We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Oh my gosh....GREAT hotel! Right on base.

-Beautiful lobby
-Handy store/gift shop in lobby
-Friendly front desk staff
-Great clean, fresh, modern rooms (and huge!) with kitchens
-Private balcony
-Private beach RIGHT THERE
-Ocean views
-Great grounds
-Fun pool and playground areas for kids
-Great BBQ areas

GREAT Value! Absolutely CANNOT wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coquicola412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    41
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
112
49
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I and our daughter stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was beautiful and very clean. Only think we didn't really like was the breakfast..just a plain continental breakfast. Not really something to complain about but I just wished there was more. The hotel is right on the beach with a childrens play area and a regular outdoor pool. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamg8951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a great place to stay with a private beach, 24hr NEX in the hotel as well as continental breakfast in the mornings. They have rooms ranging from $85-120 the will hold up to 9 guest in their largest room. These large rooms also come with kitchenetts. The private beach with beautiful views make you stay so great. There is also a very nice play ground for kids as well as a great beach. Take time to go up to their terrace and see the sun set. Enjoy our stay every time. Make reservations in advance, they book up very quickly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhudson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were lucky enough to snag a 5 night stay here in a spacious family suite with bunkbeds. We had an amazing view of the beach and pool from our which was on the 4th floor. Direct access to beach, pool and playground. Pool was freezing but my children (4 & 7) preferred the beach anyway. Our room was clean, large and had a nice sized kitchen. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable. Check in staff was friendly and prompt. If you can get it, I would highly recommend this to any family looking for spacious, family friendly accommodations. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a very nice place to stay on the beach, but no restaurant. There are some limited food and drink items in the 24-hour lobby store. Golf course next to lodge. Room types very. We reserved three two-queen-bed rooms with microwave and mini-fridge $85. Some rooms have a kitchenette with full fridge, stove, microwave. Some have showers only and some with bathtubs. They also have family bungalows at $125. There is a laundry on each floor (need quarters). We invited guests, so I provided Pass/ID with guest list, but policy did not say it was required. Had to escort non-military through the gate to the Lodge and back. Upon entering the base, I told the officer at gate we were escorting the vehicle behind us and they waved them in. However, we had one evening where the gate officer asked if the vehicle being escorted had a pass. I said we were not provided with a pass and the policy letter did not mention a pass, but the officer checked the guest list and my guest was on it. So does your guest need a pass or not to drive on the base? Nobody knows. It's a typical situation where the right hand does not know what the left had is doing. So much for having a policy letter. Waiting to check-in and check-out can be slow at times. The front-desk staff answer telephones while they attempt to service you. It's very annoying after you've waited 30 minutes in line and the front-desk staff ask if they can help you and as as you approach the counter, they answer the telephone to help someone else, so you stand there again waiting to be helped. Non-military guests can purchase items in the 24-hour mini-store in the lobby, but you need a military ID to purchase alcohol and tobacco and prices are reasonable. The pool needs to be heated. The ocean was warmer. However, don't let these little annoyances bother you. This is a very nice family place to stay on the beach and at a great price. Go Navy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom33861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Location is secluded, but not boring. There is a small gift shop open 24 hrs in the lobby with nearly everything you could need. THIS IS A MILITARY HOTEL so while non-military can stay, as guests, they can't buy anything and they may have difficulty getting on and off base. The check in procedure is...poor. We stayed a week and every single day there was a (long) line of people trying to get into their rooms. I saw people sleeping in the lobby and others having picnics because it was taking so long. Still, once you get into your room, it's very nice. Of course, it's an AVIATION base, so be prepared for some noise. Our rooms were very comfortable, but any time you need anything you have to go through that same line at the front desk--that's for a towel, a broom, a map--anything. They loan out boogie boards, which is cool, but there often weren't any left--and you only found that out AFTER you'd waited in that horrible line. We just bought some. Better than waiting and waiting and waiting. The breakfast is sufficient and even includes boiled eggs, but they are serious to a fault about the start time. Though they had all j0Pthe food set out early, I saw them deny a guy an egg because it was 6:12 and they didn't open till 6:30. The guy was deploying. I thought "What difference does it make to you if someone takes something early?" But it made a difference to the staff, I guess. I guess the customer (and service-member) aren't always right here! The beach is windy most of the time, but it's very safe and wonderful for kids. The pool is NOT heated and closes at 6 pm. People should know that in case they are looking forward to the pool at the end of a long drive (as we were). Wi-fi is available and terrific. I really recommend this place--you just need to know about the quirks.

Room Tip: If you choose odd numbered rooms you get a better view. If you book a room on the 1st floor you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2_NM_Natives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford,Ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Pros: Great location, good price, good breakfast. Rooms are large and very comfortable beds.
Pool is very nice and children have nice area as well.

Cons: Housekeeping is very spotty. We stayed for three weeks and had to ask every few days to have sheets changed and tub was seldom cleaned. Our balcony was never cleaned or swept. I stepped on a glass shard on the balcony within the first hour we were there and had to have it removed. Parking lot is used by non guests for beach going and there is no compliance with parking rules so guests have to park elsewhere at times.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fgmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Cherokee Lodge
#1 of 3 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Property: Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing