We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Racing the waves , and rocking good time!”

Speed Boat Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the adventure of a lifetime on our Speed Boat Adventure Tour. A guided and narrated San Diego Harbor Tour with a twist. You are able to navigate and captain your own speedboat for the entirety of the tour while following our trained and knowledgeable guides to experience the best of both worlds – the THRILL of driving your own speedboat, and the safety of having a skilled guide introduce you to the beauty of San Diego Harbor. The witty yet historical narration is done through two-way communication systems mounted in each boat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Racing the waves , and rocking good time!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

While in San Diego with my family which is wife and 2 grown sons. Saw this speed boat tour advert. TOUR of the San Diego bay! This is a self drive 2 man speed boat tour that is like 1.5-2 hours long. They will let you swap out drivers at the halfway point so don't worry. The guide has a radio to talk to each boat to let you know what he is about to do, and point out the specific points of interest. This is a way,way cool tour we drove next to the submarines in the maritime museum , drove under the USS Midways bow, and saw sea lions basking in the sun. Just so you know, you follow the tour guide, he will keep you out of trouble, wear sun glasses and a windbreaker, they provide a life jacket! On,y problem it went too fast, would have loved to stay out longer, like all day....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    52
    15
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome event”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had an excellent guide named Corey. He taught us exactly how to use the boat and made us feel comfortable. Once we got out of the wait zone we were able to take off going all around the harbor. It wasn't very expensive and it was sooo much fun! I thoroughly recommend this tourist attraction. The sites were beautiful and we got to see the navy ships and aircraft carriers up close.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuridh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Neveda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Diego Speed Boat Adventures is Awsome!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

San Diego Speed Boat Adventures is Awesome! AN excellent time was had by my family because of the safety, professionalism and fun executed by the entire team!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dandre01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We wanted to take a boat tour and decided on Speed Boat Adventures because we loved the concept of navigating our own boat. The concept is awesome. The boat is really basic and can accommodate two adults. The tour guide drives his own boat and narrates through a walkie talkie in which all boats have speakers. They go over safety items prior to leaving the dock and teach you how to restart your boat in the event the engine cuts off. DO NOT let this worry you. The procedure is very simple. In our group, there were six boats and they have you follow the boat in front of you. The tour guide is very mindful of who's fallen behind and even had to go back for a few boats that had stalled out. If you are a larger person, as am I, you may want to take you're own boat as the boats are equipped with a single 30hp outboard motor. Because of my weight and the smaller engine, we had a rather difficult time getting up to our target speed. The boats seemed weathered but definitely sea worthy and safe. All in all, a great way to tour from the water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I scheduled the San Diego Speed Boate Adventure as an early Valentine's Day present for my wife who always has to work because of her job. We were planning for a chilly wet day but we had a warm sunny February Thursday instead! Our tour guide Zach was incredibly friendly and fun to be with, we enjoyed his company and his leadership on the trip. He zipped us around and took us across several fun wakes where we jumped the boat and had a great time. Being able to steer and control your own boat was a super fun experience and one we will definitely do again, perhaps in a group! Thank you San Diego Speed Boat Adventures and our tour guide Zach!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappertrainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speed Boat Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Speed Boat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing