We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the end of a Residential Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“At the end of a Residential Street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My Ratings (out of 5):
Resort: 3.5-4 Stars
Room: 3.5 Stars
Pool: 3 Stars
Golf Course: 5 Stars
Quality of Service: 4 Stars
Friendliness of Employees: 4 Stars
Location of the Resort: 2 Stars

Rancho Bernardo Inn is just over a mile from the 15 freeway. It has a huge golf course on the property as well. The hotel is in a bit of an odd location though, as you exit the freeway you drive through a residential neighborhood (Bernardo oaks Drive) and the Inn is located at the end of the drive. Kind of an odd place to be at. Its quite hidden but looks like a lot of people know about this little hidden gem. The floor plan is divided into sections with names such as Fountains, Gardens, and others. I cant really remember the names. We stayed at the Gardens. Our room was clean and big. It was on the ground floor, Room 214. We had double beds. Because of the remoteness of the Inn, its pretty quiet and a nice place to relax. Unfortunately we had kids, so time to relax for us. We hit the pool as soon as we got there. There are 2 pools. The pools are “Bernardo” for Adults and “Santiago” for Families. The family pool was fun. Had a few families there with kids enjoying the pool. Oh by the way, when you check in you will get 2 complementary drink cards, bring them over to the pool and get some drinks. The pool has towels so don’t bring your own. The grounds are properly maintained and clean. The service was good too.

The only negative about this place is that there is nothing within walking distance from the Inn. Like I said, it’s a residential neighborhood. Unless you plan on just hanging out at the resort, the pool and playing golf, really nothing else going on around here. You will have to drive to get a bite to eat. The closest decent restaurant is the Elephant Bar off the 15 freeway.
Hint: Get a map of the property when you check in. There are two parking lots on the property, the main one and one to the back of the property by the “Fountains”. Overall I would rate this as a 3.5-4 stars Inn. Yes it’s a Golf and Spa Resort, but I’ve seen better. My rating is based mainly on the location of the inn and things to do around the property.
Enjoy my pictures.

Room Tip: Try getting a room away from the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aero E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    372
    151
    86
    64
See reviews for
393
531
55
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed at the Rancho Bernardo in for a conference in March. My room was clean and beautiful, as were the grounds of the hotel. I was unable to stay at the RBI for the entirety of the conference because they overbooked the hotel. I was on the wait list for a month prior to my trip and was continuously told to check back to see if I moved up the list. Even though I threw a large, private event for 60 people in one of the ballrooms, the hotel could not care less that I had to switch hotels in the middle of the night from the RBI to a nearby hotel after I spent all day at the conference and hosted my private event (both at the RBI). No one was willing to help me, not even the event staff at the hotel.

During my stay, I went to the Veranda restaurant at the Rancho Bernardo Inn for dinner. The restaurant and hostess staff was very unorganized. I decided I didn't want to sit at the restaurant and eat, so I requested to place a to go order. I was then escorted by the hostess to the bar, where they said I could place a to-go order (which the hostess said I could do). However, the bartender informed me that they do not provide to-go orders of the restaurant menu. I was very frustrated because my colleagues had ordered to go food the night before from the restaurant. I do not know why they were served to go food and not me, but I was incredibly disappointed by the lack of consistency.

On another occasion, I went to the Veranda restaurant for lunch. I had a reservation for outside, but after waiting 15 minutes after my reservation time to be sat by the hostess, she informed me that she only had a table inside for me. Once seated, I waited an additional 15 minutes to be GREETED by a server. When I said something about the wait, the server just brushed me off. He only took my order and then disappeared for the entirety of the meal. I had to give my credit card to another server to run my check. It was incredibly rude and unprofessional.

For my event in one of the ballrooms, I received no help the day of from the event coordinator. It was only when I called her voicemail was I informed that she was not in the office that day. I was not told when I could set up for the event. When I arrived an hour early, there was a head waitress to help me during the event. She did a great job of helping with the last minute details the coordinator was not able to help me with. The food was only okay. I thought the meals served during the conference were better than the dinner we were served. The wait staff was very professional and rapidly responded to unexpected dietary restrictions.

Overall, the lack of professional customer service I received outshined my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingPalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
TravelingPalina,

I appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness/condition of your room, the grounds and head waitress who assisted with your event. Please accept my apologies for the customer service challenges you experienced during your stay. Due to the fact these are not typical concerns I hear from guests, can you please contact me so we can discuss in detail?
You can reach me at 858-605-2663 or via email at: mcarew@jcresorts.com

I look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you.

Maureen Carew
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hils
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This tucked away retreat will be sure to make you feel like your miles from home. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and gives you the feel of old world charm. The golf course is well maintained and offers a great day of golf from beginner to expert. The spa day was the best day of our stay. The staff was friendly and professional and the treatments were outstanding! The food at The Veranda restaurant was delicious! I would highly recommend this resort for a San Diego area getaway and I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Green Building were nicely located to the lobby, golf shop and restaurant. Away from fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJAMTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The grounds are beautiful, full of flowers, tress, pants and water fountains. Our room was spacious, nice balcony, flat screen TV w/ DVD player, decor of room very relaxing, bathroom with dual sinks and spacious shower. This hotel matches deals on travelzoo, so my boyfriend booked through them instead of buying through travelzoo. We got 2 complimentary drinks per a night, free valet service and breakfast comped up to $40 or 2 buffet breakfasts. We choose to order off the menu I got the eggs Benedict which I highly recommend and instead of the potatoes I substituted for a side of mixed berries (strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and blueberries) my boyfriend got the border omelette the first day it was good no side though and second day ordered the american breakfast he also substituted for a side of fruit but went with a melon mixture instead. I love this place and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to be close to downtown San Diego (30 mins away) but not stay in the main city. Also close to La Jolla, Carlsbad and Oceanside. This hotel is a big business stop too, every day they have multiple conferences going on. Also host weddings on weekends. Don't worry even with all these other events going on still remains peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

It is not a coastal front property. It does not havethat idyllic scenic views from your guest room. Nor is it convenient to get to. But what Rancho Bernardo Inn does have is its sense of presence. It is surrounded by a park-like setting all thanks to a challenging golf course; artful aesthetics…beautiful fountains…manicured landscapes; a true getaway and a unique place for inspiration, which is what I was seeking to host a 3-day business conference.

Many have told me great things about this resort. My visit on March 22, I too discovered what others have shared, that Rancho Bernardo Inn is beautiful. It’s located at about a good 40 minute drive from the San Diego airport; however that was through uncongested traffic, 30 minutes north to the Wild Animal Park, and about 30 minutes west to the coast line. The resort sits on many acres that are easy to navigate. The facilities are not too far to get to and all with the presence of privacy even when the Inn is bustling.

Registration was extremely efficient. Every hotel staff member I met was happy to help. Most of the rooms here are called guest room category with views of a pool, resort walkways or a courtyard. I was assigned room #610 which is the next category up, an executive deluxe room -- more spacious and well-appointed featuring a patio walkout with views of the golf course’s lush fairways and a convenient walk to the Inn’s lovely spa and its outdoor pools. However, I noticed that all the rooms are in muted colors and lacked lack the details when it comes to maintaining like finding black marks on the walls and the dated bathroom fixtures.

The spa may have many treatment rooms, but the facility is smaller than other resort spas I’ve been to in the area, like their co-ed relaxation room which only has upright chairs…not much of relaxation. I found more comfort at the spas outdoor hot tub area. I did have time to get a facial and the service was delightful – no complaints on style or products used. During my stay a golf tournament was taking place, hosted by a local company. Although I am not a golfer, I can see that the participants were pleased and excited to play their round! And I like that this Inn had two large pool areas; one for adults only and the other for families.

Breakfast alfresco! My favorite! I enjoyed a yummy traditional American breakfast sitting at the patio of their Veranda Restaurant; the Inn’s main restaurant serving throughout the day. During my visit, their second restaurant Avant is being fully remodeled and scheduled to reopen this June 2013. I’ve heard great things about the restaurant from the locals and it hadn’t even opened yet!

The ambiance caters to the discerning traveler – casual yet refined, a perfect place for work and play. I will return along with my golf enthusiast who will appreciate it most!

Room Tip: The executive deluxe rooms are worth the additional difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We came for a two night stay. The food was fantastic, the hotel was beautiful and the grounds were wonderful. In addition, the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Room was very nice and well appointed. There were many cozy seating areas all throughout the grounds. And a Starbucks, YES. Can't wait to return. Loved eating out on the patio.

Joy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyW948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Hotel is very nice and we had very comfortable stay. Hotel rooms are big enough, clean with good size balcony. Location is very calm and picturesque with golf course views, fireplace outside restaurants. There are sitting places around hotel lobby for relaxing and reading books, solve puzzle and play cards. There are two swimming pools on property which we really liked it. There is also on site spa which is very nice.

Room Tip: Stay in room near swimming pool in Santiago area or book room near Gardens area for Golf course view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing