We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Eat”
Review of Nick's at the Pier - CLOSED

Nick's at the Pier
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Abbott
Transit: The bus stop is one block away on Newport Ave.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Excellent restaurant. If you are in Ocean Beach this is the place to go. The menu was a surprise, and the food excellent. We actually went there twice during our trip and the menu changed overnight. However, the quality did not. Great place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rcyoung10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great California Omelette and Friendly Waitstaff”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The California omelette topped with fresh, sweet avocado was awesome, and the waitstaff (Samantha) was super friendly and attentive. It was really nice to people/surfer/dog watch while enjoying a great meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, not so great in evenings”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I ate at Nick's three times in one week. Twice for lunch, one time for dinner, all in the lounge.
The lunches I had were pretty good, and the place was very, very quiet. But when I went back for dinner, Nick's had transformed into a fairly loud sports bar with sub-par service.

Nick's has quite a few decent beers on tap, and some weekday specials for lunch that you might want to take advantage of.

As for the vaunted ocean view: I am 6' tall, and I sure wasn't getting a decent one from the lounge booths. Might be better from the bar stools or from the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eat a hardy meal and watch the surfers”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

If you just landed and need some decompression time, San Diego has a great spot for you. Nick's at the Pier lets you cheaply get your fill from a local burger, a local beer and a view of the Pacific Ocean California style.

Enjoy California ocean fish or a "happy cow" burger watching surfers rock the waves from the TV laiden bar overlooking the state's longest public pier. Take a breath as you watch your team play on any of the dozen or so sports channels.

Nick's at the Pier is only an introduction to the many beer pubs or California style eaterys but it will not disappoint as you plan the rest of your San Diego stay.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for ocean views of surfers and the pier”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

and also for people and dog watching. From the second floor restaurant, one can experience all this while dining or drinking. Food is good: I had the Chipotle Caesar with tortilla chip strips and parmessan: it was spicey and delicious, and my request for more dressing and parmesan was quickly and graciously met. Prices were reasonable, especially for the prime location, and staff was friendly and efficient. We were there for lunch but I think it would also be lovely at night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joiemacadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's at the Pier also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing