We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not great”
Review of Pacifica Hotel

Pacifica Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacifica Hotel
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good but not great”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would give the hotel 3 and a half rating if i could. Hotel is in a great location close by to public transport and many places to eat at and socialize. Room was pretty small and the bed was really small making it hard to sleep sometimes which is probably my only major complaint and no elevators so you will have to carry your lougage up the stairs to the entrance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuzzie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for the basics. I had the single room with bath - it was clean, inexpensive for the area, and in a great location (which is right in the middle of the historic Gaslamp District). There are no "extras" but it was well worth it (for example no mini fridge or microwave), but it was that it was quiet and there are tons of restaurants and shops right outside. It worked well for me attending a conference at the San Diego convention center.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkt7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I knew when I made the reservations that I shouldn't expect a mint on my pillow, but I wasn't expecting to find bed bugs on my pillow either. I woke up with bed bug bites all over my face and body; two weeks later, I'm still waiting for the scabs to go away. I had to throw out my suitcase and backpack and launder all my clothes repeatedly, and I still live in terror that somewhere in my apartment, a newly established colony of bed bugs is just waiting for the right moment to strike. Don't be fooled by the cheap price; this place wouldn't be worth it if they paid you to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AYone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I traveled to San Diego twice last year and stayed at the Pacifica both times. We loved it. It's close to the beach, walking distance to La Jolla shopping & restaurants, but most of all because the staff was fantastic. Very kind, accommodating and not 'fake' friendly, but 'real' friendly.

The hotel bar has live piano player and there was a lot of dancing (middle-aged) 70's & 80's music.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place is crawling with bugs in every corridor! We stayed here during Comic-Con and couldn't sleep thanks to half of the crap in our room. There is no A/C in this place, so you'll be sweating like hell all night as well. Even if there was A/C I doubt the slumlord owner would turn it on. The wifi seemed to be nonexistent (everyone we talked to said it they couldn't even use it). This is the kind of place you stay if you are homeless and managed to save $200 and just want a roof over your head. Run. Run. Run.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

You get what you pay for. Nothing special, cheap and affordable. Small private room with bathroom but very clean. Friendly staff. Good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

it´s the worst place EVER! .. we didn´t sleep there...
when we arrived we got a terrible smell... the rooms are so dirty and smells like public restroom...

i´m seriously you will find that everything i say it´s true, if you put a foot in the hotel...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JocelynSoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotelman, Manager at Pacifica Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
We have several reviews on other sites (------- and -------) that are very complimentary about our hotel. We offer clean and secure accommodations for budget conscious travelers. This reviewer called and e-mailed us several times and reserved 2 rooms (without a deposit). As far as we know, this reviewer did not even visit the hotel, much less stay with us. It is very upsetting to us that this reviewer decided to use this site to make such derogatory comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hostel on 3rd
Hostel on 3rd
#22 of 65 in San Diego
53 reviews
Downtown
Historic Gaslamp Hotel
Historic Gaslamp Hotel
#22 of 33 in San Diego
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Hotel

Property: Pacifica Hotel
Address: 551 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6979
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pacifica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing