We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shout House

Shout House
Ranked #3 of 210 Nightlife in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The piano players are excellent. It's amazing that they know so many songs. It was my sister's bachelorette party and I'm so glad they got her on stage! she was so embarrassed! It's a nice mix of music and comedy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarawoertink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    5
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great dueling pianos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This was a fun night. We walked in about 7ish and it was already packed on a Sat night. If you want a table you need to reserve it ahead of time. As we walked up they told us it was a $10 cove and standing room only. We were able to find a seat after about 20-25 minutes. The service from the bartenders and the wait staff was good. The piano players were very good and they did not beg for money like some piano bars do they played what was given and livened up the place. I would not hesitate to go again but I would make a reservation and get there by 6:30pm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaburlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for entertainment, food not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had booked a party of 14 with a prepaid bar+food. They were nice enough to provide some birthday decorations on all the tables at no charge which is nice.
Although our tables were all next to each other (small moveable tables for 4) they would not allow us to move the tables together.
All the soda was flat - tonic, coke etc. We sent back the G&T's, and they came back exactly the same. This should signal to someone that they need to check the gas cartridges or whatever produces the bubbles for the soda. The service was mediocre, all tables generally had to signal to a waiter for service, rather than the staff checking on us.
The appetizer basket was "ok", the main courses (burgers or chicken sandwiches mostly) were bland. There was no salt or pepper, and I could not attract anyone's attention to get any. Most people only ate half their food which should have signaled to the server to ask why ..
On the other hand, the 2 sets of pianists were great, very personable and entertaining, really getting the audience going. They played for a nice long time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdeleG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great dueling piano bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been here a couple of times and had a great time both times. Make reservations because the place was packed to the gills both times we've gone. The drinks are great and the food is typical overpriced bar food. I would plan on eating before arriving and then getting your drink on. The pianists are very talented and are great for more than a few laughs and plenty of singing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pirate4x4lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A whole lot of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great time listening to some fun music. The pianists traded quips with each other and the audience. They take requests and can play anything (and I mean anything - rap, show tunes, classical). They'll pick on the audience so if you have a special occasion, this is a great place to go on stage and be recognized (or embarrassed). Pianists were good musicians and vocalists.

Lines out the door on Friday and Saturday so we went on Sunday and had a great seat, good food and a lot of fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shout House also viewed

 

Been to Shout House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing