We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab a package for excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #28 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I used their room/spa package as an excuse to come here for a weekend "staycation." I couldn't be more impressed. The grounds are beautiful and serene, the Veranda restaurant had a great menu and ambiance and the spa area was the icing on the cake. After a wonderful massage in an outdoor casita, I enjoyed the spa-guest-exclusive saline pool and jacuzzi. I was able to relax all day thanks to lounge chair food and beverage service. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huffysworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your staycation, Huffy! Looking forward to your next stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We needed a break from our routine and started looking for a place less than two hours away that would have some sun.

Turns out we found a great spot. RBI I has been tucked away east of San Diego forever, but doesn't feel old, it is in great condition with comfortable updated rooms with flat screen tv, Kuerig coffee makers, the resort fee (I am a proponent) was all inclusive. Valet or self parking,wifi, pool towels, free local and long distance phone usage, business center, etc. Having been a road warrior for 20+ year! nothing irked me more than nickel dime charges at a hotel or resort for the above services. Most recently at a major chain hotel I was asked to pay a $10 wifi charge per day for each device (we had six, with four people)

The ambience is so nice, lots of little areas to just sit and visit, staff was friendly, but here's our only negative. Service in he food service area was slow and apparently not well trained. There were exceptions, but we mostly appeared to be invisible until we spoke up and asked for help. Food was mostly good, and our dinner in Avant was awesome in quality and very good service, talked to our server and he had real skills learned over the years which are lacking in so many fine dining restaurants all over now. Did I mention training with expectations and follow up?

Having over 40 years in the Foodservice and hospitality business I feel qualified to comment and would gladly share specifics if asked.

My wife used the spa and said five star all the way, I didn't play golf this trip but will next trip.

Overall we had a great time and with a tweak or two, this is a five star resort with value.

Room Tip: Go for a golf course view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPG1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rancho Bernardo Inn. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed all our amenities and the ambiance of the Inn. I would love to hear any specifics you would like to share about your dining experiences at the Inn. You can contact me at cbuchhauser@jcresorts.com. Looking forward to your next stay; hopefully you’ll have a chance to hit the links and join your wife for a spa treatment!

All the best,
Clint Buchhauser
Social Media & Online Marketing Specialist
cbuchhauser@jcresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quick trip to San Diego for a wedding. Upon arrival we were greeted by very professional, friendly and attentive staff. Check-in went well and our request for an early check-in was granted and we could not have been happier. Room was nice but had no wow factor. Bathrooms clean but outdated. No stone just tile. Very inexpensive tissue and toilet paper along with bathroom amenities. Maybe more expensive rooms have higher-end amenities? Pool was nice and grounds were pretty. The best area of the property was the bar. Very nice with a complete selection of top shelf brands. The wedding reception food was fine. Not memorable but fine. All in all it was very nice but that's the best I can say. The final test a always is would I stay there again? Probably not unless I had a function to attend there. Prices were fair, service was excellent but the property needs updating..............Cruiser Deluxe

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiserDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at RBI last week for a conference. Nice property with beautiful gardens and surroundings. Staff all very pleasant. Food and beverages all good quality. Room and bed comfortable. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markwilliams62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at this resort for a conference, but my family joined me. It has lovely grounds, however the campus is very spread out with multiple levels...not conducive to anyone with physical limitations or mobility issues. However a friend who has these issues was accommodated with a golf cart transport to the places he needed to be in attendance. All in all it was a lovely hotel, but if I had been paying rack rate (rather than a discounted conference rate) I would not have stayed at this facility. Parking is an additional charge, even if you self park which is quite a walk from the facility.

The rooms are spacious with your own balcony or patio area. They have Keruigs in the room, which is nice if you are a light coffee drinker - but for my family, not enough 'shots' were provided to kick start me in the AM!

All in all, a lovely stay, but as mentioned above, for a 5-star resort price I'd consider going elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suek357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I recently attended a business conference for 6 nights at the Inn. Although the hotel is charming and the grounds very pretty it is best reserved for the non-seasoned traveller. The lack of staff and the inattention to detail is quite noticeable. Upon check in we tried to switch our rooms after finding out our room had a patio and not a balcony. We were told "sorry this is the room you were assigned, there is nothing we can do". The resort is laid out poorly and upon check in it was difficult to find our room. The signage and lighting is very poor. We were not told our room had to be accessed from the outside of the building.It took us a long time to find it. The room was tired with a dirty rug and no mini bar. Housekeeping only serviced our room 4 out of 6 days and we had to call for service. The main hotel bar had a rank, stale odor with a very nasty bartender. Twice a few members of our group tried to have cocktails on the patio about 10pm but were told it the patio was closed due to the California noise ordinance. (The Inn is in the middle of nowhere!) Also I tired to order 6 drinks for our group and was told each person needed to come up to the bar individually and order. Three times we had luncheon reservations in the main restaurant. All 3 times we were told there was a 45 minute wait even though the restaurant was empty and we had reservations. The valet even misplaced our car one day and it took almost an hour to find it. The walls in the room are paper thin and we could hear every conversation in the next room.Yes the walking paths are lovely and the golf course is very nice. The spa is nice also. The ranch is about 25 miles from any San Diego sights so a car rental is a must. I love San Diego but I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Ms. Krystal P: I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us and I have addressed your comments with our team to be certain each item will be corrected. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and I'm sorry to hear that we failed to do so. I would like for you to contact our Assistant General Manager, Maureen Carew, do discuss your stay and experience. She can be reached at 858 605 2663.

We do hope that you will return to the Inn.
John Gates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great place for business or pleasure. Spa is fantastic. Salt water pool delightful. Business Center complete and easy to use. Elegant staff and surroundings phenomenal. I highly recommend RBI.

Room Tip: Rooms are great in 700 series; but if you prefer close to the spa, 600 series is great, too. Had wed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollockr1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £169 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing