We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night over a holiday weekend. Originally the lodge was booked up, but we were able to get on a wait list and luckily got a room a couple weeks before our trip. You can't beat the price - we paid $75 a night for a suite that overlooked the ocean. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. The free breakfast (oatmeal, bagels, yogurt, cereal) was more than adequate, especially for the price paid. If you are eligible to stay at the Navy Lodge, then this is THE place to stay on Coronado. Great location, beautiful beach at a price you won't be able to find anywhere else! I can't wait to get back to San Diego so I can stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chrissi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in a family suite and it was great! We loved the room and our view (pool and ocean)! The only complaint/suggestions the pool closes too early (5pm)! and the breakfast is not all that great(very little selection). We had a kitchen so we could easily fix the food, but the pool not so much.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CrazyWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Coronado, on the beach, under $100/night. That alone speaks volumes, but it does not do the property justice.
Beautiful property, clean rooms with microwave and fridge, nice pool area, rooftop terrace, and a beach right outside the door. This place is amazing.
The only downside is the constant air traffic noise, Sea Hawk Helicopters fly directly over the property pretty much all the time, and there are occasional cargo jets and fighter jets. This is only a minor inconvenience that in no way takes away from the incredible value of this location, in fact my family actually found the various aircraft exciting and we got lots of photos.
We will absolutely stay here again whenever we get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Best price in San Diego for what you get. Awesome location on the beach. Roof top terrace provides panoramic views.

Horrible check in. We had to sign in and wait for an hour. 5 clerks were working the desk. We booked online, yet each check in took 10-15 min. Their software most not be as updated as the building. The pool closes at 5 pm. The day we got there it was over 90 degrees at 5 pm. It would have been nice to jump in and cool off. For the $$$ we saved the slow check in was worth it, but it was frustrating to see such an inefficient operation. I'm not sure what was wrong but perhaps installing a "number" system like the DMV or a barber shop would at least give you a little hope.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 641josephc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting San Diego. It is very close to downtown and all the attractions. Coronado Island is beautiful and we loved it. The hotel is gorgeous. It is very clean and everyone there was so nice. Our room was on the first floor and we stepped out onto the beach. The pool was very nice and there was a playground if you have children. The roof patio or deck was beautiful, also. It has comfortable seating and tables and chairs for eating, We didn't eat breakfast offered, as it was always very crowded. Our room had a kitchen so we could have breakfast foods available. The manager's reception was nice, with fruit drinks, coffee, and nice pastries. We would go back here anytime. The front desk was helpful and the cleaning people did a great job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the beach cottages with our extended family (8 adults, 5 small children). We had adjoining units right on the beach. The cottages were very modern and updated and had plenty of space. Breakfast was included at the Navy Lodge which was right next door. The kids loved being able to wake up and walk right outside to play in the sand. Washer and dryer in each unit was nice. Parking was available just yards from the front door. There was a playground for kids outside the Navy Lodge and there were fire rings on the beach. Nothing between the cottages and the ocean but it was a bit of a walk to get to the water. We loved watching the ships and helicopters and they didn't wake us at night. The cottages were perfect for us and we would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottages closest to the Navy Lodge which was very convenient when going over for br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our third time staying at the Navy Lodge. It's GREAT...The staff are friendly, pleasant and accommodating. It has a very family friendly atmosphere. The location is absolutely beautiful with a great view of point Loma and Hotel Del. it's like having your own private beach. It's a great place to stay and a heckuva bang for your buck. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the top floor facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evanesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 279 in San Diego
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 279 in San Diego
1,934 reviews
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#50 of 279 in San Diego
1,414 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station

Address: Naval Air Staton North Island Bldg. 1401-A, San Diego, CA 92135-5220
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: £64 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Navy Lodge is located in Coronado, Califonia on one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge North Island Naval Air Station Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing