We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at this charming little hotel”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
denver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at this charming little hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently returned from two nights in this charming hotel. We absolutely loved it! The room was small but was the cleanest of our recent vacation, during which we stayed in three different hotels. The antique furniture and décor was very charming. We didn't miss having a phone or TV in our room; in fact we quite enjoyed the peace and quiet. The scones on the patio were the best scones I have ever eaten. The marmalade was delicious. Hazel, our inn keeper, helped to make this such a pleasant stay for us. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed this. The hotel grounds and ambience are so charming, and it was great staying right in Old Town Historic Park. We also walked to the public "trolley" and took that up to the Maritime Museum and also Seaport Village. After we figured out how to buy tickets and which line to take, it was a very easy and efficient process, and way more enjoyable than dealing with parking on both ends. The public "trolley" (which is more like a train and not to be confused with the Old Town Red Trolley sightseeing tour) runs about every 10-15 minutes depending on the time of day etc.

Our first night's sleep was a little noisy, as there are some people downstairs in the lounge who like to party, and this is an old creaky wooden building. Some late returning guests stumbling along the upper walkways about 2 am definitely woke us up, but this won't deter us from returning to the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, might be a good idea to pack earplugs. There is also a "ghost tour" that comes by this hotel late at night, and there was a crowd of people who stopped right outside our balcony area to hear about the apparent hauntings in the Cosmo. While it was nice to hear the tour guide's speech for free, it was disturbing to us since we were in bed early, and I wish the Cosmo would require this to happen at a little earlier hour (like before 9 pm or so).

In spite of its noisiness, we thoroughly loved our stay at this little hotel, and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theslant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    58
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
131
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed two nights had a wonderful experience found staff friendly and helpful. Margaritas were possibly too good as I couldn't just have one. The meal was excellent and everything we would want in a gourmet meal including service. Wife wanted only a bowl of fruit, of course not on the menu, server made up a bowl of fruit they had and we had a happy Mama.
Scones and coffee on the balcony in the morning made up for the lack of a coffee pot in the room, would have like a coffee station so wife could sleep in. Stepping back in history left us without a TV but meeting new people in the courtyard was good.
Atmosphere and overall experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Note: Updated from my review under "The Cosmopolitan Hotel and Restaurant" under restaurant category.

We stayed at the hotel for one night for our anniversary. Room was nice, atmosphere made it feel like the boarding house it once was. There is a certain charm to the hotel and the appetizers and bar service during happy hour were excellent. Hotel staff was very accommodating but a little overworked -- one person runs the show.

Two things were poor on a practical level... Every stick of furniture in the room creaked with just a little movement, including the bed, making it difficult to sleep. The proximity to the Old Town Transit Center means train whistles till late and then again early in the morning (it didn't bother us, but may be troublesome for others). And landscapers with leaf blowers working in the park early in the morning could be a problem.

The rooms have no TV, or phone (OK with me) but they say there is wifi. In room #2 it was very poor. My iPad could connect, but only while sitting in the bathroom, and my chrome book couldn't connect at all. Don't consider doing any computer work while you're here.

3-stars for the practical issues, but the Cosmopolitan gives one a realistic feel for the way things must have been in Old Town but with some modern conveniences (running water, private bathrooms, etc) and if you like historic hotels in a very historic area, then the Cosmopolitan is for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west will be loudest because of the park and the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

So I have a mixed review. The Hotel is a beautiful historical space. I have always wanted to stay here. It is a beautiful hotel. It is well kept. The employees are outstanding. The restaurant food wasreally good. The scones ,ccoffee and juice served out on the porch was really nice. The down side, when we arrived we could not find parking. We drove around for an hour, one person got so angry with us for waiting he slammed his fist on our car. So NO assigned parking is available. It is located in the court yard of old town so it was over crowded and parking should allocated for the hotel. I arranged ahead of time for a queen size bed and shower. They had originally set us up for a full size bed and tub. It was in the computer or so I was told. We were taken to the room and had to be given another room. One thing to keep in mind, built in early times, there is NO insulation. You hear everythingthey is like you are sleeping outside. You hear the fwy noise, the airplanes and worst are the trains, they blow the whistle at the station around the corner and this begins in the wee hours. The courtyard is open all night. There is a walk through area and people walk it all night and they are very loud. They should put up something letting people know it is a hotel, many don't know this. So ear plugs could be helpful. The bed is beautiful, but.... Every move it squeaks so loud. It woke both of us Everytime either of us moved. The bed was lumpy so we moved around allnight trying to get comfy. The bathroom door was just as loud. We put some soap on the door hinges to help cut the noise on the second night. Both nights we beard a phone ringing and then it started early in the am. We heard our neighbors full conversation on the porch at 7 am. We heard housekeepers vacuuming early hours. We were given a key for the main entrance for after 10 pm returns. We thought it was for the main door of the hotel, after walking around and blindly. Going to the wooden gate entrance we found the key opened the big gates. There is limited space and the conveniences we are all use to are not there or supplied. However overall, one needs to consider you are in a space built for the era of 1800's.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the inner areas for quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff couldn't have been more helpful from the moment we arrived; showing us to our rooms and even how the air con worked. Special mention to Pamela who got us settled in and got our stay off to a great start. The rooms are all individually decorated which makes a nice change from your usual identikit hotel room.

The beds were really comfortable and got a fairly good night's sleep; although there was a fair bit of noise from the nearby freeway.

We had a few drinks and some food in the bar before going out and the bar man really looked after us. We can definitely recommend the happy hour and margaritas!

Lovely breakfast of home made scones on the veranda in the morning finished off a great stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Ignore the pool and gym ratings, selected by accident and then couldn't work out how to switch them off!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Let me first establish the fact that we did not stay in the hotel, we simply ate at the restaurant. My husband and I attended this Victorian establishment in Old Town San Diego on Tuesday afternoon. Though Old Town was hopping, this place was dead and now I know why. This is supposed to be an historically based eatery. The decor inside was lovely but we were seated in the 'meh' patio which for some strange reason, was "decorated" with massive red balls that had some sort of Chinese decorations on them, and a random patchwork quilt hanging on an exterior wall. Huh? We aren't in old Chinatown, so not sure about the big red hanging balls, and since when did Victorian hotels hang quilts on exterior walls for decoration? It looked ridiculous. At any rate, we expected to at least hear some appropriate music to reflect the 1870 theme someone at some point attempted to depict considering the fabulous restoration work that was done a few years ago. I don't go to a Mexican restaurant to hear rap music, nor do I go to a restored Victorian restaurant to hear nightclub jazz. The music and outdoor decor were a total let down. The food was 'so so'. The water was AWFUL. Either it's the water or the ice, not sure which. My soda was flat and bitter, pleasantly exchanged for an iced tea that tasted as bad as the water. At that point we gave up on the beverages. The server had zero energy. She was nice and polite, but slow and seemed like she was on a sugar crash or just hated being there. We've come to Old Town for decades and have wanted this place to work out better for years. We were excited to hear it was in the hands of a new owner and expected an improvement as opposed to a let down. Don't think we'll be coming back. It was a failure when Delaware North had this place, it was a failure during the last owners tenancy and it hasn't improved one whit with this new one. Three strikes, you're out Cosmo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinseggbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We weren't really looking to stay in Old Town, but instead we chose this place because of it's proximity to Public Transit as well as it's uniqueness. The Old Town transit station is definitely one of the best places to be near if you want to visit San Diego without a car, as it gives you direct access to the start of many bus routes as well as the trolley, giving you access to everywhere you'd want to go in SD, without the stress of parking. There is also a line of Taxis at the Transit area for getting back to the airport quickly.
Old Town is also very cute and the rooms were pretty interesting and I actually appreciate that the room didn't have a TV. Staff was very friendly and accommodating and breakfast was a nice start. Don't expect a normal hotel, this place is more of an experience, great for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: I would choose a courtyard facing room, they get sun on the patio in the morning and the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,128 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2660 Calhoun St, San Diego, CA 92110-2705
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy being around luxurious vintage ambiance, then Old Town San Diego’s Cosmopolitan Hotel & Restaurant, the oldest surviving building in San Diego, is the place where you want to go. Visit us and we will take you back in time with our Victorian style bedrooms and baths, dining and bar, and lounges. Stroll along the hotel’s second-floor veranda or sit by your room’s window to gaze upon the activity in the State Historic Park or the outdoor courtyard. Each hotel room has a private bath and has been elegantly appointed with fine furnishings from the 1870s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing