We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camp right above the beach! ”

South Carlsbad State Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Scenic Carlsbad Bike Tour with Lunch
Ranked #98 of 430 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RV campgrounds and uncrowded beaches are what you will find along this popular recreation area in San Diego.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Camp right above the beach! ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

First time staying here, not disappointed! View is to die for! We went to sleep with the soothing sound of the ocean waves and ate dinner with the ocean views with dolphins and even saw a whale! So awesome will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank sanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Camp right above the beach!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time camping here! We usually camp where we have to load up and drive to the beach this was soooo much nicer my son went out surfing first thing and I could watch him from our site! We saw dolphins and even a whale while eating dinner the view was unreal and so calming to sleep listening to the waves! Will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, family friendly beach”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went on the 4th of July weekend so parking was sparse and we paid $15 to park in a prime location with immediate beach access, bathrooms and showers near by. We spent a good portion of the day swimming, playing in the sand and trying to catch some waves. The beach was not too crowded considering it was a holiday weekend, however towards the afternoon it became more crowded and we decided to leave when a group of oblivious young adults decided it would be a good idea to cast fishing lines into the water where children were swimming and people were surfing. It would have been nice if the lifeguards would have directed those folks elsewhere, but other than that I would recommend this beach to anyone with or without kids traveling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great campground if you can get it”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great night camping practically on the beach. The sites are up near the road and ours was looking out over the ocean. The restrooms were nearby and plentiful. The access to the beach was close by and our kids love waking up and strolling the beach looking for shells. The people (rangers, shop workers, etc) were wonderfully helpful. Was able to see a pod of either dolphins or porpoise in the morning while having breakfast. Awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommaof5kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“beach wheelchair”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I went to Carlsbad State Beach because they have a beach wheelchair. To get the chair, you go to the main entrance, give them your driver's license which they photocopy, sign a release, and then they give you a code for the locker that is actually at South Ponto beach. You drive down to South Ponto beach, park in the day use lot (make sure you get a parking pass when you get the locker code so you don't have to pay). Then you send your friend to the big blue locker that you can see the from wheelchair parking spaces, and using the code, your friend gets the chair for you. You can then either leave your own wheelchair locked in your vehicle or in the locker. The beach was very nice, we went south for awhile watching the surfers. We were told that when we were done to simply lock up the beach wheelchair and go, but I recommend either calling the gate (760) 438-3143 or driving back up there to tell them you're done.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Carlsbad State Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Carlsbad State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing