We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldn't stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of RK Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RK Hostel
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wouldn't stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Kitchen was nasty, a mouse ran across the counter and sink... "breakfast" was 1 crappy sugary cereal... stairs stunk like piss.... bathrooms were gross, no toilet paper sometimes, no hand soap or paper towels etc... room we stayed in was tiny, barely enough floor space for our bags... most staff were creepy and vulgar dudes.... Luckily San Diego is an amazing city so it didn't ruin our trip, but I would not stay there again. If you have any other option, TAKE IT!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
18 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    9
    6
    17
See reviews for
1
8
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Introduced myself as a travel writer and before I could even ask a single question about booking a room, rates or amenities the clerk, and some joker just sitting around chatting with the clerk, treated me with paranoid hostility the likes of which I have never encountered. Contending I was "some kind of investigative journalist," they clearly seemed threatened by my presence and refused to tell me anything, as if I were 21 Jump Street trying to dig up dirt on the place in order to shut it down. Uh, guys, I was just stopping in to see whether this was the kind of place I could publicly recommend in a San Diego city guide. Dunno what you were hiding, but clearly I can't recommend paying money to spend the night and find out.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
15 Thank WhiskyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

So upon arrival, we waited half an hour in the reception waiting for someone to come down and serve us. The guy that came down didn't even apologise for keeping us waiting and when we asked him questions about the area (things to do ect) he had no idea.
We still couldn't get checked in because they put me and my boyfriend in separate rooms!! Even though we'd booked online to stay in the same dorm room?!
So finally got a room at 8 in the evening (after arriving at 15:30). The guy that showed us to our room clearly doesn't care about the hostel or the people staying there which is really sad because it could have dampened our san diego experience (luckily it didn't because its beautiful there).
The rooms were ok, pretty cramped but comfortable.
After staying two nights we were glad to be moving on.
Then we recently received an email to say that RK Hostel had written us down as 'no shows' therefore booking.com now want to charge us $60 cancellation fee!!
We are absolutely fuming about this. RK hostel probably wont even care about this post, as the other reviews are just as bad so clearly there is no action taken to improve their issues.

After travelling the world for 9 months, we really don't like to judge a hostel just on a few bad ratings, but this one just proved that maybe we should next time. RK Hostel, sort it out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita K, Manager at RK Hostel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hello Georgia,

We would like to express regret for the check-in experience you had here at RK Hostel. We absolutely do care about all of our guests and their experiences here at the hostel. Can you please email us at rkhostel@hotmail.com if you are still having trouble with Booking.com acknowledging that you stayed with us?

Thank you,
RK Hostel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

A basic hostel, but friendly staff and very accommodating offering sleeping in the common area for late planner. Located close to little italy and a short walk from many nice cafes and restaurants. Cool outdoor area on the second floor with nice views

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita K, Manager at RK Hostel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hello Kevin,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location here in Little Italy.

Regards,
RK Hostel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very cool hostel with a fun time and a great location very close to the harbour. Clean rooms and bathrooms and a big living room, where they show movies at night. Stayed in a room for 6 people for 24$ a night. Also comfortable to get quickly to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita K, General Manager at RK Hostel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be more then happy to have you stay with us the next time you visit San Diego. As we value each and every guest who chooses to stay here at the Hostel. We would appreciate it if you could add any photos you may have taken during your trip.

Thank You

James
R.K. Hostel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The only good thing about RK hostel was the charm, warmth and hospitality of the nice manager James who kept things clean and took care of hostel guest accommodations in a friendly fashion. The other worker is completely inappropriate and is still in need of help with navigating USA culture. In the USA there are certain customs just not tolerable - this is 2013 and this is the new world- we live in post-modern society and he needs to learn boundaries. The carpet needs to be replaced upstairs but it's better then some other places. Location is very good.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at the RK Hostel for three days in early August. This place should be condemned and shut down until they deal with the serious infestation of bedbugs. Was bitten all over my arms, legs and face, literally over 100+ itchy, painful, unsightly bed bug bites, which became inflamed and caused a serious allergic reaction. I went to management and requested a refund, which the refused. The manager Godwin has the customer service skills of a porcupine, he was rude and had absolutely zero sympathy for the the fact that a guest had been eaten alive by bedbugs. The breakfast and coffee was a joke, two crappy sugary cereals in a dirty kitchen. Bathrooms were filthy gross. I feel like the city of San Diego needs to condemn this place until they can do a thorough inspection and complete eradication of their bedbug infestation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Quincy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita K, General Manager at RK Hostel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We value each and every guest that stays with us and are working very hard to make the proper changes to the way business is conducted by our employee's.

We are terribly sorry that your stay with us was unpleasant as well as the way you were treated by the manager.

I can assure you that the problem has been taken care of.

All of the beds have been sealed in industrial strength plastic, all of the linen has been changed and replaced with new linen. And each and every room as well as the entire Hostel has been sprayed by an exterminator.

We have had our all employees trained in how to not only prevent these bugs but also how to deal with them should they appear.

Unfortunately there is no way for us to know weather or not a guest is bringing in any type of bug,however we will continue to take the proper steps to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

Although it is not an excuse I can tell you that this has been an on going issue throughout the entire U.S. for the last several years.

Sincerely
R.K. Hostel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vyvant
#4 of 33 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Marina Inn and Suites
#196 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#4 of 63 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Hostel

Property: RK Hostel
Address: 642 W Hawthorn St # 648, San Diego, CA 92101-1715
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — RK Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RK Hostel is located in Downtown San Diego in beautiful neighborhood of Little Italy. We specialize in offering a the classic hostel experience with the amenities of a full kitchen, on-site laundry, free wi-fi all for an affordable price in one of the loveliest neighborhoods of the city. We are near to the waterfront and Balboa Park and all of its' attractions. We are located near many buses and at least 2 trolley stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your RK Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing