We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #110 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are in the new section and the rooms and view of the harbor are great. Great location, near airport and nice area to walk along the sport-fishing area. Very nice staff. Several nice restaurants in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stephen10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our stay at this Holiday Inn was very pleasant. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and very helpful. The facilities and rooms were very clean and there are many things to do at the hotel. Our situation was a little unique as we had 15 people in our group with a very late check in time. Lola at the front desk was very helpful and made sure we had someone to direct us to our room. As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is spread out so be prepared to walk a outside to your room. However, if you need assistance, they do have people who can transport you to your room. The shuttle drivers are also very helpful and went above and beyond for us. The restaurant on site was really good and we enjoyed having our breakfast there. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: If you have a disability or need assistance, make sure you let them know ahead of time so they can k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We were already familiar with this holiday inn as we stayed here couple of years ago, back then we loved the resort spirit, nice pool, golf, free bike rental, ect...perfect location 4miles from downtown, right next to the airport and so quiet at the same time. Well this time when we arrived I didn't even recognize the hotel at first! The lobby look so nice and spacious, made me wonder if it was a all new hotel built where the old holiday inn used to be! But that's not all! The way we booked our room we were supposed to get any type of room available, no choice, the person who checked us in, ( Patsy ) anounced that we were going to get a room with 2 queen sized bed.....not fun when you come for a weekend gateway with your wife. She took the initiative to offer us to wait just a few minutes and she was able to get us a really nice king sized bed on the 5th floor with a balcony! Thank you Patsy! Because you could have just not care and it would have been fine, but instead you did what you have to do to make us happy and that matters a lot in this industry! Great!
They abviously did a good job remodeling this hotel, the gift shop is from far the best I've ever seen in a holiday inn and the prices are the same as anywhere else! No need to drive there is everything you need.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stepho92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Our family arrived late for an over night stay between flights. Our taxi dropped off my family, including two boys and 5 pieces of luggage. After checking in, we were sent to a room we had to walk across the complex for and then carry 5 bags up a flight of stairs for there was no elevator. The room was older and smelled musty. Needless to say there are much better hotels closer to the airport which we will use in the future.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank ShererAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Jennifer S: Thank you so much for writing a review and tell us about your experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced walking from the check in desk to your room. We do have a golf cart and I am sorry you were not offered a ride or help with your luggage. I do understand your sentiments as our property is unique in a sense that we have several buildings and a little bit spread ouot compared to other hotels. I am happy to inform you that we are currently renovating all the rooms and expect completion by end of May. We would sincerely like another opportunity to win back your good faith in our hotel during a future visit to San Diego and provide you with the service I wished you have received in the first place. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location is perfect for our departure on a cruise ship in the morning. We turned our car in at the airport and were promptly picked up by a charming young man for the short drive back to the hotel. The hotel is ideally situation across from a beautiful marina. Our room has floor to ceiling windows with a spectacular view. The neighborhood is attractive and safe. We even took a long walk this evening. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was quite nice.

We would definitely stay here again. The staff was accommodating and engaging.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKeltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear DavidKeltner: Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review and sharing with us about your experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and was impressed with the amenities and service you received. We do have a great restaurant on property and other fabulous restaurants within walking distance. The Port of San Diego made some exciting changes to the waterfront across the street from our hotel and have just completed a new waterfront Public Promenade that connects Harbor Drive and Shelter Island. A great place to walk. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Keith at the front desk upgraded us to a newly furnished room in another building. It was as pleasant at the resort we stayed in at Dana Point. Convenient to restaurants (we ate at Jimmy's across the street) and the $30 breakfast credit covered two of us. Honestly, this hotel provides for everything from many toiletries to indoor golf, swimming, etc. Beautiful appointments in the room and comfortable beds - it was super restful and quiet. I'm looking forward to returning with my husband - this is a little gem in Point Loma - incredibly well priced. (ONLY annoyance was additional $10 to park at the hotel - huh?!)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly furnished room in one of the out-buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Melinda S: Thank you so much for taking the time and post your review and inform everyone about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am very pleased to learn that your stay with us was so positive. It gives me great pride to know that Keith provided you with the level of service guests expect and deserve.We do offer a lot of amenities like you mentioned and just across the street from us is newly built waterfront Public Promenade that connects Harbor Drive and Shelter Island - a great place to walk. Also a few blocks from us is Liberty Station which is a popular spot for finding restaurants featuring cuisines from around the world. As way of comparison our parking fee is the lowest in the area and unfortunately, parking in San Diego comes at a premium price due to high demand and lack of available space. We hope to welcome you again during your future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stay in Holiday Inn's a lot and this one was one of the best! Loved the location - just cross the street and walk to Shelter Island along the bay or cross the street and walk a block or two to catch the 923 bus to the downtown area. I was upgraded to a bay facing room in the main building. The room was very nice and the bed was hard to get out of (because it was so comfy). Staff are all wonderful. I was at the hotel for a workshop, but I would absolutely stay here if I were planning a trip to San Diego for pleasure. Very easy to get downtown if that is where your interest is and easy to get to other area attractions. Oh, and Jimmy's American Tavern across the street was great!

Room Tip: I was told they rent out bikes for free for a two hour period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysister'ssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £84 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing