We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very substandard in practically every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Ranked #155 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very substandard in practically every way”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked blindly through Hotwire. Room was warm and musty upon check-in. No chair at the desk and an oily stain on the love seat. Refrigerator was "off". No ventilation/fan in the bathroom. No way to crack open the window.

Never could connect to the Internet. Front desk had me call tech support and after a half hour on the phone still not working. Went to front desk and asked for my money back and was told no can do. I asked if they had a sister hotel and they do 10 miles north. Would not allow me to switch - and this was about midnight.

The young man at the desk was good and polite but seemed very unexperienced and did bot have the autonomy to make things right.

Will contact the Management company to file an official complaint.

Property looks very nice from the outside but there is alot of wear and tear in the room. Very cheap fixtures. TV was very limited.

Had to use business center for work on the computer and it was freezing cold.

Breakfast was standard buffet with nice help.

All in all a pretty lousy experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 105 ---- musty and stinky...as are the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808alldaykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear 808alldaykb,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    57
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
21
10
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

First impressions were great. Staff support, responsiveness at check in was flawless. Bar staff very good too. Rather limited on the wines and beers but certainly acceptable for a hotel in this location all in all. We did however make the point to stop and find something far closer to our preferences during our stay.

The hotel was undergoing some updates which would be a part of my downgrade so once those are done, much will be new again. However it doesn't appear the place is getting a complete makeover which would leave it in a bit of a mix. Carpets for example need replacement but at the visit didn't appear to be on the list of things to do. As a small group we compared notes and found that a few of us had rooms with a faint mildew smell from the AC unit. We were going to ask to move to different rooms but decided against due to the hassle factor of it. The other question we couldn't answer which stopped us was as there is a rennovation going on, will the other rooms be actually as bad with the mildew or maybe worse. If so, there's no gain.

Breakfast was a good traditional american-style affair except the waffle iron we observed didn't seem to work quite right - watched several people struggle with it undercooking and thus ruining the waffle. This left the staff to have to clean it off again. The breakfast while good was not much varied on different days.

The workout room had the basics but not much more. No stationary bike either so if you don't like treadmills, you are out of luck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank better_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear better_beer,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I had stayed in a HIE the night before and it was horrible so I wasn't looking forward to my stay for this night but was quite suprised and it is the first Holiday Inn property ever to impress me. Most are worn, outdated, and don't come close to the Hilton Brand Properties that I prefer.

This once was much, much different. The lady at the front desk was friendly and very welcoming which was a great start. I was surprised to find my room to be fairly modern, looking fairly recently updated with easy access to power outlets for my devices, a very comfortable bed, an AC unit that worked and didn't make ridiculous noise all night as it seems most hotel AC unit have two settings...either they just barely work or it's like sleeping with a jet engine on. Not this one, nice temperature control and not noisy at all.

It had been a long day and I was reluctant to try to eat at the lobby bar and restaurant but I was surprised yet again...$1.00 Domestic Beers and $2.00 for beers like Fat Tire...that's unheard of almost anywhere, especially a hotel. Service was great, beer was ice cold, and the food was not bad at all. I had three beers, a salad, and a sandwich and the total was less than $17.00! Cannot find that anywhere.

I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCTVTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel conveniently located near I-15, but you didn't hear the freeway sound in the room. The breakfast was included and it was a wonderful buffet with scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, pancakes, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, waffle maker, juice etc. The hostess in the dining room was very helpful.
We stayed in a handicap accessible room with a roll in shower. It was the nicest accessible bathroom we've had. The room was a little tight for the wheel chair, but it worked.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful. We'll stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The most accommodating staff I have ever met!!! I have stayed here numerous times and the staff is amazing. These guys deserve some credit. Great job Jason and everyone else.
Hotel is quiet, bartenders are great, breakfast team is great.

If you are staying in the area be confident in this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed overnight with friends to hang out and party a bit. Beds were nice, comforter & pillows comfy. Room clean, enough towels. Only one tiny bottle each of shampoo/conditioner/lotion for two people. Pool was large enough & heated. Hot tub was nice. All in all a pleasant enough stay. Only issue I had was actually with the booking site hotels.co which had an error & stated it didn't book my stay. Called customer service to verify, was told no reservation made, nothing charged. So I called directly to hotel to reserve due to the site outage & the fact that it was last minute (booked same day as stay). Of course showed up & had 2 rooms booked. Manager there was very nice & understanding. Didn't add to the stress of the situation. Cancelled the hotel reservation. Might be looking @ a cancellation fee though. Manager said he would do his best to talk to auditor & get it cancelled. Called back to customer service, 2nd rep was unapologetic & a tad rude. Not a shred of sympathy, apologies or future discounts offered even though their site was at fault. Boo on ya hotels.co! First time I have an issue with the site.
:(

Free WiFi, Parking, water & breakfast included. Right next to 15 freeway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griselda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This is one of the best hotels in San Diego. Room was cozy and pretty big, beds and pillow choices were great, it's centrally located with easy access to freeways, didn't get any road noise inside the room though. What I really admire about this hotel is they don't charge for things like internet, parking etc, even breakfast was free and it was not the usual fare, it was a true 'premium' breakfast buffet. They kept a couple of complimentary water bottles in the room, small gestures but they go a long way in showing they care about their customers. The one issue that I faced was that the toilet bowl seemed broken in that it was wobbling around a bit, other than that everything else was perfect and I would certainly return to this hotel when I get a chance again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#189 of 279 in San Diego
144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#186 of 279 in San Diego
107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
0.1 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Address: 9335 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Torchbearer Award for Service Excellence and the 2008 Quality Award, the Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar offers excellent accommodations and an attentive staff.We make traveling for business easy & convenient w/shuttle service to & from the airport (for a nominal fuel surcharge) and complimentary shuttle to companies w/in 5 miles.With complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, you can easily get your work done or check in with the family. Didn t bring your laptop? Our business center offers all your computer needs. Located in the heart of the Miramar, Mira Mesa, Kearny Mesa, & Scripps/Poway areas, we re close to many companies and organizations including MCAS Miramar, Alliant University, San Diego Sol, Northrop Grumman, MedImpact, Mitchell, Koch, Qualcomm, CACI, Caterpillar, CSC, EDS, GE, Hitachi, & Intuit.Our flexible event space will accommodate 10-150 attendees. Join us in the lounge Mon-Thurs for happy-hour from 5-7 PM.Our 155 well-appointed guestrooms feature two phone lines with data-ports, speakerphones, high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator, microwave, & coffee maker. The hotel also offers an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness room. Laundry facility available on property. Join us at our new restaurant Spiral Cafe & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing