We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandwich...Ever”
Review of The Rubicon Deli

The Rubicon Deli
Ranked #340 of 4,765 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-rubicon-deli-san-diego
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-rubicon-deli-san-diego
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Best Sandwich...Ever”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I used to live in San Diego and after discovering Rubicon, I ate there once a week. Now I live back east, and the first thing I do when I visit San Diego is head right to Rubicon. I've had all kinds of sandwiches and subs from all over, and none beat "The Stallion" on the garlic/herb bread. Between the fresh ingredients and freshly baked bread - which are small loaves of bread really, you can't go wrong.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

an organic... all natural food. I loved their sandwiches, and their choice of breads. Love the simplicity of the place, but the accuracy of every details, choosing the kind of flours for their sandwiches, to the cheese variety, the use of peppers, and so many veggies! A real feast for nutrition fanatics like me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mafyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere and unique food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from a long bike ride around the bay and we were starving! The sandwiches were huge (we ordered halves) and were plenty big. They had interesting toppings that appealed to me because it wasn't norm. I would recommend this place but it is rather spendy. For a half meat sandwich it's about 7. I ordered a combo and got half sandwich and a bowl of acai sorbet with fruit and granola that was excellent. The cookies were also very good. Go! You won't regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome staff and good food!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The sandwich was delicious and the cookie was unbelievable!!!!! Would definitely go again!! And i cant think of anything else to fill up 100 characters!!

Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich Place!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We go here all the time. Big sandwiches enough to share. Different kind of sandwich place and they make their own bread daily. The Whale's Veg is my fav and my husband loves the Stallion all meat sub.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 64Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rubicon Deli also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to The Rubicon Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing