We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa at Rancho Bernardo Inn - Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Spa at Rancho Bernardo Inn - Amazing!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

To be honest, I wasn't terribly impressed with the Inn in general, but the Spa was amazing. The cabanas were the perfect place to work since I was there on business. However, the reason I felt compelled to write a review was because of my experience with one of the massage therapists, Cory. I have had massage therapy all over the world, and even had a personal masseur for a period of time. Cory was absolutely one of the the best massage therapists I've ever encountered. I wish I could've packed him up and put him on the payroll!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mship100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    384
    153
    88
    66
See reviews for
408
541
57
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful location, ambience and great service. I hosted a surprise party for my wife at the Rancho Bernardo Inn thru John Sullivan and Joy Regard in the banquet/catering department. Every aspect of the experience was positive. I was a little nervous planning an event for 25 people without the help of my wife but Joy made it painless. John and Joy were readily available for my (rookie) questions and were very efficient. They helped me work thru the menus, wine and drink choices, the birthday desserts, even had recommendations for flowers!

Servers Kirk and Tamy took good care of us, I would definitely ask for them again! We chose a Mexican food buffet with tortilla soup, salads, Chipotle lime beef and Poblano chile chicken fajitas, plus all the usual beans, rice and tortillas. Food was awesome and we are pretty picky about Mexican food, my wife is half Mexican and she says she grew up eating the best.

Not inexpensive but well worth it for our special occasion, I felt like I received excellent value.

Best part for me was that we actually pulled off the seemingly impossible and surprised my wife! Priceless! We are already trying to figure out our next event!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTandNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent several days at the Rancho Bernardo Inn, what a wonderful and enchanting place. It is north of San Diego, but easy drives to many tourist sites. We were there over Christmas and the grounds and lobby were beautifully decorated. Loved the room, which overlooked the golf course was fabulous I would really recommend this inn if you want to be close to San Diego but not in downtown "hub-bub".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciciSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Rancho Bernardo Inn was a lovely place for a business conference. If you want to play golf and enjoy great service from the staff, this is the place for you. The Avant Restaurant had excellent food and service. The bar in Avant was outstanding. The bartender was very friendly and made some excellent, beautiful cocktails.

Room Tip: The Greens Building has lovely views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this resort for a business conference. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They always went above and beyond. Also, the resort was fully booked the night before I arrived, so the rooms weren't immediately ready. However, the staff did an excellent job of managing the situation. The spa was excellent as well!!! I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcarmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from a business conference at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. Having been to
Torrey Pines and "The Del" on several occasions, I presumed this property would be similar.

Not so much ... but lots to like:
1. The two golf courses are perfectly manicured and quite challenging.
2. The food in the restaurants is very good.
3. The staff is extremely friendly.
4. The landscaping -- for the most part -- is simply beautiful.

Some things you may not like:
1. This place is a looonngg way from the airport. To be exact, it is a
$100 taxi ride from the airport. Definately consider a rent car.
2. The rooms are a little tired. My patio area had not been mowed in weeks.
The A/C was completely unpredictable, although you may not need it.
3. My biggest disappointment was their room service. The menu is limited and
the food is borderline bad. If you order the crabcake, carefully inspect it before
you partake ... uh, the term "road kill" comes to mind ... sorry.
4. This property is a sprawling maze of walkways, up and down hills. If you are
not a triathlete, be prepared to pant alot ... or, request a room close to the lobby.

Overall, I don't think I would go back on my own nickle. The place is actually reasonably
priced but I would much rather spend a little more and return to Torrey Pines or "The Del."

I hope you find this review to be fair and helpful. Safe travels & God bless!

Room Tip: Depending on what you like, you probably want to be close to the lobby. That's where the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from four nights at this resort and we were happy with the accommodations.

I was disappointed with the pool situation as I wanted to lounge and do some quiet reading. One pool was reserved for a group of families there for the Passover holiday, the other pool was designated as a family pool and the pool at the spa could only be used if you had a treatment that day or paid a $30. daily use fee. It would have been very nice to have had the daily spa fee waived for adults wanting a quiet time by the pool since the adult pool was off limits.

Our only complaint about this place was the food service. We ate most of our meals in the Vernanda and found the service to be lacking. For example, on Easter morning at 9:50 a.m., we arrived at the restaurant and was told by Leah that she could only seat us in the inside portion of the restaurant. There were only 3 or 4 tables on the patio occupied at that time with at least 9 empty tables. She said all of the tables outside were reserved. After we finished our breakfast at 10:45 a.m., I went back outside and there were still 6 or 7 empty tables. I spoke with Leah who exhibited an attitude that she couldn't have cared less.

At the extreme opposite range of service was a server by the name of Vicki. She was outstanding! She was attentive, pleasant and couldn't have done more for us. We left one evening with dessert to eat later in our room and she slipped in an extra coffee for my husband saying she didn't want him to run out before dessert was finished. Her attitude, service and overall customer service skills were so excellent that I am writing a separate letter to the management of the resort so that she might be recognized in some way.

While the food was good, the service (except for Vicki) was very slow. The waiters were all pleasant so it might have been a problem in the kitchen but the service was slow throughout our stay. The only time our meals arrived in a timely manner was when Vicki was our server. On Wednesday morning (our last day), we stopped there for breakfast before leaving. There was no one else seated outside but we waited at least 15 minutes before anyone came over to take our order. We were just getting up to leave when he (I won't mention his name) approached to take our order so we ended up staying as it was more convenient than finding another place on the drive home.

One pleasant surprise was the jigsaw puzzle in the lobby which was great fun to work on throughout our stay.

I would definitely recommend visiting this resort. It was a lovely place and we enjoyed our stay. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the restaurant service. If you do visit, be sure to ask to be seated at one of Vicki's tables. Also, we were apparently given 2 free drinks cards at check-in which we didn't know we had and didn't find in the cardkey holder until after we'd checked out. Be sure to look for them so you can use them during your stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing