We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful view, clean and free breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Certificate of Excellence
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, clean and free breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The beachside location was perfect, beautiful and our room was very clean. Another perk was the complimentary continental breakfast. There is a small shop with a variety of fresh and frozen foods, snacks and toiletries, right outside is a park and pool. Management was very nice and accommodating.
The only con is the shower, the water pressure is low, and it's hard to bathe a toddler/child with no bath option.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TresFess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    40
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
100
45
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

When I booked our room through the Navy Inn website, I thought I was booking for this beautiful hotel. Instead we ended up in old dorm style rooms in the 1500 series buildings. There are two different Navy lodgings on North Island. If your reservation says to check in at building 1500, do not expect to be in this hotel. Make sure you are staying at Navy Lodge, not Navy Gateway Inn.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank larao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
271 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed here before and had such a good experience that we wanted to return. Stayed 5 days, rooms and entire hotel including grounds were exceptionally clean for a beach hotel. Maid service was slow each day and it was usually after 3pm before our room was serviced. Suspect that staffing is tight and that may be the problem as she was very efficient, through and pleasant as were there one day when she came. Beach is still fantastic and very clean! You are right on the ocean at the entrance to San Diego Harbor. Carpet in halls is showing some minor wear, but we had zero issues in our room. Staff, without exception, were wonderful! Kudo's to all of them! It is quiet, all rooms have balconies. Shower head is so high that I don't have to stoop to get under it. No sand in our room at all! One of the nicer Navy Lodges. The only disappointment was the Continental breakfast. It is very basic and offerings are minimal! Waffles or Oatmeal, only one is available each day. Hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, bagels, only orange juice, coffee and that's about it. Great value and location for military family's and individuals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davenmanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The pros: Beautiful, clean, huge kitchen area in the suites, and the staff were attentive & pleasant. The one problem we had, a cable disconnected from the wall, was handled promptly and efficiently. During our stay (Thanksgiving weekend), there were NO noise issues. The expansive, clean beach (remember what a clean beach looks like?) is just steps away, and the kids' playground is up-to-date & safe. As a bonus, both rooms have floor-to-ceiling EXCELLENT light-blocking drapes, for those who want to sleep late: would like our timeshare to take note!

The cons: Just a pet peeve, the "rainfall" style shower head (which many hotels & resorts have switched to in the past several years). Though mounted high (approx. 7 ft), presumably to allow time for the water to build up falling speed & create the illusion of water pressure, it still makes for a long & frustrating shower, as a lack of water pressure makes rinsing (especially hair) unnecessarily time-consuming. Dunno whose idea these "rainfall" shower heads were, but they DON'T save water. I was sorry to see such an excellent hotel fell for the sales pitch on these things, and I hope they switch them out soon for user-controlled spray patterns and higher water pressure so I can give them 5 stars next time.

For those with kids or guests (though this did not apply to us), having all the beds in the same room could be considered a drawback. As we did not reserve the room, I don't know if some suites come with the extra beds in separate rooms.

Room Tip: Book early to get a beach-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This place is amazing! This is the hotel we always stay in when visiting SD. The hotel is beautiful and located RIGHT ON Breakers Beach! The hotel is quiet and the prices are awesome. The free breakfast does leave something to be desired. It's mostly just cereal, boiled eggs, yogurt, beverages and some pastries but other than that, I have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragoncharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated and located right on the beach, this has to be one of the best Navy Lodges in the system. We stayed a week in the new building on the third floor with an incredible view of the beach, we couldn't ask for anything better for the price. The room was ample, the bed was comfortable and the maid service was good. My only complaint about the room was the shower. It needs a better shower head and you needed to be a giant to adjust it as it was 7 foot off the ground. Other than that, I have no complaints. The free breakfast ever morning and the price is a big, big plus.

I will definitely be returning..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelinggolfer757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the North Island Navy Lodge. The room was spacious, clean, and was complete with a nice patio. The front desk staff was very courteous and the room price was very reasonable for what I consider "first class accommodation". Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy the beach. The complementary breakfast was more than adequate and in typical Navy fashion, there was no shortage of coffee. The drive to downtown San Diego for entertainment was easy. I definitely plan to stay there on any future visits.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suppo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.7 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Property: Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing