We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very relaxing resort with helpful staff. It is an is oasis of tranquility in San Diego.
The accommodation is laid out in small blocks surrounding pools and the golf course.
One can spend pleasant evenings on the veranda which is heated at night or have lunch watching the golf. Overall it is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DonCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    372
    151
    86
    64
See reviews for
393
531
55
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here recently on business, my company held a National Convention here. I wish I'd had time to enjoy the golf course and spa, but business is business. The hotel is a little far from SD, which was only a problem for after-hours outings. 45 mins each way is a little long, but if you're there to swim and golf, then that is a non-issue. The bars and restaurants were nice but naturally busy. As for my room, it was spacious and comfortable... the sheets on the bed were like sleeping on clouds! The interior lighting was very cool, the lighting under and behind the bed was a nice touch.. wifi worked great and the view from my patio was excellent (greens Bldg) as well. My only complaint is that I was consistently provided with 2 conditioners and no shampoo... annoying as I had not brought any of my own, but it was so minor I didn't bother to bring it to anyone's attention.

The hotel and facilities were quite nice and if I had time and warmer weather, I'd be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: You'll pay a little more, but the Greens building is away from the noise of the pools etc and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamtheczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Recent Guest, we appreciate your generous comments on the RBInn and hope that you can return for a longer stay to enjoy our amenities. We take pride in being a unique resort away from the downtown congestion, where you can relax.

We look forward to your return!

John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My favorite part of the Rancho Bernardo Inn is its beautiful architecture and wonderful landscaping. The different buildings have separate pools. The spa is nice, while good golf and great food - multiple restaurants and bars - add to the lovely surroundings.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ecNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I was at the hotel for a business trip so I didn't get to golf or enjoy the spa, but the grounds were lovely. My room was at the other end of the property from my conference and that was a challenging walk in heels. Lots of steep golf paths. The room was nice, with high ceilings and exposed beams. I was not a fan of the exterior entrance though. There was a large walk in shower, but no soap dishes or shelves so I had to lay my toiletries on the floor of the shower which was gross to me. Room service and housekeeping were both very pleasant and efficient, as was the front desk and bell staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. It's very peaceful and relaxing. Lovely Spa, gym and even an adult only pool. Our stays have been mid week so I don't know how it is with several events going on. Although, the way the property is designed the event spaces are separated and tucked away. Lots of mature trees and other greenery give a lush feeling. We're usually ones who like to go out and discover the local restaurants in the area. Having done so on previous visits ( we used the car service which was nice ) we are content to dine at the hotel. The options are many from small plates at the bar to romantic dining. Sit by the outdoor fire places. It's a great place to unwind. We don't play golf but looks like it is a good place to do so. Check out the many fountains around the grounds.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked a spa and golf package for four nights and were very satisfied. The room overlooked mature trees, the staff was very friendly, the spa treatments were first class, and the golf course very "user-friendly."

Room Tip: Every building has a different character and feeling. Some are newer than others. We got a mature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obroberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We often stayed at this resort with a golf package when visiting relatives nearby and usually have a comfortable visit. The rooms are old-fashioned but well equipped and spacious and the breakfast in the terrace is a must. The golf package is a bargain since it includes two days of golf for a single-night stay. Our last stay on X-mas eve and day was magical since the resort was beautifully decorated with a doll-house size ginger bread house and many x-mas trees. On X-mas eve, wine, beer, and soft drinks were provided free at the lobby with caroling by a local trio in costumes. All the more surprising since the free drinks were provided for several hours . Even better, they had a bargain rate for the stay during that time. If we were in town again, we will certainly consider staying for X-mas eve. The only complaint we had was that there was water running at the back wall of our room all day long- perhaps there was a fountain back there but we didn't take the time to investigate.

Room Tip: A room at the upper floor. Avoid room facing the parking lot especially at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing