We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great campground if you can get it”

South Carlsbad State Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Scenic Carlsbad Bike Tour with Lunch
Ranked #99 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RV campgrounds and uncrowded beaches are what you will find along this popular recreation area in San Diego.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great campground if you can get it”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great night camping practically on the beach. The sites are up near the road and ours was looking out over the ocean. The restrooms were nearby and plentiful. The access to the beach was close by and our kids love waking up and strolling the beach looking for shells. The people (rangers, shop workers, etc) were wonderfully helpful. Was able to see a pod of either dolphins or porpoise in the morning while having breakfast. Awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommaof5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“beach wheelchair”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I went to Carlsbad State Beach because they have a beach wheelchair. To get the chair, you go to the main entrance, give them your driver's license which they photocopy, sign a release, and then they give you a code for the locker that is actually at South Ponto beach. You drive down to South Ponto beach, park in the day use lot (make sure you get a parking pass when you get the locker code so you don't have to pay). Then you send your friend to the big blue locker that you can see the from wheelchair parking spaces, and using the code, your friend gets the chair for you. You can then either leave your own wheelchair locked in your vehicle or in the locker. The beach was very nice, we went south for awhile watching the surfers. We were told that when we were done to simply lock up the beach wheelchair and go, but I recommend either calling the gate (760) 438-3143 or driving back up there to tell them you're done.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best spots for viewing stunning sunsets”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Majestic views and very clean beaches. Great dining options and plenty of free parking all around here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fadi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surf here!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent surfing here, wonderfully nice people throughout the Carlsbad area.the shops and restaurants are awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyWalrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Camping on the bluffs was extra nice”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We took the kids camping at S. Carlsbad State Beach campground on a beautiful, hot March weekend. Our spot was huge and on the bluffs over-looking the ocean. It was the perfect spot. We were just a few spots away from the stairs to the beach (very convenient) and near the bathrooms. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the dirty bathroom with no toilet paper and the confusion we had over shower tokens. The shower tokens were minor but the bathrooms got pretty messy (the campground was full) and quickly ran out of toilet paper. Fortunately, we always have extra tp with us (3 kids and all). We loved it and can't wait to go back in June.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Carlsbad State Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Carlsbad State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing