We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional property”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is one of the most beautiful properties. The staff is well trained and the facility is beautifully maintained. Top notch. Did not receive a digital copy of my bill via email. Front desk staff not very knowledgable. If you need to know something ask the concierge. Menu options need some updating to be healthier choices for a "spa" facility

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the family pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    372
    151
    85
    64
See reviews for
391
531
55
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Rancho Bernardo. The grounds are beautiful, rooms quiet, decent size and well appointed... And food is pretty good.
However,
We checked out early on our last day, so I asked to receive the bill by email. I was quoted a decent rate for the four nights we were there. When we got the bill there were extra charges for services and parking I was never told about.
I complained to the management about it. It was not dealt with appropriately... And I ended up getting stuck paying most of the extra fees. About an extra $35 per day.
Needless to say it left a sour taste... Hotels need to make their guests aware if there are hidden fees such as parking etc. I was never told at any point making the reservation, or at check-in.
It made me second guess my decision to stay there, and when I return to the area in January I will be looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: The parlour room was handy to have with our infant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissionMan152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

To be honest, I wasn't terribly impressed with the Inn in general, but the Spa was amazing. The cabanas were the perfect place to work since I was there on business. However, the reason I felt compelled to write a review was because of my experience with one of the massage therapists, Cory. I have had massage therapy all over the world, and even had a personal masseur for a period of time. Cory was absolutely one of the the best massage therapists I've ever encountered. I wish I could've packed him up and put him on the payroll!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mship100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful location, ambience and great service. I hosted a surprise party for my wife at the Rancho Bernardo Inn thru John Sullivan and Joy Regard in the banquet/catering department. Every aspect of the experience was positive. I was a little nervous planning an event for 25 people without the help of my wife but Joy made it painless. John and Joy were readily available for my (rookie) questions and were very efficient. They helped me work thru the menus, wine and drink choices, the birthday desserts, even had recommendations for flowers!

Servers Kirk and Tamy took good care of us, I would definitely ask for them again! We chose a Mexican food buffet with tortilla soup, salads, Chipotle lime beef and Poblano chile chicken fajitas, plus all the usual beans, rice and tortillas. Food was awesome and we are pretty picky about Mexican food, my wife is half Mexican and she says she grew up eating the best.

Not inexpensive but well worth it for our special occasion, I felt like I received excellent value.

Best part for me was that we actually pulled off the seemingly impossible and surprised my wife! Priceless! We are already trying to figure out our next event!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTandNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent several days at the Rancho Bernardo Inn, what a wonderful and enchanting place. It is north of San Diego, but easy drives to many tourist sites. We were there over Christmas and the grounds and lobby were beautifully decorated. Loved the room, which overlooked the golf course was fabulous I would really recommend this inn if you want to be close to San Diego but not in downtown "hub-bub".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciciSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Rancho Bernardo Inn was a lovely place for a business conference. If you want to play golf and enjoy great service from the staff, this is the place for you. The Avant Restaurant had excellent food and service. The bar in Avant was outstanding. The bartender was very friendly and made some excellent, beautiful cocktails.

Room Tip: The Greens Building has lovely views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this resort for a business conference. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They always went above and beyond. Also, the resort was fully booked the night before I arrived, so the rooms weren't immediately ready. However, the staff did an excellent job of managing the situation. The spa was excellent as well!!! I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcarmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
1,898 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,382 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing