We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great time”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a great time for all. It is just so beautiful and peaceful. I was booked for three nights but because it was so wonderful I stayed two more days. Everyone was so wonderful and friendly. It is very clean. The food and atmosphere was fantastic.

Room Tip: the gardens was great because it was conveniently located
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    376
    152
    87
    65
See reviews for
399
534
57
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hubby and I decided last minute to take a staycation, and RB Inn was our obvious first choice since it's one of our favorites in the entire city. As always, every detail of our stay was delightful. We asked for a quiet room, and we were given a very private room in the Hilltop building. It had an enormous, patio with a view, and a giant comfy bed. During our stay, we dined at both restaurants on the property and had amazing meals and incredible service at both. The Veranda (their outdoor restaurant) usually has live music every night which is a nice touch. The highlight of our stay was our Spa day. The Spa area and amenities are absolutely first class and the spa pool area is the ultimate luxury pool experience. You can't help but feeling fancy lounging in one of those cabanas. Although the husband isn't really a Spa guy, he admitted that he thoroughly enjoyed our whole day there. The RB Inn never disappoints. Each time we go, we're reminded why we keep coming back. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a romantic weekend, or just looking to relax in style.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose to stay at Rancho Bernardo Inn because of the price for a listed four star hotel. We were a bit wary of staying so far from San Diego as we planned to go to both Legoland and the San Diego. The commute to both locations were only 30 minutes so it wasn't too bad and the traffic was generally normal (not gridlock). The benefit of staying inland was that the weather was perfect for June in San Diego. For those that don't know, San Diego in June by the beach gets a lingering fog that doesn't clear into later into the afternoon making the weather a bit cooler than what you'd expect for San Diego. The customer service is what you expect at a four star hotel...friendly and polite. The kids pool was closed for a private event, so the adult pool was open for all families. The pools were large and great for both adults and kids. Just a note...don't get fooled with the advertised pool pictures as the grand pool in the ads is their spa pool which is for spa guest and guest for a $35 fee. Nonetheless, both you and the kids will enjoy either the adult or kids pool. The only negative with the pool during our stay was that the maintenance crew didn't come by the pool frequent enough to pick up used towels left on the lounge chairs or food left at the pool tables. Yes, guests should probably pick up after themselves (we do), but sadly most people don't. Therefore, when you come to the pool, you're not sure if the lounge chairs or table is taken because it wasn't cleared by anyone. The rooms were good size and the beds were very comfortable. I asked the front desk for a quiet room and he placed us in the Fountains section of the Inn. Unfortunately, our neighbor had two unruly children that screamed and ran throughout their room when they were there. Our room had an adjoining door, so it seem we could hear every tantrum and every footstep. We tried to endure the situation, but it wasn't ideal for a light sleeper like myself, so we asked to be moved after one night. The front desk was helpful and the person in charge stepped in when options seemed a bit limited and she moved us into the Gardens section of the Inn. The rooms in the Gardens seemed to be of better quality as the walls and floor were much more insulated. The facilities were impeccably maintained and quaint. There were many open lounge areas where it be a hot tub, sitting area with an outdoor fireplace, outdoor or indoor gathering spots. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would likely be back if we traveled in June. I'm not sure how the weather will be in the later summer months when the weather gets even warmer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S.Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently held a group golfing out at Rancho Bernardo Inn, for the third time. Again, it was an excellent event! From the planning, through the booking, arrivals, golf, food and beverage events and check-out, it was all perfect. The golf course was in verey good shape, and the food at our two dining events was outstanding. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it!

There is a reason to keep coming to the same place for an event - as the old saying goes, "if it isn't broke, don't fix it". I will be planning our 4th event at RBI for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well maintained resort. Lovely staff and setting. Golf course was perfect for a resort; greens were in good shape. Pre-fixed menu is a good value; ask about it when making a reservation. The $19 resort fee is also a good value as two welcome drinks are included.

Room Tip: We didn't feel the need to spend the extra money for a golf view. Loved being close to all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbienhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family was so happy , my kids were amazed and loved it ... the KIDS RULE package was so worth it .. families have to purchase ... the rooms were lovely and service was good . The walk around the resort and golf course was great. i got to say this was an experience was something that i came back talking about to my co - workers and family about and realy recommand it ..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just left this resort and what we found was exceptional - from customer service to grounds we loved being here. I had mentioned this was our anniversary and when we returned from lunch we found a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries. They have two "no children" pools and one with children's amenities. We played golf, had massages and ate on the veranda. A great weekend and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing