We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family get away with all of the amenities of a five star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The resort has three large pools, one is set aside for families. It was well staffed and loaded with pool toys for the kids. The cook/bartender was great with the kids and cooked hamburgers/hot dogs that were a huge hit. The fire pit in the Veranda restaurant was a great way to relax at night. The resort is close to the wild animal park so we were able to have a fun day excursion. The staff was very friendly and very attentive. The rooms were well appointed and the hotel provided a tent in the room for the kids to "camp out". Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

We visited Rancho Bernardo Inn the last week of June and immensely enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and comfortable. The grounds were lush with beautiful flowers and plants. The amenities were plentiful. 3-4 different pools - some for adults, some for families. Great fitness room w/spa. Golf. You name it - it has it. The staff was very helpful and hospitable. Definitely plan to return next time we're on the West Coast!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaise17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Very relaxing environment and I just Love how each area of the resort has something special to offer. Each building of rooms is near a hot tub or pool and fire pits with great chairs. The Golf course is in Great shape with a Pro Shop and the Spa offers great deals. More importantly, the Food is Great !!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We were visiting the area for our niece's high school graduation and we just loved this understated, unpretentious gem! The grounds are lovely, beautifully laid out. We were greeted by the most friendly, hospitable, welcoming staff. We enjoyed watching not only nature from our room balcony, but the fun golf event on their amazing course.
The kids just reminded me- that the beds were sooooo comfortable with an awesome Big flatscreen TV too!
We look forward to returning and staying longer, so we can personally truly enjoy the Spa, pool, golf, and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank funtroopers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Rancho Bernardo Inn is truly an oasis. I had a an amazing spa treatment in one of their spa casitas with tropical ingredients and we dined at the signature restaurant El Bizcocho. The chef made us a one-of-a-kind tasting that consisted of the most interesting and delicious ingredients, it was an amazing experience. I am not a golfer, but the course looked beautiful and we spent the majority of the day by the pool enjoying the sun and the peace. All in all, it was a perfect staycation for us!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank jlr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My husband and I decided to get away for a little staycation after a long week at work and snuck away for one night to the Rancho Bernardo Inn. Our room was absolutely beautiful overlooking the golf course so clean and very big!

We decided to use the spa and get some of the made fresh daily massage packages - the one I got was the Latin and it was absolutely heavenly! My massage therapist Jill had a very skilled hand and I left the massage revived and relaxed (oh and smelly spicy from the signature oils they blended for the custom massage.

After our spa we decided to hit up El Bizcocho and try the tasting menu, we had heard there was a new chef. The food was very creative we did a five course tasting that included the chefs using some of the most ingredients that took us back to our childhood including pop rocks and a fruit rollup that complimented the yummiest salmon!

We had a chance to enjoy the adult pool after our stay in the comfy beds and had breakfast overlooking the golf course. Service at the property was fantastic we will absolutely be back to the Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

A girlfriend and I decided we needed some well earned relaxation and booked the massage with the spa lunch. The service was great and the spa was clean and relaxing!! I upgraded to the deep tissue massage and was not disappointed!! My masseuse was incredible and I felt like jello!
After a nice dip in the jacuzzi and a great shower (I love how big they are), we were asked where we would like to enjoy our lunch. It was raining and we ended up sitting under a cabana by the pool with a bottle of wine, our great food and caught up. It was so relaxing I didn't want to go home!!!
If you are looking for a great escape to relax...this is the perfect spot!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettykittySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

Thank you for choosing the Rancho Bernardo Inn Spa to enjoy a relaxing spa treatment and lunch. We are extremely proud of our spa staff who strive to make every guest feel special. Looking forward to your return to the RBInn.
John Gates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 279 in San Diego
1,000 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 279 in San Diego
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £164 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing