We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful oasis, top notch service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis, top notch service”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting. Great place for a meeting. It's a little ways off the beaten path so not sure I'd stay here on leisure, but you'd love it if you're just looking for a peaceful getaway or golf. It's not far to San Diego or beaches, just not right next door. Staff was outstanding, everyone knows your name & uses it, very well informed & friendly. Restaurants are very nice & a decent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    376
    152
    87
    65
See reviews for
399
534
57
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Reading this review, please keep in mind I'm rating this place relative to the cost and the image they try to portray on their website. A bit of modesty could help this place have a reality check.

This place was probably nice when it opened, but it just looks tired and dated now. The website, advertising and photography portray a false image of this property as a high end luxury resort.

For the price (even though I booked on points) and cost of their restaurant, this place just doesn't cut it.

I stay in all types of places in and outside of the US for business so I'm really not that picky and try not to rate a place based on age, especially if certain items are updated and they keep the property clean. However I found that this place was just worn down.

The landscaping is abundant, but it was a bit unkempt, and it really showed in the pool area. There was debris, leaves, dead bugs, etc. all in the pool and hot tub. Keep in mind they charge most guests a "resort fee" to use these services. For a place that is supposed to be high end, they are slacking on keeping the place tidy.

I would also appreciate knowing there was a conference going on here during our stay, and furthermore being advised by the front desk. They told me about the Veranda Restaurant which we could eat at, yet they failed to tell me that a conference had a private party on the patio, so my wife and I had to eat inside when we were looking forward to relaxing on your patio by the fireplace which you so proudly display in photos on your website. Instead we come to California and have to eat dinner inside. We came here to stay in a nice place, not feel like outsiders that are relegated to certain parts of the hotel. Forewarning of amenities not available would be a good idea up front. Its the ethical thing to do. We also would have left for dinner. Good thing we only stayed one night.

In regards to Veranda, the food was "OK". It wasn't special and thus again was overpriced. For dinner for 150 bucks I could go to an abundant number of restaurants that would make this place look like Chili's. Everything was just average. Breakfast was just blah, and again overpriced. Seriously not joking, Bob Evans breakfast is just as good.. This is a common theme unfortunately with places like this, they are so pretentious that they overcharge for everything under the guise of "luxury" and hope you won't notice just how average everything is. Go have breakfast at La Valencia in La Jolla if you want to see what an expensive breakfast should taste like. They even wanted 5 bucks for half of a grapefruit. Are you kidding me? So you are charging 10 dollars for a piece of fruit? Was this grown by magic fairies in never never land?

Upon checkout the front desk was clueless on my preferred hotels points booking and tried to charge me for the stay as well as the resort fee which I was told were both covered upon my check-in. She then had to call about the rate, then tried to charge again for the resort fee, I then had to explain again that it was included per the check-in person. She took care of them but was completely zoned out and unapologetic about it.

NOW THE WORST PART!

Awful spring laden mattress that looks like its 10 years old and sleeps like a homeless shelter. My wife and I both woke up with sore backs. It bounces like a trampoline. The pillows were also terrible. Stiff and hard. Then, to make matters worse, you have some type of pad under the bottom sheet but its only queen sized?? so it doesn't fit, bunches up and you can feel it around your feet. Then you put a top sheet over the mattress that isn't even tucked in? Seriouisly the mattrress was exposed!! You don't even have a fitted sheet or a washable matress pad? Disgusting.. You can't have a quality resort and try to pretend its a relaxing place with beds this crappy. I just couldn't believe it. All we could do is laugh because it was so bad. And I travel about 33% of the year for business. I'm really not that picky normally, but this is supposed to be a high end place. I've stayed in Comfort Inn's with better beds than this. Hampton Inn's have more consistent bedding, perhaps your management team should stay in a Hampton to learn a bit about a decent bed, and Hampton isn't even close to luxury. At the least it would be an upgrade. Looking at other reviews, I'm not the first to mention it.

For this alone I give this place 1 Star and would never go back. If you have to make a list of the top five things essential to a relaxing hotel, you have to include a nice bed. Guests should wake up feeling refreshed and revived, not with aching backs. My wife and I were even joking that they probably have bad beds to drive more business to the Spa for a massage! If the beds were decent I would have gave it three stars.

Would never return or recommend to others.

Room Tip: who knows, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabaBooeyStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest, I am also disappointed to hear about the lack of service and information you encountered during your stay at the Rancho Bernardo Inn.

I will be personally reviewing these items with our department managers to ensure proper training and follow-up is addressed, as this is not up to our standards.

Thank you for taking the time to share these details. We would love to have another opportunity to have you as our guest and experience our services and amenities that we are noted for.
Please contact me at 858-605-2660 or jgates@jcresorts.com.

Sincerely,
John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We went here for a meeting that lasted three days. I travel a lot and am spoiled by nice clean rooms. This place stunk of oldness, dust and mold. We would not wait to leave. The beds were very comfy. Too far away from everything! It is very pretty but we will never go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Ms. Sherry, we are apologize that your guest room was not to your liking. We would be happy to talk to you about your stay from last year; please contact Maureen Carew, Assistant General Manager. She can be reached at 858-605-2663.

Thank you.
Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just retuned from a business - vacation trip to the San Diego area. This resort had beautiful grounds and golf course. The staff were very friendly and professonal. The negatives would be...the location, it was 15 - 20 miles to downtown and the harbor. The rooms were nice but PRICY. Over all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Always first class service all around from banquets to spa, all personnel smile and great guests and are willing to help at every level. The grounds are beautifully kept and offer tranquil gardens for relaxation. Eclectic and well thought out entertainment in the Veranda restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen51477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent one night at the Rancho Bernardo Inn on a stay and play package. We were given a lovely room overlooking the golf course. The room was large and very comfortable. The room has a small refrigerator .There was a cheese plate and small bottle of wine awaiting our arrival.

The bellman stored our golf clubs and they were ready for us for an early morning tee time. My husband and I were able to play on our own and got around the course in 4 hours and 15 minutes. We were never pushed nor were we held up on any hole. The course is interesting and in fabulous shape.

We liked the bar and the barman was very friendly. Our only disappointment in our stay was the Veranda Restaurant. We found the menu uninteresting. The minimum price for a bottle of wine is $45 and from there it jumped to $65. A bit steep for a casual restaurant.

I would definitely stay here again for a quick get-a-way. It's a bit isloted to stay more than a couple of days but is very relaxing and well maintained. I would definitely recommend it to couiples who like to golf (although I did not see any other women on the golf course) as a relaxing, romantic outing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawnee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A total surprise. Our daughter is going through a difficult time and lives here. Dad and I are always entertained by her and it was our turn to surprise and take care of her. We live in Kansas and googled and found this wonderful off the beaten path place. I will recommend to all. Steve what a guy. The idea of a wine tour with limo. yay!!!!!! We had one of the best times of our lives. Forever a memory and one we will repeat in person. Thanks to all. STEVE!!!!!

Room Tip: no view is not bad. very quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing