We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, Close to Public Transportation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Ranked #153 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Close to Public Transportation”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A nicely furnished, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. Location is not near San Diego attractions, although it was easy to use public transportation from here. A walk of about ¾ mile takes you to the transit station at the Fashion Mall Shopping Center, where you can catch the red light-rail “Trolley” to get to many area attractions. Also, the private “Old Town Trolley” stops at the bus stop in front of the “Day” Hotel next door. The “Old Town Trolley” is a set of hop-on-hop-off trolley cars that make a circuit of area attractions.
The hotel lacks a sit-down restaurant, but has a “bistro” counter from which you can order food to eat in the seating area of the spacious lobby. The bistro also serves Starbucks coffee, though it doesn’t open until 7AM on weekends (6AM on weekdays). The “Day” Hotel next door does have a sit-down restaurant (“Bunz”) with great variety of malts and hamburgers as well as other fare, along with delicious breakfasts and friendly servers.
Don’t bother using the room phone to call Housekeeping: you’ll get a recording to leave a message, but apparently nobody ever listens to the recordings as we never received a response. A phone call to the main desk was not answered at all. If you need something, your best bet is to go directly to the front desk where the staff seems eager to please.
If you take a taxi to this hotel, it's important to make sure to specify that you want to go to the Courtyard by Marriott at the Mission Valley Hotel Circle, as there are other “Courtyards” in the area. Although I thought I had clearly specified this to our taxi driver, he first delivered us to the wrong “Courtyard.”

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Tim O,

Thank you very much for your feedback, please be aware we have addressed the telephone reprogramming issue you experienced! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

We thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back and visit us soon.
Sincerely,
Veronica.

Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    223
    118
    35
    25
See reviews for
178
90
39
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Hotel Circle due to its proximity to our daughter who lives in San Diego. The first morning, the hairdryer completely stopped working. Within 15 minutes, Jesus from Maintenance came and replaced it with a new one. While he was in the room, he took the time to work on our TV which had a "fuzzy" picture. Thanks to Jesus for responding promptly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj_southwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Bj_Southwest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to recognize Jesus’s! He truly loves what he does and it shows!. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you visit us again soon.

Regards,
Veronica.

Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadephia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I picked the Courtyard because the Courtyard brand usually delivers on a consistent promise. Overall, the Mission Valley Courtyard was a decent place to stay. I found the $18 a day parking charge on the high side. I stayed there to use the fitness equipment - the treadmilll was not working right - it stopped completely after 4 or 5 minutes - actually almost tossed me off the treadmill several times before I gave up and got off. I reported it to the front desk. They didn't put a sign on it but said they would call for service. The next day I got on it, thinking it was fixed, but it did the same thing again, so I reported it again. I found one treadmill for a large hotel like this particular Courtyard disappointing. The hotel is on a road that would not be safe to run on, so that was not an alternative. I ordered take out from the restaurant one night - a chicken quesadilla. The quesadilla itself was good, but it came with guacamole that was brown. There are so many other choices in the Mission Valley area, I'd try another place next time. I felt safe and the rooms were clean, but the other little things left me disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affinityPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear AffinityPA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that your recent stay was not a satisfactory one. We have addressed the issues with our fitness center and have two new treadmills installed. Our food and beverage team was made aware of your feedback. Our parking fee is comparable to the fees charged around our area, we certainly didn’t mean to take you by surprise.
If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to this area.
Sincerely,


Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Amazing what great management & front desk can do to make your stay perfect. The front desk agent, Sanae got me checked-in early, provided an upgraded room (I've gotten the same room on two previous stays) & explained & provided all the perks that come with the great package this hotel (Joan McClintock) offers. A big thank you to the hotel & special thanks to Sanae & Joan for all their help. My stay hasn't ended but I'm already making plans for my next visit.

Marriott Platinum Member since 2009

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahmeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Fahmeed,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to recognize our staff members! We are delighted your experience was a fantastic one. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Thank you again,
Veronica


Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this room spur of the moment for a what looked to be a nice hot tub/pool. When we got there the hot tub was warm and full of floating bugs. It looked like a stagnant pond. I called the front desk to tell them about it and they said that there was a technician on the way. When I asked when they think it would be fixed they responded with "I don't know". The pool area is obviously neglected which is unfortunate because the rest of the hotel is pretty nice and what seemed to be kept up. A couple positives were: the hotel rooms where nice and comfortable and walking distance to a liquor store. I personally wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience with our pool. We did have an unexpected incident that required for us to service our pool. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future!
Regards,
Veronica Butler

Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was driving through California (trailering a golf cart) on my way down to The Baja, Mexico. I needed a safe place to stay a couple of nights before crossing the boarder. My wife found this place and it was perfect! A secure/gated parking area where I could leave the trailer, a good bar/restaurant inside the hotel and a really good staff of friendly/ helpful people. It is conveniently located along the highway with easy access and a short drive to the airport if needed. If I am in the area again, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear John C,

Thank you for your comments!! We are glad you had a great time at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Veronica.

Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Poor location relative to downtown. Hotel clean and nice. Service good. Food service slow and food mediocre but overpriced. Beds were reasonably comfortable but pillows were terrible. Ample parking but small loading area in front of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Greg J,

Thank you for providing us with feedback! Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your service expectations. Our goal is always to work on improving on any feedback provided. You are a valued customer and we appreciate your business, hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Veronica Butler
Director of Guest Services
San Diego Mission Valley Courtyard
619-481-5865
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle

Property: Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Address: 595 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3403
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plugged in-in every way. The Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle in San Diego, California is where comfortable hotel accommodations and a sophisticated vibe combine in unexpected ways. This renovated hotel features inspired food at The Bistro, a lounge and a Starbucks espresso bar. Complimentary Wi fi is available in your room, in the lobby or anywhere you want to go. Courtyard is just minutes from Downtown San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, the San Diego Convention Center, Mission Beach, SeaWorld and the world famous San Diego Zoo. It is also centrally located to the extensive San Diego business parks and across from Fashion Valley Mall. Qualcomm stadium is a short trolley ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing