We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at Rancho Bernardo Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Bernardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Rancho Bernardo Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have enjoyed stays at Rancho Bernardo Inn over the past few years. Each time we stay we have been happy with everything from the pools, to the restaurants and spa. This time we are celebrating our 7 year anniversary and have been blown away by the kindness and generosity of the Rancho Bernardo team. Thank you GM John Gates for making a special weekend for us even better and more unforgettable.

Room Tip: The Greens building has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    368
    151
    84
    64
See reviews for
389
528
55
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

To Mike at the front desk and the staff at the RB Inn, thank you! We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience.

Came here on a brief stay-cation to celebrate a birthday. Called the front desk the day before, just to see if they could get us a room by the family pool, and mentioned the birthday. Mike at the front desk was incredible: Poolside room, steps from the family pool, and very nice treat in the room for the birthday girl, including chocolate-covered strawberries!

To extend our little vacation, we had arrived early to take advantage of the pool, using the pre-registration and baggage check, at Mike's suggestion. "Room should be ready by 4pm, we'll call your cell when it is." Well, the call didn't come until 4:30pm. No big deal to us, we were enjoying the pool. Guess the front desk felt otherwise, as the keycard holder including two drink coupons. OK, nice! Get to our room, find nice birthday wishes and treats, and shortly after getting settled, there's a knock at the door. The front desk has sent over a bottle of chilled Evian and more chocolate-covered strawberries!

The place is so relaxing and peaceful. Lush greenery, fountains everywhere, a pool for families, and one for adults only. Had breakfast at the Veranda and had the breakfast buffet. Good food, nice view from the patio. Great for golfing too, if you're into that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Santiago building is great for families wanting to be right by the family pool. Rooms in the 100'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66split
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel and use it as an overnight getaway often. The couple's massage at their spa is wonderful in the outdoor garden. Guests get all day privileges at the spa when they reserve a treatment. The best part is that couples can find a quiet place to sit, even when the hotel is full. Their gardens and paths allow for romantic strolls.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLT_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here twice in the span of a month, on two separate business trips.

It's a beautiful country-club style place, with well-manicured grounds and a friendly staff. Breakfast on the Veranda was great (and free!). Buffet had eggs, potatoes, quiche, grilled tomatoes, bacon, sausage, french toast pudding, fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, muffins ... plenty to eat! The terrace overlooks the golf course, so it's a gorgeous view and great weather.

Rooms were big, with high ceilings and nice balconies overlooking the grounds. It's not a new place, but it was clean and reasonably well updated. It has a little bit of a rustic thing going on, so anything that wasn't brand new fit into the decor anyway. :-)

During my stay, there was a family emergency back at home in L.A., so I had to rush home a few days early without even checking out of the hotel. The front desk and bellmen were EXTREMELY helpful, gathering all my belongings from the room (didn't miss a thing), and passing them to a colleague so he could bring them home for me. It was an extremely stressful few days, but the staff helped make this part much easier on us.

I'd say the only downside is that it's not really near anything of interest, per se. It's relatively close to the Wild Animal Park, but it's a good 30-40 mins from anything of interest in San Diego. I wouldn't stay here if you want a San Diego vacation. But for a romantic getaway, golf outing, or business trip, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I worked here as an employee 8 years ago and the high quality of customer service and staff has not changed - truly excellent!! They have also added some really fun things to do there to socialize. The experience is unforgettable!

Room Tip: Spend the money on a suite! !! It's worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Love this hotel. Took my family there for my husbands 60 birthday. My reservation was totally messed up. Did not get what I asked for and on my confirmation it said the room that I wanted. The staff was totally confused nobody knew anything. I called weeks before arrival to check on reservation that was when I was told about my room. I made reservation in January. My granddaughter was asked to leave adult pool and she is 16 and was with adult. Totally disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our stay here was a perfect relaxing stay at the end of our family trip to California. Made special by beautiful setting and friendly staff. Food is excellent esp good value for kids. Kids pool area has table tennis, crazy golf and Fuseball table.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing