We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast with huge portions.”
Review of The Broken Yolk

The Broken Yolk
Ranked #84 of 4,751 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just a block of the GasLamp district...close to the Marriot near Petco Park and Hilton Bayside....not far from the TIN FISH
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
281 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with huge portions.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently ate here with my family while on vacation. Service was friendly and quick. The portions are huge! I had an omelet, my husband had the Chicken and Waffles, and my son had a full order of french toast. Everyone of our entrees were large enough to have shared with someones. My omelet was very good and both my son and husband loved their breakfast. I would recommend The Broken Yolk to any of my friends, but I would suggest they share!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    137
    60
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Always jam-packed but super food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is one of my favorite places in San Diego - sure, it is crammed full nearly all day, but their food is really super and well worth the wait. Really fresh fruit, orange juice and a muffin the size of a satellite TV dish will get you going for the day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I had chiliquiles and they were the best I ever had. Super yummy. My husband had golden state eggs Benedict and he said it was really good. The orange juice was good wish i would have got the bottomless mimosas for $12.99. Got pretty busy but worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank ccs124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Get an Omelet!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stopped by here for lunch. Service was fine and the chili omelet was very good! Liked the atmosphere and the portion size was plenty for us. We enjoyed eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place was excellent for breakfast. Not only were the prices great but we got there just before the rush. The seating is a little uncomfortable because it is just benches and hard chairs but the food makes up for it. I ordered the Western Benedict and it was amazing! I highly recommend this place for breakfast.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grapess80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Broken Yolk also viewed

 

Been to The Broken Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing