We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited in where you can go but still beautiful”

Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Limited in where you can go but still beautiful”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great trek to the cliffs over the beach or right down to the beach itself. You can almost always see dolphins here. Must see in my book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krayz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,122
    541
    88
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hike!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We parked in the beach lot, and took the north fork trail, broken hill trail, beach trail, razor trail, back to the beach lot. 4.53 gorgeous miles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
247 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The beach is miles long, fairly wide with soft sand. Easy to access for handicapped and others. Parking is difficult, even the steep parking prices with entry to the state park beach so come early or after 3pm. If the beach isn't your thing, there's plenty of hiking trials, near by wetlands, a small museum at the top of the hill, rare Torrey pine tree themselves. The views are choice!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you like to hike...must do!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We did the various hikes outlined to us by the friendly park ranger volunteer located within the visitor's center...we paid $12 to get in the reserve...there's a beach there and it looked like a good place to spend the whole day at the beach...but we went for the vistas and the hikes and we were not disappointed. The hikes are easy and the trails are well marked...you can hike all the way down to the beach which we did and we let our kids take off their shoes and get their feet wet...after that we headed back up...make sure you wear comfortable shoes...sunblock and of course take water...the bathrooms were nonexistent they had port-a-potties that were smelly so do your business at the bathrooms at the bottom were you pay...maybe the bathrooms will be fixed by the time you visit! But go if you like the outdoors!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank claucrasoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pretty place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Really beautiful vistas, but we went on a Sunday, so there were LOTS of people. The trails are well maintained, but it's more like a nice walk than a serious hike. They don't allow food or drink, so no picnicing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing