at the Convention Centre for 4 nights. The room we were given was on the 7th flor and overlooked the pool area. We could see the gym and people working out from our window- seems well utilised. The pool was small though. We also had glimpses of the sea and watched to sunset, sort of! The room was large and clean with a king bed and had a small kitchenette with a a dish washer, microwave and cook top which would be convenient when travelling with children. There was a full size fridge. The basin was outside the bathroom, which is a bit unusual but this gives the flexibility fo using this when the bathroom is occupied! I'd seen this at Mira Hong Kong as well. Shower was over the bath- ok but given how new the hotel was, thought it a bit passe. Water pressure of shower was good. Breakfast was fine, There was a waffle machine, cereal, porridge, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes, pastries. The breakfast area is a bit small though, I can see how it fills up quickly. There were people filling up plates and taking them back to their rooms. Wired internet in room was complimentary. I had no trouble with the service. The reception staff were helpful with maps of the area and direction to restaurants. When I was looking a little lost in the foyer, someone from reception came up and asked if they could help. OVerall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doz y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Where to begin? Ah yes, April 14th, a full month prior to arrival when I made our reservation and paid for the entire 3 night stay UP FRONT via the ADVANCE PURCHASE RATE directly through Marriott's site onto my credit card. Stated very clearly on the reservation is "LATE CHECK-IN" as my husband and I, along with our 3 y/o would be driving from Disneyland. Guess what happened? Yup, finally made it to the hotel and was told that our room was "sold away". Huh? How can this be? It is already paid for, thus already mine.

At 9:46pm (as per my cell phone statement) I called the desk to remind them that we would be late and are coming form Disney. I was told that my room was waiting for us and that my request for a sofa bed for my toddler would be honored. At 10:45pm I called again to report that we were lost, but that we were still coming. This time the same clerk stated that there were only 8 rooms left and to hurry. I reminded her that I had a reservation, and she just reiterated to "hurry". At 12 o'clock at night, our super-tired family was ushered across the street to another Marriott, told that the room would be compt'd (I'd certainly hope so) and to pack up all our stuff and return the following morning. Again, whaaaaat?!?! So we go across the street like the Griswalds amid a bustling lobby filled with clubbers and ask for our room key. The room was fine, but lacked the kitchenette we reserved with the Residence Inn for all the food supplies we had stopped to buy on the way. Had to toss all perisables. And this other hotel didn't offer the free breakfast like the Residence Inn, either.

The next morning, called the desk at Residence Inn. The manager on-duty was very nice and knew who we were and said to come anytime as our room was ready. Got over about 11am and being from EST, were starving for breakfast and mentioned how we missed out. Promptly given a $25 credit and a 10% coupon for the Broken Yolk restaurant across the way. That was the only discount given for the hassle from the night before. And the 10% coupon is given to any guest that asks. Only got the $25 credit because I complained. And the super-nice corner room they supposidely upgraded us to? Well, my brother and his gf happened to be staying there with us, and they got a corner room. So much for the upgrade. They got there from Disney just before us. NICE. Had to stay in a different hotel from my family. I mentioned how I was not satified and asked if the $32 a night valet fee could be taken care of. "No" was the answer. Nothing more was done to try to make us happy, so here is your warning.

Later, I went to the desk looking for the clerk that said my room was still available the night before. Kelly appears and seems nervous. When asked how on Earth she could give our room away even after talking to her twice prior to arriving, she first blamed the guy that replaced her shift for the night, then said that on busy evenings it becomes "first come, first serve". Again, WHAAAAAATTTTT?!?! Then why bother making a reservation? She had no answer. I left the desk uphappy once again.

Upon check-out, I had given up on trying to get some satisfaction, a discount, somethng other that $25 for a breakfast we missed out on, not to mention the food we had to throw away. The lady at the desk was different, given in was now Monday and asked the usual, "How was your stay" question. Mistake. BIG MISTAKE. Quickly went though the events that had happened upon arrival, and went so far as to mention how we were still not happy. Strike Three....nothing more was done and the general manager's business card was requested. Right after this review is posted, the letter to the GM is getting written. UNBELIEVABLE.

The hotel is very nice, new hotel and turned out to be where all the families were. This is a very busy downtown. Try not to go during a game as the Petco stadium is right around the corner. Double and triple check your reservation, just as I did, but understand that at this hotel, a reservation means ABSOLUTELY ZERO to the staff, especially on a busy night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mev1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Our 15 May 2010 stay at the San Diego Downtown / Gaslamp Quarter Residence Inn is an unsatisfactory excursion, and as enthusiastic Marriott Rewards participants we are unhappily furnishing the following negative testimonial.

DREADFULLY DISAPPOINTING:
Although the king size bed and crisp lines are accommodating; comfort is absent because the mattress is exceedingly rigid and the pillows are not firm. Sleep-deprived best describes our excruciating un-restful experience. Management is unsympathetic and apathetic to our request to cancel, penalty free, a pre-paid reservation for next September.

BENEATH EXPECTATIONS:
Room, in general, is clean; we found a hair beret on the floor next to the sink.
Bathroom is extremely small; toilet and shower (no tub) are co-located; with the sink vanity located in the sleeping area. Shower stall is scarcely sufficient to move around in.
Roof top pool is small and the chairs and tables are limited even though the space will accommodate twice as many chairs and tables.
No in-room safe; only safe deposit boxes at the front desk, which we did not use.
Hotel only offers valet parking, which is an expensive $32 per night.

MET EXPECTATIONS:
Inviting front desk and lobby includes a two-way fireplace.
Location is walking distances to many downtown activities and by private or public transportation only minutes away from numerous other attractions and landmarks.
Check-in is a quick and effortless experience.
Employees provide standard Marriott service; Kelly is sociable and exceptionally courteous.
Room décor is well appointed, and the neighboring occupants cannot be heard.
Windows do not open; however, the panorama view of downtown is pleasing.
San Diego bay is partially visible from the 9th floor.
Television is 32” flat screen, mounted on the wall, with a decent cable/satellite channel selection that includes local channels, CNN, ESPN, Explorer, and HBO. However, noticeably missing from the choices are the Travel and Discover channels. Make sure to bring your portable DVD player or laptop; on the side of the television composite plug-ins are available.
Sofa and overstuffed chair are comfortable for relaxing, reading, or watching television.
Additional furnishings include small kitchen table, and coffee table; no desk.
Medium closet contains three drawers, extra blanket and sheet and small ironing board with standard size iron.
Individual climate control is simple to operate.
Standard amenities, coffee and tea maker, alarm clock, and hair dryer are available.
Breakfast is continental; muffins, bagels, fruit juices, fresh fruit, egg sandwiches – with ham or bacon – cereal, yogurt, milk, coffee, and waffles are made hot and fresh by the guest.
Fitness Facilities include a reasonable amount of exercise machines.
Express check out is uncomplicated.
Building interior and exterior architecture is attractive.

BEYOND EXPECTATIONS:
Car valet is quick and first-rate; after calling ahead, we did not wait for our car as is customary.
Dinning choices are abundant.
Kitchenette amenities are ample and include dishwasher, stove, microwave, toaster, refrigerator, icemaker, pots, pans, serving dishes, and silverware.
Exceptional:
The brand new Residence Inn is a short walk to Petco Park, which are the two reasons we choose this hotel.

INVOLVEMENT OR INSPECTION INADEQUATE TO INTERPRET:
Evening and Manager’s reception.
Restaurant dinner delivery.
Internet access.
Laundry facilities.
Pet accommodation.
Vie; on-site bar.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmericanTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,951 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing