We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Beautiful Place where Service comes first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful Place where Service comes first”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Every employee I came in contact with was friendly and courteous. I was always asked if there was anything that I needed. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The bedding was adequate but nothing spectacular. The golf course was exceptional! I played Torrey Pines North Course on Saturday and except for the views there was no difference in quality. I was a little put off by the $10 per day parking fee.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayouPlaquemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    376
    152
    87
    65
See reviews for
399
534
57
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The grounds are lovely, the service is fine. But I lost a whole night's sleep tossing and turning in a bed with lumpy, hard pillows and a lumpy, polyester UNcomforter. No help in the sleep department due to zero sound-proofing. Could literally hear the people in the room above turn over in bed -- which thanks to the awful bedding they did frequently.

And I agree with other reviewers that $10 self-parking in a residential neighborhood 25 miles from downtown is audacious.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBINN, General Manager at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear Guest, I would like to respond regarding your recent stay. We have numerous positive comments about the beds and bedding in our guest rooms. Every guest has their own preference to the degree of firmness of the mattress, and unfortunately your mattress was not to your liking. With regards to our pillows, we do offer feather pillows as well as foam pillows in the guest room.

Rancho Bernardo Inn is a Preferred hotel and I am most confident that we provide a quality experience and amenities to our guests. Please contact me at jgates@jcresorts.com, I would be happy to further address your concerns.

John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

If you like golf, this is the place. Nice pool variety and ground well manicured. Not near the beach as located in a neighborhood, but friendly staff and layout is great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed here for a few nights visiting some extended Family members before Christmas. The place is well decorated at Christmas time with the beautiful smell of cedar emanating throughout the resort. At this time each night they have gingerbread house making, which is great for the kids and my younger cousins enthusiastically took advantage of this option. The rooms look updated with flat screens and double vanities. A couple of complaints are that first I found the pillows to be a little too soft, however, that is just a personal preference. The other is that during the entire stay in San Diego there was a torrential downpour and the open layout of the resort required us to have to use an umbrella and walk across the resort to access the valet, not alway enjoyable each time you want to leave the resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Particularly enjoyed the outdoor veranda with fire pits. Room was spacious and comfortable. My wife loved the bathroom! Staff are unbelievable!! We were called by name almost everywhere we went on the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Rancho Bernardo is an excellent hotel. Myself ,mom and daughter enjoyed this stay tremendously. The hotel is beautiful and there is a serene and peaceful feeling thru out the hotel. I must say the staff is exceptional in their customer service and their attention to detail for the most relaxing and enjoyable time. If you want to really have a relaxing time,please take time to enjoy the spa, its wonderful and the staff especially arlene is excellent. A great place for dining was the Veranda, Mr. James Cassady made sure our request and needs were met even though it was a hectic Saturday Night. The Sunday Brunch is also wonderful with excellent food. It definetly was a home away from home only difference is we felt very pampered with all the wonderful help and attention from the staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband and I traveled to San Diego recently with our 2 year old daughter and the hotel was beautiful. The views from the rear balcony were breathtaking and the service was top notch. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cns235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Bernardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Inn

Property: Rancho Bernardo Inn
Address: 17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho Bernardo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Bernardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
Rancho Bernardo San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing