We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Staff EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #111 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

On first look, I thought the hotel was subpar...BUT I was in for the shock of my life. This hotel is amazing, mostly because of an awesome staff. Jon at the front desk is a treasure. Everyone down to the busboys for the restaurant (Point Loma Cafe) are truly superb. They are knowledgeable and friendly and left me with a great impression!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel staff was very accommodating and informed us of local transportation and events in the area. They shuttled to and from the airport and around town as well. The restaurant had the best dinner specials (the salmon was excellent) that kept us coming back for more. Our compliments to the chef. My first visit to San Diego has been so memorable that I plan to go back real soon and continue where I left off.

Room Tip: Communication with the hotel is the key
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Rooms are nice big screen tv and decent coffee. Plenty of amenities. Only con is parking. You may have to walk a short distance

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The rooms very updated and nice at this hotel; the beds were great. It was clean and there were many business travelers here .We chose this hotel because we thought it was within walking distance of the Embarkadaro and other popular attractions, but it was not and there wasn't much to do nearby for a family with children. The pool area was right off of the restaurant, which is detached from the hotel and open to the public, and we didn't feel particularly safe; the hot tub holds about 4 people. The staff was not the friendliest to say the least. I wouldn't stay here again unless I were in town on business.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a good hotel for the price. Our room was spotless and is considerably larger than a typical room with two queen beds. The ceilings are high and a bar with two stools is wrapped around one corner, adding to the spaciousness. Nice TV and fridge. The layout, including a huge closet (large enough to lay out two huge suitcases and hang lots of clothes) and nice make-up mirror, worked very well for us, allowing me to get ready in the morning without having to light up the whole room.

The parking is free but we did have to hunt down a space a couple of times. The location was good for the tourist things we chose to do. Weather was cool, so didn't use the pool.

The only negative was a mildewy smell in the corridor, but not in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Booked for one night on a Priority Club Free Night gift, on arrival we realized that we had been upgraded to a corner suite, possibly the best room on the property, very, very nice!! The remainder of our 4-night stay was in a standard King bed room, we didn't think the hotel had done a great job maintaining the stone walls of the tub enclosure. The issue wasn't resolved while we were still guests but has been resolved satisfactorily now. We had a couple of other minor concerns, a leaky iron and key cards that failed us one morning, both were resolved immediately.
On the good side of the story, the hotel has a very nice resortish look and feel. A very nice pool, hot tub and outdoor lounge area is accompanied by an attractive bar and a good restaurant where we enjoyed 4 very nice breakfasts and excellent service.
The location is very good, 5 minutes from the airport, it's only a brief drive or cab ride to the many San Diego experiences that can be enjoyed. The hotel has bicycles available for rent, a very nice change of pace. There are also very nice ocean front walking (not bicycling) paths nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel is just an all around great place to stay. The room was very nice. The only room complaint is that our air conditioning didn't work great but it worked well enough. The guest service employees were wonderful. The pool and hot tub were great! They were clean and it was a very nice area to lounge. There was also shuffle board and table tennis but we didn't use either. We did take advantage of the free bike use. The bikes were great beach cruisers and we went for a nice ride down to shelter island. All in all this was a great hotel at a great price and we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaMel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £83 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing