We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #105 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Southern CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed in a 2-room suite without a balcony. The bedroom has 2 queen beds. The living room has a sofa bed and mini bar with sink and mini-fridge. Each room has a TV. When we walked into the room, we noticed this suite has ample room for a family of five. One thing that negatively stood out was the outdated furniture. We've stayed in a Holiday Inn once before and we were expecting the same look and style. When I travel, I want to stay in a room where the furniture looks like is less than 5 years old. Also, the musty smell required the air to be turned on at full blast.The only thing going for this room was the bay view, which I spent time looking at.

Many fun activities such as swimming, mini golf, ping pong and pool. The staff is friendly and willing to offer assistance. I would have given a 3-rating but nudged it up for the staff.

We're locals and booked this room for July 4th, hoping to watch the fireworks. We normally stay at the Coronado Marriott. The bay fireworks was a bust, and we would have had a wonderful view of it in our room. Oh well.

I would recommend HI to out-of-towners who aren't picky about rooms because it's close to the airport and tourist areas. I don't think we would select this place for our next 4th of July outing again. However, the hotel has an expansion planned so maybe we'll return to check out the new rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianVista2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    273
    126
    48
    39
See reviews for
222
149
29
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

we stayed at the above hotel, although only for one night before and one night after our cruise it was excellent. the staff were very friendly and the it was very close to the terminal (it is also very close to the airport) they have an excellent coffee shop with all types of take away sandwiches. Car hire is very close and the shuttle bus took us there without any fuss. typical American, nothing is to much trouble and they look to how they can make your stay that much better.

Room Tip: as it is a round building it doesn't make much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had requested an interior room, but we were pretty early, so it wasn't ready yet. So we were given a room on the second floor above the pool/putting green, and it was great. Private balcony which the kids loved. This room was actually better then the interior rooms because of the balcony and right by the pool. We ate at the restaurant every morning, which was very good. We also had dinnet there once, you'll be surprised at how good it is. Also, kids eat free. Only about a 6 minute drive to Sea World and Misson Beach.

Room Tip: For families, the rooms on the second floor above the putting green/pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level Contributor
143 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Awesome views and nice rooms. The restaurant has been very good so far.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here over the 4th July. Picked this hotel for the fireworks, 12 seconds in 2012!. Not impressed with the hotel at all.
They did honour my request for a room with internal corrider doors.

However as I am deaf I need subtitles/captions on the TV, no proper tv remote in room, it took my husband 3 phone calls and an hour of our time to wait for someone to come and switch them on for me and only after speaking to the managre on duty who only offered a half hearted apology!

The front desk staff were unfriendly, no eye contact never mind any smiles.The only friendly,smiling staff we met was the girl on the bar on our first night.

Didn't use the pool as the weather was not great but although a pleasant garden setting it was very small and only a couple of dozen sun loungers.

I've stayed in plenty of Holiday Inns but would not return to this one. It was a disappointing end to our three week trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear patsy54uk,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted we were able to accommodate your needs with the internal corridor doors. I am sorry to hear the rest of your stay was not as pleasant. I deeply apologize the service you received from our staff did not live up to your expectations. We give the greatest importance to our guest comments as they assist us to continually improve and provide the best guest experience.

I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay over the 4th of July, good size room with a king size bed and flat screen TV. Restaurant had a great breakfast, dinner was not so great, only so so.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llhouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a nice place to stay and just relax after being on the road. The gardens the pool area out side patio all nice and clean the Bar and Resturant are every nice and the food and service is great. The only thing that coud inprove if the lighting in the ADA room down stairs.The nicest thing is there are good perks free coupons when you are a Priorty Club Memeber. Twice a year we take a trip to San Diego to just get away and this Holiday In Is were we stay always.Want to save some money use your intertainment card.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Belcony are nice but somewhat small. How ever we have not had a bad room yet. That is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsiboy_6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#46 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.8 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#138 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing